Author Topic: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups  (Read 3924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
(Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« on: August 31, 2015, 05:39:49 AM »
Hi,
                            Due to fluctuations in power supply, my adopter has failed and it does not turn on. It's indicator light does not glow up.
                                     I have replaced the power adopter and now it is working. Some suggest that i use the power adopter of modem via ups. My UPS has three sockets, two for stablized current and one direct socket.
                                           Now i use the two ups sockets for monitor and hard disk, for stability. Somebody suggest that i change the monitor to the third direct output in the UPS, and use that socket for plugging the power adoptor of modem, which could be easily exchanged with new one at cheap price.
                                                    Now, if suppose, i change this, would not my monitor absorb the same shock as the direct output and get damaged. Replacement of adopter , to me is easy and cheap than losing a monitor. Pl suggest good ideas as always ,
« Last Edit: September 01, 2015, 06:22:05 AM by jraju »
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 06:03:50 AM »
If the adapters are cheap, then why risk losing your monitor. How many adapters could you buy for the replacement cost of a monitor? Protect the highest value item  :wink:

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2015, 06:12:00 AM »
Hi, Thank you .
                           I will definitely protect the monitor.
                                   a subsidary question: the adopter i used was having 12 volts, 500ma, where as my present one is having 12 volt, 1amp. The store man told me that the former is not available, but i could use the later . Samson, would it affect or overheat, when you are using. The first was supplied with the modem set and the latter is bought individually. Please advise.
                                        another sub question: why then there is a provision of direct output in UPS, at all?
Hope to receive replies. I will put the adopter as before.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2015, 08:24:59 AM »
Sorry J, I am not an electrician  :wink:

But from my understanding, you should be fine as the modem will only draw what power is required. ie 500ma.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 08:56:33 AM by Samson »

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2015, 09:33:05 PM »
Hi, Samson
                           My question direct is:
                                        would my modem experience excessive heat as it is 1 amp, and not 500ma. The latter is not available anywhere now. But how the vendor has stopped all of a sudden, only God Knows.. El
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2015, 03:34:05 AM »
Just to clarify...The old adapter was 500ma? the new one is 1amp? If yes to both then the modem will only draw 500ma, as before. This will not affect the temperature of the modem, if anything, the adapter will be cooler than the original as it rated higher.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2015, 06:21:26 AM »
Hi, Thanks samson for your reply
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2015, 09:58:46 PM »
Hi, My another query is pending regarding why there is a provision of direct output in UPS pl
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2015, 04:10:46 AM »
Maybe for non critical connections?
My guess is that the two connections are battery backed, the other is surge protection only?
What does the manual say?
« Last Edit: September 02, 2015, 04:44:01 AM by Samson »

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2015, 10:06:24 PM »
Hi, Samson
                        You are correct. The two are battery backup +surge protection and the other one is surge protection only. I have bought it long back . Now no manual is available. Now, can you answer what that means. What is different between direct output socket in the switch board and if you plug in to surge protect socket?
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2015, 03:12:53 AM »
Surge protection protects electrical devices from voltage spikes.

I use surge protection plugs on sensitive electronic equipment, I do not have battery backup, as we are lucky to have very rare power outages. Apart from an amateur tree surgeon who took out power lines a while back  :sad:
« Last Edit: September 03, 2015, 03:15:59 AM by Samson »

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2015, 09:38:44 PM »
Hi, Thanks samson.
                                     So, it means that the same current passes , if it is direct output socket, there is a risk of damaging the device and if it is placed on surge protection, the same current but the device is saved from spikes. I am asking this question, because, if i switch of the ups , and keep the wall switch on, the modem is running with all indicators.
                                               So, it seems to me that there is a control of surge protecton, when the current passes thro ups. You are an expert and so I am asking.

The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 855
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2015, 01:57:10 AM »
I am no expert J, but that is how I understand it to be. Surge protection protects against sudden high voltage spikes.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2111
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: (Solved )UPS,connection of power adopter thro ups
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2015, 04:31:14 AM »
Hi, Thanks samson
                              Now i plug the modem in the surge protection without backup plug. Thanks for the tip.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

 

anything