Tweaking.com Forums

Main Forum => Program & Site Requests => Topic started by: Willy2 on August 28, 2016, 07:31:18 PM

Title: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on August 28, 2016, 07:31:18 PM
- The "Windows Update" repair needs an update. According to this article

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/971058

this Repair needs to stop/reset an additional Service ("Appidsvc") as well, before it can proceed with repairing Windows Update. The current repair doesn't tackle/include this Service called "Appsidsvc".

Title: Re: WR v3.99 issues
Post by: Boggin on August 30, 2016, 04:48:01 AM
I've passed this onto Shane.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on August 30, 2016, 04:50:32 AM
 :cheesy:
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on September 01, 2016, 07:16:02 AM
- MS regularly releases new Update Agents for Win 7. The latest one is KB 3138612. More info on this WU Agent is found at

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3138612.

The interesting thing of the info on that webpage/weblink is that it lists the files that the update installs/updates on the user's system. And I see - at least - one file ("Wu.upgrade.ps.dll") that doesn't get registered in the latest WR repair called "Repair Windows Update". Nirsoft's program "RegDLLView" does confirm that that file is registered on my Win 7 system after I installed KB 3138612.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on September 02, 2016, 04:18:14 AM
- I have a license key for WR but after entering that license key and restarting the program, WR it still says "Free Version" in the header of the GUI. Outdated license key ? Bug in WR v3.9.10 ??
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Still_Game on September 02, 2016, 08:05:24 AM
That happened to me with 3.9.9. I re-entered the licence details and all was well. Haven't yet installed 3.9.10 as I'm away from home.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Boggin on September 02, 2016, 08:08:50 AM
Wished I'd seen your post before I'd emailed Shane about this....
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Boggin on September 03, 2016, 08:38:02 AM
- I have a license key for WR but after entering that license key and restarting the program, WR it still says "Free Version" in the header of the GUI. Outdated license key ? Bug in WR v3.9.10 ??

Shane has said that he will email you about this and may have already done so.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on September 16, 2016, 03:12:07 PM
- Have been fiddling a bit with the WR System Tray Icon. And it seems the tray icon doesn't respond to the (Windows) Event called "Explorer.exe started". In response to that Event the WR tray should make the system tray icon show up again.

- I did 2 things. I killed "Explorer.exe" and then re-started "Explorer.exe" (2 commands in a *.bat file). And no, the WR Tray Icon didn't show up. The icon was gone. I had to kill the process and re-start the process.
- I noticed that one other program that also has an icon in the system tray, did re-appear in the system tray.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on September 17, 2016, 09:29:40 PM
Topic: "Repair Icons".
- Suggestion: Add this command to this repair:

   del C:\thumbs.db  /s /f /q

(And, of course, do the same for all other logical drives)

This command deletes all the files called "thumbs.db" in each folder. In this file a thumbnail copy of a picture file (*.jpg, *.gif, *.bmp, ............... ) is stored. And as the user moves more and more files to one folder this "thumbs.db" file grows and grows. But when the user removes or deletes files then "thumbs.db" doesn't shrink at all. This is a similar situation with the thumbnail caches. These files grow & grow over time as well.

- I ran two MSDOS commands (with admin rights):

   taskkill /f /im explorer.exe
   start %SystemRoot%\explorer.exe

and the WR systemtray icon vanished into thin air. The 2 pictures in the attachment show what the system tray looked like before & after running these 2 commands. (Watch the time stamps in both pictures).
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on September 29, 2016, 09:42:05 AM
- More bugs. WR overlooks to register 2 files in "Repair MDAC-MSjet":

%CommonProgramFiles%\System\Ole DB\msolap90.dll
%CommonProgramFiles%\System\Ole DB\msolui90.dll

These files need to be registered in "%commonprogramfiles(x86)%" as well.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on September 30, 2016, 01:20:22 AM
- I found 2 "*.reg" files in one of the folders that are related to "MDAC-MSjet". Would repairing/refreshing/adding those registry entries help to fix problems with "MDAC-MSjet" ?

See also inside the red rectangle in the picture in the attachment. The file path where these *.reg are located can be found inside the blue rectangle.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 10, 2016, 11:57:04 PM
- One more suggestion for the next WR version. Add a registry tweak that will reset one's computer from PIO mode back to DMA mode. GOOGLE helped me to find this info on what registry tweak needs to be made.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_vista-hardware/stuck-in-pio-mode/1189ac64-5828-48b6-b6d4-797cd3e9561c?auth=1

About DMA mode:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_memory_access
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 20, 2016, 10:38:09 AM
- And yes, Win 7 has a "thumbs.db" problem as well. In Win 7, a thumbnail copy of each picture file is stored in a "Thumbnail cache" file. But there seems to be one exception to this rule. For picture files in the "Pictures" folder (C:\users\<--Username-->\Pictures") those thumbnail copy are still stored in "thumbs.db".
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 22, 2016, 09:38:33 AM
- (Small) Bugs in the program (don't worry, it doesn't crash the program). I ticked every box in WR and ran the program. And 3 bugs showed up in the main logfile. E.g. for repair # 14 this line shows up in the main log file:

    14 - Remove Temp Files


For repair #16 this shows up in the logfile:

    Unhide Non System Files        (Without the number/text "16" in front of this text)

Similar story for repairs # 2 & 33.

See also the attached file.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Shane on October 24, 2016, 10:54:41 AM
There is a bug with the program going pro when a users date and time on the system has words in it, that is fixed.

Added the service to the repair windows updates, Wu.upgrade.ps.dll is already in the repair.

Updated the repair mdac with the two new files as well :-)

Good call on adding the deleting of the thumbs.db

I actually have a bat file I use on my own system that will work with unicode paths as well, I will add this to the repair and have it set to do all fixed drives on the system.

Quote
@echo off
chcp 65001
@echo Looking for Thumbs.db files...

set "_dest=C:\"

cd /d %_dest%

for /f "delims=" %%i in ('dir /l /s /b /a:-d thumbs.db') do (
if /i "%%~nxi"=="thumbs.db" (
@echo "Removed - %%i"
ATTRIB -A -R -S -H "%%i"
del /f /q "%%i"
)
)

Shane
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 24, 2016, 11:31:12 AM
- I now have a list with registered files on a 32 bit Vista system. And came across those 2 MDAC files that weren't registered by WR.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 25, 2016, 07:49:23 PM
- I must re-write reply #13.

- In Win XP (and Vista ??) MS used a file called "thumb.db" to store a thumbnail copy of picture files (*.jpg, *.gif, *.bmp, ......... ) in any given folder. And that file could be found in each folder if the user has stored such a picture file in that folder and had opened that folder once in Windows Explorer.

- Starting with Win 7 (or started it with Vista ??) MS used a different system to store these thumbnail copies. Then all those thumbnails were stored in one file called e.g. "thumbcache*.db". But I noticed that on my Win 7 MS seems to have forgotten to extend this system to the folder called "c:\users\<--Username-->\Pictures". There MS still uses the "thumbs.db" system.

- But I don't know if this bug is also present in Win 8 & Win 10. Boggin ???
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Boggin on October 26, 2016, 12:32:58 AM
I'm not into the finer points of WR but if you have any concerns then I'll pass them onto Shane.

One of the improvements added to 3.9.14 is this repair now checks and removes all thumbs.db files as well.


Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 26, 2016, 12:46:33 AM
- Do you have a Win 10 system ? If so, then open "My pictures" and close it. and then search (e.g. with Voidtool's EVERYTHING) for "thumbs.db". Perhaps MS forgot to strip that code (that generates the file called "thumbs.db") from Win 10 as well.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 27, 2016, 10:32:34 AM
- Suggestion: Move repair #10 up the list of repairs and make it repair #05 or repair #04. I think #10 is actually too important to have a such a low ranking.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 27, 2016, 10:43:08 AM
- (Small !!) Bug in repair "Repair Icons" ???  In the part where "thumbs.db" are deleted, I saw this

     ">>"

shouldn't that be

      "1>>" ??
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 27, 2016, 11:45:17 PM
- Shouldn't the "Pre-Repair Commands" be run first as well when the user runs the repair called "Repair System Restore Beta" ?
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 30, 2016, 12:55:14 PM
- Topic:  "Register Adobe's Flash player".

WR is able to register Adobe's Flash Player related file/files on a Win 8 (and a Win 10 ??) system. But WR isn't able to register the player on a Win 7and a Vista OS. The reason is that on a Win 8 (& Win 10 ?) system with a new update, the name of that Flash Player file always is the same ("flash.ocx"). Whereas on a Win 7 & Vista system that name always changes with every new update. The name includes a reference to the version.

(Does Adobe still support Flash on XP systems ?)

- But in spite of that there's a way to get these Flash files (re-)registered. MSDOS has a command that will do the trick.

   FOR /R "%%systemroot%%\system32\macromed\flash\" %%G in (*.ocx) DO ("%%systemroot%%\system32\regsvr32.exe" /s "%%G")

And a similar command must be used for the "Syswow64" folder.

With this command it doesn't matter what the new name is of the Flash Player file. This command simply registers all *.ocx files in that one folder.

To be added in repair #4 !!!

- But then the program code for this repair #4 must be changed as well. Currently this repair has its own peculiar way of registering files. Then registering files in repair #4 must be changed to how e.g. repairs #7, 8, 27 executes a bunch of commands. Changing the program code for this repair also would allow WR to register system files in the %commonprogramfiles% folders.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Samson on October 30, 2016, 03:18:05 PM
(Does Adobe still support Flash on XP systems ?)

Yes, still supported, currently using 23.0.0.205 on FF and Pale Moon.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 31, 2016, 07:13:05 AM
- Another bug in repair #4 !!!! And this is a MAJOR one !!! Repair #4 will ALWAYS target the folders C:\Windows\system32 and C:\Windows\syswow64, even if the user has installed the OS on any other (logical) drive (e.g. D: or E:).

Here's an example for this repair. Repair #4 contains - among others - these 2 lines:

    %SystemRoot%\system32\regsvr32.exe "C:\Windows\System32\asctrls.ocx" /s
    %SystemRoot%\sysWOW64\regsvr32.exe "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\asctrls.ocx" /s

It should be:

    %SystemRoot%\system32\regsvr32.exe "%systemroot%\System32\asctrls.ocx" /s
    %SystemRoot%\sysWOW64\regsvr32.exe "%systemroot%\SysWOW64\asctrls.ocx" /s
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on October 31, 2016, 11:41:09 AM
@Samson: What's the full path of that *.ocx file on your XP system ? Do you have a 32 bit or 64 bit XP system ?
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Samson on October 31, 2016, 01:46:21 PM
@Samson: What's the full path of that *.ocx file on your XP system ? Do you have a 32 bit or 64 bit XP system ?

There is no *.ocx file just the numbered flash version.
Path is C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash

XP Pro SP3 32 bit.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Shane on November 02, 2016, 09:31:32 AM
I am wondering how much longer flash is going to be around.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 02, 2016, 03:54:25 PM
- Another thing I came across: someone who was using a Vista machine made a screenshot of the main WR GUI. What surprised me was that the GUI showed 2 different font sizes. See the 2 different fonts sizes inside the 2 red rectangles. It seems to occur when a repair has two or more sub-repairs.

Weblink for the picture:
https://1drv.ms/i/s!AluvxwylJSzyb7nDxQO8wiMP8yw
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 02, 2016, 04:10:53 PM
- WR still fails to register (think: REGSVR32) a number of files because WR targets the wrong folder(s).
- Talking of registering files: My attention was directed to an article

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/940184
(the article is meant to help fix problems with the VSS sub-system)

in which MS wrote something astonishing:

Important: This article is not for use with Windows Vista, with Windows Server 2008, or with later Windows operating systems. Starting with Windows Vista and with Windows Server 2008, Windows component installation is manifest-based. Trying to manually register specific components, as described in the following steps, can have unexpected results that may require you to reinstall Windows to resolve.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 08, 2016, 10:07:25 AM
- Suggestion: Add a little more info to the main log file. Perhaps it's useful to let the log report in which mode the program was run (Safe Mode or Normal Mode)

In say 90% of the cases, I run WR in normal mode.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 12, 2016, 01:31:11 AM
Deleted.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 12, 2016, 02:09:15 PM
- Topic: WR system tray icon (program code).

The program code for the WR tray can be improved.

Let's assume that 2 copies of the program are stored in 2 folders (folder1 & folder2). Starting the program for the 1st time from folder1 is not a problem. But when I want to start the program for the 2nd time from the same folder then the program refuses to start a 2nd process. The only way to get a second process running is to start the program from a different folder (folder2). So far, so good. I can live with that.

But I think that when the "Explorer (re-)started" Event occurs, the same tests are executed. As a result the program never reaches the program code that makes the WR tray icon re-emerge in the system tray. In other words, the entry point for the "Explorer restarted" Event should be at a different point in the program code.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 17, 2016, 11:41:25 PM
- Found one more file that's not included in the MDAC repair:

         C:\windows\system32\msrclr40.dll
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on November 21, 2016, 05:58:22 AM
- Did some more testing and found some interesting things when it comes to "Repair Icons".

- I have 3 programs (DiskLED, WR tray icon, & Classic Shell) that are active in the Task Bar. When I use the WR repair called "Repair Icons" then both the WR tray icon & Classic Shell don't re-emerge any more. In say 50% of the cases DiskLED does re-emerge.
- But when I kill & restart "Explorer.exe" using Task Manager then both Classic Shell & DiskLED re-emerge without a hiccup. But even then the WR tray icon consistently fails to re-emerge. And that suggests that the WR tray icon doesn't properly respond/reply to the Event called "Explorer.exe" restarted. See a previous post.

DiskLED:
https://helgeklein.com/blog/2009/11/how-to-easily-monitor-system-performance-with-the-new-diskled-1-1/
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on December 13, 2016, 04:16:27 PM
- The program code of the WR system tray icon hasn't been improved. It still dis-appears when the process "Explorer.exe" is killed and doesn't come back when the same process is re-started. To be fixed in the next WR version !!!!
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on December 24, 2016, 05:36:54 AM
@Shane:

- Keep an eye on your email inbox. I have made & have sent a bunch of proposals on how some repairs can be improved/updated. E.g., I've added a bunch of new files to be registered in the programcode.
- In some previous versions of WR there was a socalled "Code clean up". Well, I did the same with the MSDOS commands in the proposals. Some program code is also meant to simplify that program code.
- All proposals come with comments on what the changes/improvements are for this new programcode.

- Again, Keep an eye on your email inbox.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on January 03, 2017, 08:50:24 AM
- Member "KR" has been using the "System Tweak tool" that comes with WR and had some problems. That's why I looked at the tool again and I think that the tool can be inproved in a number of ways:

- When the user clicks on "Apply Tweaks" then a message "Applying tweaks" shows up for a brief moment. I think the time this message is being displayed is (way) too short. I would recommend to always display that "Applying tweaks" message for say 20 or 30 seconds before it disappears.
- When the user has hit "Apply tweaks" then only apply the tweaks in the active tab.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Boggin on January 03, 2017, 09:34:32 AM
I've already emailed Shane about KR's problems as well as others with problems with WR but he has a back log of emails to work through as he's heavily involved with developing v4.0 as well as his computer repair business.

It's rare that I get a reply these days.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on January 03, 2017, 10:07:39 AM
- I know. And that's precisely why I post this in this thread. Then it can be read at a later time. No need to rush it.
- My personal opinion is that Shane should find someone who can help him with developing the Tweaking program(s). It would aleviate the (programming) burden for him. But I also fear that these programs are too much his own "children" and that he can't delegate (large portions of) the work to others.

I have more suggestions for improvement of the "System Tweak" tool:
- Currently the user must tick 4 separate boxes to get those 4 tabs with tweaks applied when the user hits the "Apply Tweak" button. Perhaps it's a good idea to remove those boxes (in combination with the previous suggestion) and to replace it with an button called "Reload default settings". Either for all 4 tabs or for the active tab only.
- Or add a button called "Read Active Settings" button instead. Because the default settings (think: boxes ticked) don't seem to reflect the active settings. This is based on the assumption that the program doesn't read the active settings upon start up from the registry. I know that the program reads the settings from an "*.ini" file and that can be different from what's in the registry.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: villand on January 06, 2017, 11:34:47 AM
Currently running this on my laptop (Windows 10 Home Version 64 Bit OS). It has been running for over 23 hours and is at Process 8 out of 43; however, it seems to be stuck at this point. I'm running in safe mode and as per recommended setting as per your program. It is running process 8, repair MDAC/MS Jet. At the bottom of the screen under Drive Read: and under Drive Write: it shows o bytes. There doesn't seem to be any activity. Am I correct? Is it jammed at this point, and if it is, what should I do next?
Thanks
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Boggin on January 06, 2017, 02:54:11 PM
You can stop the program.

Did you perform a chkdsk /f before running the repairs to see if it reports any KBs in bad sectors or anything else ?
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on January 18, 2017, 02:05:33 PM
@Villand: Stop the program and re-run the program but skip the repair that caused the problems.
Then re-run the program again. Perhaps then the program will run without a hiccup.
Title: Re: WR v3.xx issues
Post by: Willy2 on January 18, 2017, 02:24:57 PM
- Windows Repair comes with Tweaking's Registry Backup (RB). And in RB there's still a (small !!!) bug. Somehow I ended up with three empty subfolders in "C:\Regbackup". RB had the following relevant settings in the *.ini file for RB:

BackupLocation=%WindowsDrive%\RegBackup\
AutoDeleteOldBackups=1
AutoDeleteOldBackupsDays=32
BackupsToKeep=32


But in spite of these settings, and having 56 copies RB fails to delete those 3 empty (sub-)folders that were created back in early december. See also the picture attached.