Author Topic: taskbar insensitive - no start menu, can't click on icons; 3 tweaks in safe mode  (Read 3241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I think I changed one too many users or groups. I tried to more several things to group Users. BTW, My computer doesn't have a SYSTEM account but there are several files with group SYSTEM and even some with user SYSTEM which for sure doesn't exist.

Tweaking.com - Windows Repair v3.9.30
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

System Variables
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OS: Windows 10 Pro
OS Architecture: 64-bit
OS Version: 10.0.10586.164
OS Service Pack:
Computer Name: MYBOOK
Windows Drive: C:\
Windows Path: C:\WINDOWS
Program Files: C:\Program Files
Program Files (x86): C:\Program Files (x86)
Current Profile: C:\Users\admin
Current Profile SID: S-1-5-21-601720106-2136276107-3091382252-1006
Current Profile Classes: S-1-5-21-601720106-2136276107-3091382252-1006_Classes
Profiles Location: C:\Users
Profiles Location 2: C:\WINDOWS\ServiceProfiles
Local Settings AppData: C:\Users\admin\AppData\Local
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

System Information
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System Up Time: 0 Days 00:50:10

Process Count: 31
Commit Total: 1.21 GB
Commit Limit: 4.60 GB
Commit Peak: 1.38 GB
Handle Count: 10757
Kernel Total: 819.26 MB
Kernel Paged: 706.81 MB
Kernel Non Paged: 112.45 MB
System Cache: 2.58 GB
Thread Count: 401
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memory Before Cleaning with CleanMem
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Memory Total: 3.91 GB
Memory Used: 1.61 GB(41.1585%)
Memory Avail.: 2.30 GB
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cleaning Memory Before Starting Repairs...

Memory After Cleaning with CleanMem
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Memory Total: 3.91 GB
Memory Used: 1.28 GB(32.6838%)
Memory Avail.: 2.63 GB
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Starting Repairs...
   Started at (5/14/2017 8:15:00 PM)

Setting Any Missing 'InstallDate' From Uninstall Sections Before Running Repair...
Total Missing 'InstallDate' Fixed: 0
 
01 - Reset Registry Permissions
   Restore Windows 7/8/10 Default Registry Permissions
   Start (5/14/2017 8:15:01 PM)


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\hku.7z
Done,  0.39 seconds.


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\hklm.7z
Done,  17.73 seconds.

   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:16:04 PM)

Reset File Permissions
   Restore Windows 7/8/10 Default File Permissions
   Start (5/14/2017 8:16:04 PM)


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\default.7z
Done,  0.16 seconds.


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\profile.7z
Done,  0.2 seconds.


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\program_files.7z
Done,  0.55 seconds.


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\program_files_x86.7z
Done,  0.14 seconds.


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\programdata.7z
Done,  0.16 seconds.


Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\windows.7z
Done,  1.61 seconds.

   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:18:44 PM)

03 - Reset Service Permissions
   Start (5/14/2017 8:18:44 PM)

   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:18:56 PM)

04 - Register System Files
   Start (5/14/2017 8:18:56 PM)
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:19:31 PM)

05 - Repair WMI
   Start (5/14/2017 8:19:31 PM)

   Starting Security Center So We Can Export The Security Info.

   Exporting Antivirus Info...
   Exporting 3rd Party Firewall Info...
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:29:12 PM)

06 - Repair Windows Firewall
   Start (5/14/2017 8:29:12 PM)

Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\files\permissions\10\services.7z
Done,  0.16 seconds.

   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:29:44 PM)

07 - Repair Internet Explorer
   Start (5/14/2017 8:29:44 PM)
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:30:04 PM)

08 - Repair MDAC/MS Jet
   Start (5/14/2017 8:30:04 PM)
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:30:10 PM)

09 - Repair Hosts File
   Start (5/14/2017 8:30:10 PM)
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:30:11 PM)

10 - Remove Policies Set By Infections
   Start (5/14/2017 8:30:11 PM)
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:30:13 PM)

11 - Repair Start Menu Icons Removed By Infections
   Start (5/14/2017 8:30:13 PM)
   Running Repair Under System Account

The current repair has failed to start for over 30 sec.
Trying Again....

   Running Repair Under System Account

The current repair has failed to start for over 30 sec.
Trying Again....

   Running Repair Under System Account

The current repair has failed to start for over 30 sec.
Trying Again....

   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (5/14/2017 8:32:14 PM)

   Done, but failed, at (5/14/2017 8:32:14 PM)
   Total Repair Time: 00:17:15

The current repair has failed to start 4 times.
Something is keeping the repair from running.

Try running the repairs in Windows Safe Mode. (This will keep 3rd party programs from getting in the way of the repairs)
If the repairs still fail then please post in the Tweaking.com forums for support.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7441
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
I assume you have run the repairs in Safe Mode ?

I was wondering why you are using an old build of Win 10 - have you deferred the updates ?

Without knowing what you have done, I would go for a repair install but I think you should consider updating to a newer version.

I would at least update to 1607 and that should sort out your problems but create a system image before doing so.

Hover over Win 10 in the menu in this article and then over AU 1607 and click on Standard.

http://windowsiso.net/

Download and Save the 64 bit ISO then you can use Windows own USB/DVD Burner Tool to create install media of your choice.

http://wudt.codeplex.com/

Open Windows Explorer - This PC - insert the media and double click on the drive.

The update will start when using a DVD but if using an USB, that will open it where you double click on the setup Application.

It's advisable to disable a 3rd party antivirus program that has its own firewall before starting the update.


Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thank you for a thoughtful reply. I am looking for a direction to go on this and I like your answers.

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
1. Thank you, Boggin, as your reply was exactly the nudge I needed to take these steps. They worked perfectly. I now have a "working as intended" au 1607 version of Windows 10. Further, I would never have stumbled on these steps.

2. I am now in the fix that got me to playing with owners and permissions. Can you help me with either or both of these:
   a. I cannot get cmd.exe to show up on my login desktop. I did create a link [which has good permissions] and now have a blank white icon for command prompt. This appears to me to be caused by restrictive permissions on cmd.exe itself. It has read write execute by all groups [me, friends, world] and is owned by user "NT SERVICE+Trusted Installer" and the same group. I changed group to Users but that didn't help. When I use file explorer - Security, it says the permissions are not correctly ordered. Should I try to get file explorer to run as administrator? Is there a better way?
   b. Using my login id, I tried to install Deejaysystems vj.exe using their dated installer. It could not create a directory or write to ProgramData which is permissions rwx by user and group and --- blocked by group, and owned by SYSTEM SYSTEM although some entries are owners "loginid Users". How would you handle this. Maybe I should install by user administrator [I created this one with administrator permissions]
If you can help me, then I think I can stop trying to get windows 10 to work for me.
Thank you again for your help.

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Good News. After I changed cmd.exe to group Users, I had to create a new shortcut from Desktop. It works now.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7441
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
I'm pleased to hear that  :wink: :)

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
The saga continues - the issue is why can't I do what I want.
This is a reminder of immediately after my first install of Windows 10 I disabled UAC using windows 10. Boom. Windows 10 rebooted and reinstalled itself. [Why not block it?]

So, here I am. I had installed au 1607 and everything was good except I was trying to install my deejaysystems video player.

Logged in as DefaultAccount. I went to File Explorer | Manage Computer and clicked on several users and turned off password change and added them to Group Users. Then, I went to User Administrator and tried to add Group Users to it. I just wanted everything to work. Windows 10 Hung. [Maybe I didn't wait long enough.] I thought I had screwed up something so I logged off.

Back to Manage Computer. Now, "This file has no program associated with it." So, I went to Shut Down. Windows 10 reinstalled itself. However, all my installed software like Word, Excel, Access, DeeJaySystems, etc. missing.

Thanks to all that is good for you. I pulled out my au 1607 disc and reinstalled. Programs found and Manage Computer worked. I was so happy. BTW, at this point, when I click on User Administrator, it shows member of "Users." Perfect.

I am still trying to get subtitles to show up on DeeJaySystems. I think it's a permissions issue because it did work for a minute before the latest sequence of installs.

One more thing. Now that windows update is working, I have a KB4019472 Cumulative Update for 1607 for x64 Systems. Fails to install. I clicked on install updates and shutdown. Must have taken more than an hour to install the update and then issue a note that the install failed and then backed out the update. Everything still worked. Yea. Again, Install Updates and shut down - same thing all over again. So stop Windows10 AutoUpdate: https://www.google.com/amp/www.windowscentral.com/how-stop-updates-installing-automatically-windows-10?amp

I'm happy except DeeJay subtitles still don't work. They work on MPC [Media Player Classic] which I think has its own subtitles manager but not on DeeJaySystems using K-Lite Codec Pack version 995 which is the suggested version. I had it working on Windows 7 so maybe something has changed in Windows 10.

Anyway. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE LINK TO AU 1607 - Saved my day, and gives me a base for reinstall if something crazy happens. [again!]. Have a great day!





Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7441
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
Can you go Start - start to type reliability and press enter when View reliability history comes up to see if it has recorded the update fails.

If it has, click on view tech details to see if it gives an error code.

You would need to click on the red cross or info symbol for that date.

You could see if updating to 1703 will resolve the subtitles problem, but create a system image onto external media first, although you can roll back to 1607 within 10 days of updating, but the system image is a better fall back as I once had a roll back that failed to roll back.

Just click on Update now in https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

Scroll down the page and you will see how you can create install media for 1703.

However, once you update to 1703 and go past the 10 day cooling off period, you would only be able to go back to 1607 using your system image or by doing a clean install with the 1607 disk where you would lose all of your personal stuff and any programs you have installed.

If you do create 1703 install media, then make sure you mark it as 1703.

I use DVDs with paper envelopes so that is easy to do, unlike when you use an USB.

I have my laptops set to check the DVD and USB drives before the HDD so that I can boot up with the install media to either use the restore points, restore with image or run repair cmds from the cmd prompt.

There are some changes that 1703 makes and they are that it removes Control Panel from the Start menu, but you can pin that to the taskbar by going Start - type control panel then right click on it and select Pin to taskbar.

It also changes Command Prompt to Powershell in the Start menu.

To revert that, go Start - Settings - Personalization - Taskbar and set the toggle button to Off.

It may also remove the IE icon from the taskbar - right click on the taskbar and select Task Manager - File - Run new task - type iexplore.exe into the box - check the box to run new task as an admin and press enter - you can then re-pin IE to the taskbar.

Open Windows Explorer - right click on This PC and select Properties - System Protection to ensure it is still on as some have reported that it has been turned off after updating.

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thank you. I apologize for thinking that you might be working on Sunday. You obviously are worth more money than you are getting for this job.

I attach (1) update history display
I attach (2) update history with a click on "Failed to Install on 5/20/2017"
I did find "View Reliability History" and offer (3) the view but clicking on the red X didn't help with details.
I did click on the Yellow Exclamation point and it says:
"Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x800F0841:
2015-05 Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 for x64-based Systems (KB4019472).
I found this: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/upgrade/resolve-windows-10-upgrade-errors#0x800xxxxx
0x800F0841 not listed on the page.
google for: windows 10 KB4019472 error 0x800F0841
Shows about 200 people have this problem or something like it.
One person wrote I could fix this by installing Creator's Update.
In fairness, I don't like updates. Seems I always am giving up something I love and getting stuff I don't want.
I have felt this way since an update took away the ability to record sounds as input from the output to headphones.
[Other issues which you document.] Grrr.

I did go to Start - Start but I can't type into it and/or can't find the text entry box. [Probably something I did intentionally.]

I did search for "Reliability" in the Control Panel Search Box.
I did find View Reliability under Control Panel | System and Security | Security and Maintenance
Who knew?
Thank you again for walking me through this.
Thank you for a targeted reply.
It may sound as if I am complaining but I am not complaining to you. I am so grateful you have shown me this much.
David

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7441
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
I keep forgetting that route to access reliability history as I'm more used to typing in the search box as I used to in Win 7.

I have Cortana turned off which gives me a Search Windows box to type into which becomes active when I click on Start.

I found a batch file that would do it auto and running it again will re-enable it.

I can't find that now so will try to attach the .zip file, but create a restore point before running it in case it attaches broken.

Click on it and select Save where you can extract it in your Downloads folder.

There's also these methods for the various versions of Win 10 - http://gadgets.ndtv.com/laptops/features/how-to-disable-cortana-on-windows-10-1683223

« Last Edit: May 21, 2017, 08:01:16 AM by Boggin »

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thank you again.

I need a good back up and restore software. What we had at Salomon Brothers on Unix was something that appeared to be a complete directory hour by hour for the day, and then for each day the week, and then each month the year. Obviously it only appeared that way, but it was nifty because I could cd into each directory and the directory appeared to be complete.

Maybe I could use something simpler. What do you like/use?

Thank you again. By the power vested in me, I hereby promote you to the next level.

David

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7441
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
:D

I just use Windows own system image but it's an all or nothing.

A lot of people seem to use Macrium Reflect Free which I believe you can be selective with what you restore/retrieve but I don't have any experience of it.

https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

Offline dave08052

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thank you, again. I am located in Maple Shade, New Jersey, next door to Cherry Hill which you might know, across the Delaware River from Philadelphia. Are you in the neighborhood? I would like to keep in touch. How do I send you my gmail email?
David

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7441
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
I'm a little bit further away than that - if you look at my Location on the left under my username, you will see that I'm in the UK.

I can view your gmail account name.