Author Topic: Windows Word: problem inserting images into text  (Read 1780 times)

Offline Cicero88

• View Profile
Windows Word: problem inserting images into text
« on: February 27, 2016, 02:57:15 AM »
I'm a die hard  XP user & think B. Gates has ripped enough people off. Using Word [Office 2000 Pro disk inserted to avoid loading entire disk onto HD ]. My HD has less than 10% memory avail. I'm no tech & can shoot myself in the foot. I used to be able to select an image of any size & copy it to a Word document. Now I get window mess. " There is not enough memory ...close other prog.etc. " or after I 'copy it to document I just get an empty box on page. I'm an artist & designer & use images constantly, this is complete mind screw. I had one tech add extra memory with hard drive board from another of my PCs. It doesn't appear to have worked. I run a number of diff. cleaners regularly [ CC Cleaner, Adv. Syst.Care, Smart Defrag., Iobit Malware Fighter, Defraggler, Malwarebytes, Hitman Pro, etc. ].

Anybody have any ideas ? I mainly just want easy transfer of images...  Thx,   Cicero88

Offline Still_Game

• View Profile
Re: Windows Word: problem inserting images into text
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2016, 06:13:34 AM »
If you regularly handle large images you are making life very hard for yourself if your hard drive has less than 10% free space. I would certainly recommend you buy a bigger replacement hard drive. And you need as much RAM as you can, although I believe XP is limited to 4 Gb with only about 3.25 Gb being available to Windows. How much RAM do you have installed? And what's the size of your hard drive?

Online Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Word: problem inserting images into text
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2016, 09:58:13 AM »
XP x32bit is limited to 4GB but the 64bit version can take up to 128GB, although the limitations of the motherboard will determine how much of that you can upgrade to.