Author Topic: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290  (Read 1742 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GlenT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« on: October 22, 2013, 12:02:26 PM »
Have done something to the Background Intelligent Transfer Service (ran the ALL INC tool) and now can't get updates from Windows Update or MS Security Essentials. This is logged in the event viewer as error %%1290

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6392
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 107
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2013, 03:39:04 PM »
My newest Windows Repair adds the regkeys back for that service, so make sure to use the newest version. But first make sure the system is clean as viruses delete those regkeys!

Run tdsskiller.exe and malwarebytes anti rootkit and let me know how that goes :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com


Offline GlenT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2013, 04:07:54 PM »
Downloaded the latest (v2.0.1). This is a fresh install of XP from original disks on a newly replace HD. Nothing has been installed on this netbook besides MS Security Essentials and Windows updates and FireFox.

The OEM CDs had SP3 on them, but there were a bunch of Windows updates (about 150). I had some initial problems getting Win update to run. It would go off looking for updates and then just sit there. I eventually just left it overnight and it downloaded and installed 150 updates on reboot. But have not been able to actually get MS update to run properly since. It sees updates but downloading just fails.

Offline GlenT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2013, 04:43:05 PM »
Well, I tried this manual fix: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/916251/en-us and this woke up BITS enough that I could attempt to start it, but it complained about a missing file.

So I ran your All-Inc fix again, this time with everything checked and that seems to have fixed the problem. Not sure what happened to BITS. However, the disk check did find an error, so maybe the new HD had a bad sector.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6392
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 107
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2013, 08:02:27 AM »
So did my Windows repair get you fixed up then?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline GlenT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2013, 09:11:33 AM »
Hard to say. I followed the procedure noted in my last post and got BITS functional, but not loading (prior to that, it would not even attempt to load). I didn't run the full set of fixes prior to, but only ran the fixes that I thought would have a bearing on the problem, and that failed. I can't say for sure that your software was the entire fix, or whether it was a combination of my fiddling and your software.

Have you had any other experience with %%1920 errors?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6392
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 107
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2013, 09:30:55 AM »
The things about some of the repairs is that a lot of them should be ran together, such as permissions, WMI and such because a lot of of them use each other in Windows. Like the Windows firewall uses WMI. While I do have a lot of things covered in each repair normally the best thing is to run all the repairs, thats why I have them in the order I do. The permissions are first, because if we dont have permission to replace regkeys the repairs would fail.

But as long as your working right now thats all that counts :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.
(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline GlenT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: XP BITS not starting up with error code %%1290
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2013, 11:34:24 AM »
OK, that makes sense. I don't think that I ran the first two fixes on the first try, because I wasn' t anticipating any permission changes, due to it being a fresh install from the OEM recovery CD. I did run those fixes on the second try, so that may have made the difference.