Author Topic: (solved)Why booting on stops at intel sign?  (Read 17764 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6602
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2015, 05:02:33 PM »
As you say it's when it gets to the Intel sign that is when the BIOS starts checking the hardware - because this install was registered on different hardware, won't that be why it's hitting a brick wall ?

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2015, 05:44:33 PM »
Hi, Shane , I have done that. I have disabled silent booting and i could see the Intel logo , first checking the ram to 1016 mb and then it asks for F2 to resume setup, when i press F2, it goes to the same screen, set up starting...
This is when it freezes. As it detects ram, there is no problem there.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6602
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2015, 01:12:39 AM »
I think you'd probably get the same results if you put your own HDD into any other computer.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2015, 01:41:08 AM »
Hi, I tried and succeeded in having saved the bootable usb. But i could not make that as boot priority to check , as there were no option to show in boot priority. But when i checked the hard drive , i could see the pendrive is listed next to hard drive. But , if you select this pendrive and then boot, your computer hangs in the middle with error F/boot/bcd error. I again made the hard drive as priority and i could boot properly.
                                     i will try to reseat the cmos and ram and then try to boot from dvd , by connecting that hard drive.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2015, 08:17:59 PM »
Hi, Shane ,
                       Should i disconnect the present hard drive and just try boot with ram and mother board connections to see the bios. I am learning from you on booting.
                            I tried usb win tool, it stops at 99%, and even after formatting and repartitioning it , it stops at 99%, with some error.
                               I think that bootexec has to be inserted in to the pen drive. It is not found in the usb tool.
                                     I tried some other tool like plp boot manager, and trying with admin , the window boot starts as first priority, but since the present hard drive is working at the try, i could not do so at boot. My bios has support of usb boot, but I think that is for keyboard and mouse and not any other thing.
                                       If i click boot , and then sub menu Hard drive, the hard drive and pen drive are shown in that menu, but not in the boot order.
                                           Shane, could i change the hard drive boot to pendrive, by connecting the suspected failed hard drive and then boot? For learning purpose, as well as, to trouble shoot , i seek your advice.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #20 on: February 14, 2015, 07:03:08 PM »
Hi, Shane Please also see this
AHCI is supported by all versions of Windows Vista and newer, Linux and Mac OS. However, Windows does not configure itself to load the AHCI driver upon boot if the SATA-drive controller was not in AHCI mode at the time of installation. So the PC will not boot up if the SATA controller is later switched to AHCI mode. The drive controller should be changed to AHCI or RAID before installing the operating system.   extract, my comment                   Sata is a big tape like wire connecting with HDD, unlike ide , which is like ribbon like one. My system has ribbon like ide cable.
                                     If suppose, the OS was installed in the other computer using different modes, then the computer would not boot.
                                       If suppose, the other computer has sata when OS installed, and while transfering to my computer, since i have the ide, would this be responsible?
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 135
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2015, 03:41:09 PM »
It is hard to tell you what the next thing to do is given how much you have done already and without me being able to see the machine.

We need to take the hard drive out of the mix so that we can confirm if it is the problem or not.

Do you have another, good drive that you can put into the system and see if it will boot past the intel sign? Reason why is if the port that the hard drive is plugged into is bad it would explain what is happening, but a drive can cause this as well. So if we try with a different drive, in the same port that can confirm if the problem is that or not. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #22 on: February 16, 2015, 08:24:29 PM »
Hi, Shane,
                       If i connect the system, to another hard drive , it is booting without any problem.
                             I found a seagate tool, a diagonostic cd tool which self boots when power on , and stops at intel logo. If i remove the hard drive, then it goes past POST, and show the diagnostic tool in the monitor.So, there is some problem in Hard drive. If i connect and touch the top of HDD, i could feel something drirring , suggesting that power is passing to the hdd, but it could not do anything. I think it is spinning, that indicates some life in it.
                                   Placing the dead hard disk to a freezer is one of the idea , to retrieve the data. But i do not thing it as a solution. Most people suggest in forums. They say somehow it shrinks the inner of HDD and may give some inner medicine to boot. I do not know.
                                          I tried with xp cd in the hope that mobo drivers of the computer may be different and since mother board drivers are also installed at the installation stage, my friends mobo may be different from the one from which OS got installed.
                                             My next try is to connect this hdd to usb-ide adopter and then check whether any recognition of hdd in running windows.
                                                   The extreme try to get another ide cable and power cable to connect the same to the available port in  mobo and the failed, hdd.
                                                         My point is , how then the whole OS was installed using the other machine. Do the modern boards have any special bios. I will give the bios detail, default, (i, removed the cmos and replaced it , there by restoring the optimal defaults of bios , including opting F9 in bios menu to do that.
                                           Shane, by the by, what is flashing of bios. I never did that so far. Is it dangerous.
                                              So many hard disks , according to experts  really have life, but they are thrown as dead drives because of want of some mechanism tb]. [/b]If one opens the hard disk, nothing but some spinning wheels and circuit would be there. Tho see [ere are programs to boot from cd to test, but if it does not pass thro hdd, nothing could be done. I suppose,
                                              Does flashing means connecting bios file to the computer by powering on
                                                   
« Last Edit: February 16, 2015, 08:27:59 PM by jraju »
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 135
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2015, 08:49:25 AM »
Well if you can connect a different hard drive and it gets past the intel logo fine, but freezes up on the current hard drive then that tells me it should be the hard drive itself that is causing the problem. The confusing part is the fact that you could plug the drive into another system and you could boot it up.

What I would do is hook the drive into another system as a secondary drive, then use the seagate tools (If it is a seagate drive) and have it run the tests on it and check the smart status of the drive and let me know the results.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2015, 05:49:35 AM »
Hi, It was when i installed the OS. I think there is definitely problem in hard drive. Regarind ide connection of jumpers, i only know little. Sata no problem, but ide you have to select jumpers for master and slave and this involves lot.
                       When it was just hooked up with another drive, i could have asked the person just to format it instead of installing anything.
                                   I tried just plugging 2 cables of power and data to the mother board , but it is not recognised. On seeing the notes, the jumpers part.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2015, 08:59:56 AM »
I find that the easiest way of setting the jumpers on PATA IDE HDDs is to use an 80 wire ribbon cable and set the jumpers on both drives to cable select (CSEL). This way the only variable is the position on the cable where the drive is connected. Blue connects to the primary IDE channel on the motherboard, Black for the master, grey for the slave.

« Last Edit: February 18, 2015, 10:15:12 AM by Samson »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 135
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #26 on: February 18, 2015, 09:56:50 PM »
My god, that didnt even cross my mind. :tongue:

I am so use to sata drives now I didnt even pay attention it was a IDE 25 pin connection drive, and yes if the jumpers are not set properly it can cause the bios to lock up.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #27 on: February 19, 2015, 04:46:50 PM »
My god, that didnt even cross my mind. :tongue:

I am so use to sata drives now I didnt even pay attention it was a IDE 25 pin connection drive, and yes if the jumpers are not set properly it can cause the bios to lock up.

Shane

Some of us still live in a "Legacy World"  :shy:

I actually picked up a few PATA HDDs recently, new but old stock, for a few quid each....Seagates  and WDs, 8MB caches so even a slight performance boost too  :wink:

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #28 on: February 19, 2015, 08:13:53 PM »
Hi, Shane, Boggins and Samson
                                 
                                 The curious part of the puzzle is not over. When i just check with other computer, the hard disk is recognised. It boots with the already installed windows installation and i could access all the drives and files. but , hooked at my friends computer, it still hangs on intel sign.  So the problem is not bad cable, memory but i think that bios may be the thing to took out.  It is seagate, an it recognises in other computer. Now for sure, the hard disk is alive and had no problem.
                                          I checked the other computer bios. It is intel , but have different menus. But other hard drives are detected with the same cable and memory and bios, except this one. What would be the problem? Is it not strange. Could be bios be updated with downloads or one should flash it?
                                   
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Why booting on stops at intel sign?
« Reply #29 on: February 19, 2015, 11:52:48 PM »
pl find enclosed bios settings.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".