Author Topic: How Stop Repair #8???  (Read 10095 times)

Offline bretsharon

• View Profile
How Stop Repair #8???
« on: January 08, 2015, 12:19:52 pm »
Repair MDAC/MS Jet  has run for more than 8 Hours. CPU Usages does change.  Task Manager says not responding, then it flashes off, then says not responding, then flashes off,.....and on.  How can I tell it is working and how long? 

Offline Shane

• Administrator
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: How Stop Repair #8???
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2015, 01:04:49 pm »
It should be very fast (It is a small repair), is the cmd.exe window still open?

Shane

Offline bretsharon

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2015, 02:18:14 pm »
Thank you.  Note that the test is really #9 Repair MDAC/MS ...I'm new to this.  But #9, when successful still took hours.  I am now running with cmd displayed and am running in safe mode on a 64 bit machine.  I supposed the 32 bit program is ok with this.  I will report tomorrow what happened.

Offline bretsharon

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2015, 02:39:02 pm »
Running in minimal safe mode the MDAC/MS Jet blew right thru the repair.  So there must be something in normal mode that stops and makes it hang up.  Leaving cmd open is very helpful to confirm that the repair is not being held up

Offline bretsharon

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2015, 02:41:28 pm »
I take it that the repairs are effective running in safe mode??   ..or will some repairs not work in safe mode??

Offline Shane

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2015, 05:22:07 pm »
In the newest version of my windows repair I made to where all the repairs will work in safe mode because it enables the services that are needed to be able to run. So now I recommend running it in safe mode because 75% of the time someone tells me a repair is stuck or didnt run it is almost always because of a 3rd party program or antivirus.