Author Topic: Customize scan  (Read 1624 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline metaguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 24
  • Location: California
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Customize scan
« on: May 27, 2017, 01:00:04 PM »
I just ran my first scan, and it eliminated dome things like bookmarks, etc.  How can I customize Tweaking to ignore certain areas?  Thanks

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6604
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2017, 02:30:11 PM »
It may have been the IE repair that did it.

Use Option 5 Registry Restore to see if you get them back, uncheck the Repair IE box and run the program again to confirm.

When you go into registry restore you will need to use the dropdown to select the date.

Offline metaguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 24
  • Location: California
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 06:15:48 PM »
I'm not quite there yet, and admittedly I haven't read  the manual (is there one?). 
Option 5 Backup ( Attachment 1 and 2) - see no reference to IE.  Could you walk me through?  Can one control what is restored?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6604
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2017, 12:44:42 AM »
You need to click on the Restore Registry tab which is to the right of what you've selected and then use the dropdown to select the backup.

That will take the registry back to before the repairs - it's an all or nothing.

When running the repair program, uncheck Repair 07 which is for Repair Internet Explorer.


Offline metaguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 24
  • Location: California
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2017, 02:59:48 AM »
Boggin said  "uncheck Repair 07."   Is the line highlighted in the attachment what you list as #07?



Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6604
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2017, 03:03:26 AM »
No - it's in the Repairs list when you open those.

« Last Edit: May 28, 2017, 03:06:29 AM by Boggin »

Offline metaguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 24
  • Location: California
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2017, 04:13:58 AM »
Gotcha, finally.  So, back to my original question of customizing.  I'd uncheck those repairs I don't want to be checked.  For instance uncheck
Repair Icons, because I've customized some, or it might eliminate favicons
Repair Proxy settings as I don't use a proxy
All Windows 8 options, because I'm on Win 7
#26 because I've customized what I want
#27 because I don't want the default
 Am I on the right track?  Is there a user manual?
I appreciate your help.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6604
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2017, 05:20:30 AM »
I can't see any help file buttons on the Pro version of 3.9.32 but Shane is putting those into v4.0 which is well on its way to release.

You've got it right - just select the repairs that apply to you and the just the ones you want to run.

Offline metaguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Posts: 24
  • Location: California
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2017, 03:32:06 PM »
FYI, I'm on free version.  After a couple successful Tweakings I'll definitely buy Pro; especially with the kind of support you've provided.  Thank you, over and out.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 6604
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Customize scan
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2017, 03:55:00 PM »
You'd get the same help whether you're using the free or Pro version, but I'm sure Shane will welcome your support.

He has spent a lot of time and effort in developing the program.

 

anything