Author Topic: IE Fix by Shane  (Read 6672 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7418
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
IE Fix by Shane
« on: February 11, 2015, 09:46:24 AM »
Ref http://www.tweaking.com/forums/index.php/topic,2400.0.html

Original thread too old to post in but instead of uninstalling Internet Explorer (Enable DEP), you can disable it http://www.thewindowsclub.com/disable-data-execution-prevention-internet-explorer

Correction - just checked this in my IE 10 and that option isn't there.

This one may work for you but Windows C: isn't listed in my Win 7 to choose IE http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixtheproblem/ht/depexplorerexe.htm

This one seems more promising for Win 7/8 but I haven't tried it http://www.thewindowsclub.com/disable-data-execution-prevention

Hope these help someone when not being able to upgrade to IE 11 although IE 11 only applies to Win 7 or greater, but disabling DEP may help out for other problems in earlier versions of Windows.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2015, 03:26:33 PM by Boggin »

Offline ComputerJunkie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 34
  • Location: U.S.A.
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 09:02:08 PM »
Ah ha! Maybe DEP is my problem. By default it is enabled on Windows 7, so maybe I need to turn it off in order to get IE 11 to install?

When I first got this laptop, I tried and tried to install IE 11 to no avail, and no help from MS Community either-they didn't even mention DEP to me. And I have been happy with IE 10 so I never tried again.

However, it stands to reason that maybe the opposite is what I need to get IE 11 installed?

This link says to also disable, "Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks", in IE options.
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/disable-data-execution-prevention-internet-explorer

Almost makes me wonder if I want to even bother installing IE 11 when Windows is even recognizing it as "dangerous".  LOL

Maybe, I will try doing this in the next few days; although, I have been SO happy that everything is working so well, it scares me to touch anything! LOL
Stuck with a used HP Elitebook 8740w w/Win 10

RIP:
Valkyrie CZ-17 NE799x
Intel Core i7-3610QM 2.30GHz CPU
-6MB L3 Cache Max Turbo 3.3GHz
G.SKILL 32 GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) RAM
1920 x 1080 LED-backlit LCD Full HD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M (3GB Memory)
Bigfoot Killer E2200 LAN 10/100/1000
Intel N2230 802.11 b/g/n WLAN
Corsair Force 3 240GB SSD
Toshiba 100 ATA 5,400 1TB HDD
3MP 30fps@720p Webcam
HD Realtek w/ THX True Studio Pro 2 speaker w/subwoofer
4-in-1 Card reader
9-cell battery
Windows 7 Ultim

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7418
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 08:36:51 AM »
Just seen your post.

Before making any changes always create a restore point first.

Offline ComputerJunkie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 34
  • Location: U.S.A.
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2015, 01:36:48 AM »
Hi Boggin,

Thanks for the reply. The only thing is that I always have System Restore shut off, basically due to MS's own paid tech support who admittedly agreed that most times System Restore is very faulty. Took $99 several years back, to find that out the hard way and ever since, I don't use it. Then, it took $149 for multiple cases, with MS tech support, just to literally watch them go to Shane's website, download and use Tweaking Windows All-in-one-repair tools. I was like, "Uhhhh..." LOL Out of 5 problems, they did solve 1 problem, I solved 3 myself and 1 never did get solved. But that was then and this is now.

I still haven't tried reinstalling IE 11 because I am afraid of running into all the trouble I had before and 95% UN-confident using System Restore even for this one project. I am doing a few things the last few weeks, so I am about to do another System Image Restore, but after I get that done, maybe then I can try messing with IE 11 and DEP. I have become a Super Computer Junkie these last few months, like on warp speed hahaha

But the biggest lesson I have learned throughout this huge learning curve, is...<drum roll please>...BACKUP, BACKUP, BACKUP!  :cheesy:
Stuck with a used HP Elitebook 8740w w/Win 10

RIP:
Valkyrie CZ-17 NE799x
Intel Core i7-3610QM 2.30GHz CPU
-6MB L3 Cache Max Turbo 3.3GHz
G.SKILL 32 GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) RAM
1920 x 1080 LED-backlit LCD Full HD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M (3GB Memory)
Bigfoot Killer E2200 LAN 10/100/1000
Intel N2230 802.11 b/g/n WLAN
Corsair Force 3 240GB SSD
Toshiba 100 ATA 5,400 1TB HDD
3MP 30fps@720p Webcam
HD Realtek w/ THX True Studio Pro 2 speaker w/subwoofer
4-in-1 Card reader
9-cell battery
Windows 7 Ultim

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7418
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2015, 02:38:53 AM »
I have to use IE 10 because of compatibility problems with my ISP e-mail.

When I've uninstalled IE 11 I've had some difficulty in getting IE 10 reinstated and have noticed that MS no longer provide its usual download for it and the first time around I had to restore with a system image - now when I install IE 11 to see if my ISP has fixed the problem, I always create a restore point first and that has always worked.

Restore points can often pull you out of the mire, but you are right, a regular external system image is always best and is a sure fire way of combatting Ransomware.

If you ever get a restore point failure error, then retry in Safe Mode as it will normally be your AV program interfering.

I've since found a site where I can download IE 10 for Win 7 from, but don't know how long that will be available for. http://superuser.com/questions/837371/does-microsoft-still-have-a-link-to-download-ie10-for-windows-7

Do you get an error code when IE 11 fails to install ?

You could check to see if you have these Windows Updates which are pre-requisites to installing IE 11 https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2847882 but a Google for cannot install ie 11 in win 7 brings up a number of articles which could help.

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2015, 10:46:35 AM »
Hey check out this site. You can get a program here that will help it. I will Download IE 9, 10, 11 and it will help you keep your computer up to date.

http://www.autopatcher.net/

Offline MSRadell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 106
  • Location: Louisville Kentucky
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2015, 04:11:55 PM »
Hey check out this site. You can get a program here that will help it. I will Download IE 9, 10, 11 and it will help you keep your computer up to date.

http://www.autopatcher.net/
Have you tried using this software?  It sounds interesting but I'm always skeptical of software that claims is going to fix everything!
Written using Dragon NaturallySpeaking

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2015, 04:44:18 PM »
Yes I have used it and I'd does not fix any. It just has all the updates that are put out for Windows each month and a few other programs. If you have all ready download all and then save and with do a fresh install of Windows, this program comes in handy. You will not have to run the windows update and download the updates. Just run this program and it will do the updates for you. Very good program. To have on hand.

Offline MSRadell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 106
  • Location: Louisville Kentucky
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IE Fix by Shane
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2015, 04:48:09 PM »
Shane, thanks for the feedback, it does sound like something handy to have in your toolbox.  I'll download it and try it.
Written using Dragon NaturallySpeaking