Author Topic: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.  (Read 3987 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: 16
    • View Profile

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6599
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 99
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 03:11:05 PM »
Looks like that's worth another Karma. :)

I've seen that error reported by sfc /scannow in Win 10 on a few occasions and the only real fix was to repair/reinstall given that it was taken as genuine corruption - you'd think MS would have put out a Bulletin or something to let people know instead of helpers trawling the 'net looking for a fix - the Bs ! :)

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: 16
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2016, 03:27:19 PM »
- Piriform has - from time to time - very interesting articles.

http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?act=idx

- Keep in mind: Vista also has some problems with SFC. It sometimes gives a "false" positive/negative. Has that ever been "fixed" ? I had the link in my "Favorites" but that seems to be gone/removed.


Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6599
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 99
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2016, 03:32:11 PM »
I've never come across anyone reporting that, although it's very rare that you get Vista users asking for help these days and my Windows experience started with Win 7 :)

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6599
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 99
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2016, 04:00:42 PM »
It looks like your original link has changed so that it no longer gives info on that .dll

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: 16
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2016, 04:18:07 PM »
- Odd. The Original link still works here on my (Win 7) system. Although it doesn't refer to any *.dll file.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6599
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 99
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2016, 04:30:58 PM »
Yes, I've got it now and the article does refer to opencl.dll

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: 16
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2016, 12:12:01 AM »
- SYSNATIVE has a fix for this "Corruption".
https://www.sysnative.com/forums/windows-update/18121-guide-opencl-dll-corruption-sfc-dism-windows-10-update-1511-th2.html
(I can't test it, I still have Win 7)

Question:
- Has this bug been fixed yet ?
- I don't see what the fix should be. If new driver software wants to replace "opencl.dll" then it should be allowed to do so. But then SFC should skip that file.

Offline CKing123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: "SFC" (in Windows 10) has a bug.
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2016, 06:59:35 PM »
Question:
- Has this bug been fixed yet ?
Not sure because I don't have NVIDIA computer. My computer came with AMD, and their drivers don't patch opencl.dll
- I don't see what the fix should be. If new driver software wants to replace "opencl.dll" then it should be allowed to do so. But then SFC should skip that file.
Well, it is not considered part of a "driver" per say, which SFC doesn't care about unless it is the Microsoft default drivers. Opencl.dll is considered a system file, so if drivers replace it, it is considered corrupt.

-CKing

 

anything