Author Topic: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7  (Read 70331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« on: March 11, 2013, 08:42:37 AM »
i have a program that i installed back when i got this computer brand new in july of 2012. it worked fine
until mid January when the computer installed some updates and now the program when tried to start says
MDAC not found and i cant update windows anymore. PLEASE help. This problem is driving me crazy. Thank
you in advance. -Corey

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 11:53:24 AM »
MDAC is part of Windows 7, so the first thing to do is a system file check which should replace any missing files. :wink:

Open a cmd window as administrator and run

sfc /scannow

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 12:04:07 PM »
i have done that twice and i have used some of the tools and utilities from tweaking.com.
all the sfc /scannow found and replaced were some log files and i then restarted the computer.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2013, 12:05:50 PM »
Run my MDAC tester from my other site and let me know the results :wink:

http://www.pcwintech.com/shanes-toolbox

It is the 2nd from last at the bottom of the page.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2013, 12:07:23 PM »
i also get this error when running Test MDAC from tweaking

Starting Test.
Date: 3/11/2013 Time: 3:06:12 PM
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using DAO...
--Successful
Opening Table...
--Successful
Closing connection to the database.
--Successful
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using ADO...
ERROR!: 91 - Object variable or With block variable not set
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Done, Test Complete.
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2013, 12:09:24 PM »
OK so the ADO files are missing.

Are you on 64 bit or 32 bit Windows 7?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2013, 12:10:21 PM »
This is an HP Pavillion Dv7 7115 64 bit

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2013, 12:11:45 PM »
Running Windows 7 with SP1

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2013, 12:13:24 PM »
OK try this.

1. I have attached the ado files from my Windows 7 64bit. Extract them and put them into "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\System\ado" overwrite any files you have there if Windows lets you.
2. Once you have the files there run my mdac repair tool http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/repair_mdac_ms_jet.html
3. Once done try the mdac tester again and lets see if ADO still gives us an error. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2013, 12:19:04 PM »
The last 11 files say i needed permission

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2013, 12:20:16 PM »
If you cant replace them that is ok, as long as any missing files got put there is what is important :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2013, 12:24:28 PM »
ok i ran the repair tool after trying to install the files.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2013, 12:25:38 PM »
OK, and what did the tester say after that?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2013, 12:26:04 PM »
Starting Test.
Date: 3/11/2013 Time: 3:25:33 PM
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using DAO...
--Successful
Opening Table...
--Successful
Closing connection to the database.
--Successful
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using ADO...
ERROR!: 91 - Object variable or With block variable not set
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Done, Test Complete.
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''

Offline Oceanblue23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2013, 12:30:03 PM »
here is what the repair tool said as well:
Log:
Repair MDAC & MS Jet
   Start (3/11/2013 3:23:39 PM)
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (3/11/2013 3:23:45 PM)

   Total Repair Time: 00:00:06

 

anything