Author Topic: Beta Repair System Restore  (Read 103943 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Beta Repair System Restore
« on: December 26, 2012, 04:00:16 PM »
In Tweaking.com - Windows Repair All In One v1.9.3 I have added a beta repair to repair the system restore for Vista, 7 & 8.

Please post your results here on how the repair went for you. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 07:36:30 AM »
Can't find "srcore.dll"on my Win 7 laptop except in the "Windows\winsxs\..." folders. Is this a Windows Update failure ?

Offline Missasip1938

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2012, 02:12:20 PM »
I downloaded and tried the program but it didn't seem to have any affect on my problems.  I ran SFC before and after and it shows a corrupt msje40.dll and I also have a problem in regards to MDAC and net.framework stating it needs version 2.6 or better and I believe I have 2.8 installed.  Seems to be a good diagnostic program and I would recommend it to others.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2012, 02:58:06 PM »
Missasip1938, this is a thread on how the repair system restore tool works, not the rest of the program. Was system restore working before or after the repair?

Willy2, that DLL is a system restore component and should be in your system32 folder.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Missasip1938

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2012, 03:13:30 PM »
I'm confused, I had tried lots and lots of restore to get the MDAC conflict fixed but just didn't make any positive progress and had hoped repair program might accidently find and fix it for me.  I like the program and will recommend it to others.  The SFC continues to report the msjet40.dll to be corrupt every time I have run it and I thought sfc.exe /scannow might fix it but apparently not.  Thanks for your reply.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2012, 03:16:19 PM »
Start a new thread for the msjet40.dll error and I will see what I can do to help :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2013, 10:17:45 AM »
This repair creates a number of log files. When I open these files with Notepad then they seem to be empty. But when I click on properties then Windows tells me that these files are 2 bytes in size. And then, I suppose, then won't be considered to empty by WR.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2013, 03:01:24 PM »
The program checks if they are 1 byte and deletes them. I wonder why they are 2 bytes? Perhaps they have some spaces in them?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2013, 10:43:19 PM »
I guess it's the result of the way these log files are created. RB system restore uses the "/errorlog" option. Whereas other repairs use the "2>>" method.

Is this language related ? What is the situation on your system ?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 11:02:38 PM by Willy2 »

Offline msbookworm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2013, 05:31:27 AM »
I can create restore points but they don't show.  My only restore point is a system image  restore point I made when I bought my laptop.  Under configure it shows disk space usage at 0 bytes.  Will the beta repair system restore program fix this problem?  BTW I can't make backups also.  I back up to an external drive.  Using windows7 64 bit.  Thanks.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1057
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2013, 10:33:10 AM »
Did some more testing. Using the "/errorlog" switch makes an empty log file have the size of 2 bytes. But the "2>>" method reduces the length of an empty log file to zero bytes.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2013, 11:10:16 AM »
Did some more testing. Using the "/errorlog" switch makes an empty log file have the size of 2 bytes. But the "2>>" method reduces the length of an empty log file to zero bytes.

No not yet, been slammed.

Quote
Under configure it shows disk space usage at 0 bytes.  Will the beta repair system restore program fix this problem?

What is the slider bar moved to? If it is at the start try moving the slider bar up to give it move space.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline msbookworm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2013, 11:21:38 AM »
The slide is set at 15%, disk space used 0%.  As I wrote I can make restore points no problem.  If I install some programs it sets a restore point but I have no restore points except a system image restore point that says it's a backup.  My windows back up doesn't work either.  I just found this site so thought one of your programs might work but as I have no restore points I don't want to take a chance on something that I can't undo.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2013, 03:06:12 PM »
The beta repair does set the permissions to the folder where the restore points are stored. So it might be worth trying :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline msbookworm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2013, 07:05:06 PM »
I ran the beta.  Did a restore point and backup first as directed.  Still no restore points listed.  No log file that I could find either.