Author Topic: Windows Installer Error  (Read 15974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Installer Error
« Reply #30 on: December 17, 2011, 10:21:46 AM »
I agree with Shane.  Something that the Installer needs to function properly, it's not getting.  A repair install would be my next step if it were me.

Offline paulgj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Installer Error
« Reply #31 on: December 17, 2011, 10:34:13 AM »
I have located my install "Windows7 Home Premium"  DVD.  It is called "Upgrade designed for Windows Vista" dated 2009 so it does not have SP1. It contains both the 32bit and 64bit DVDs.  I am running 32bit now.
I have never tried this before but it seems now to be a reasonable thing to do. I have read/printed out the instructions. I will work on it when I have some more time to devote to the project.  You guys have been great.

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Installer Error
« Reply #32 on: December 17, 2011, 10:37:57 AM »
You will need to uninstall SP1 before performing the repair install, if your DVD does not include SP1.  It will not work otherwise.  Then after a successful repair install, re-install SP1.

Offline paulgj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Installer Error
« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2012, 06:16:04 PM »
At long last after some consideration and a Christmas Holiday break and end of year work, I did the Windows 7 - Repair Install as delineated at the following URL.

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

After 10+ hours I have resolved my original problem with Windows Installer. (That process was really slow.  Don't know what was going on, but I left it alone until it finished.) I now have some 100+ updates to do. I'll go through them piecemeal.  I was unable to remove SP1 update, but continued on anyways.  I have not lost anything significant. I was backed up on MOZY and on an external Hard Drive just in case.

Again thanks for the great advice

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 135
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Windows Installer Error
« Reply #34 on: January 07, 2012, 01:34:23 PM »
Good to hear you got it working :-)

A post in the feedback forum is always welcome. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Installer Error
« Reply #35 on: January 08, 2012, 09:14:15 AM »
Your Windows 7 installation disk must have included SP1 otherwise there would be no way to continue on with the repair.  It would have stopped you dead in your tracks.  Assuming of course, that you weren't able to uninstall SP1 beforehand.  :confused:

Nevertheless, I am happy to hear that your problem has been fixed.  :smiley: