Author Topic: Computer will not load or go into safe mode  (Read 15782 times)

Offline Siver12

• View Profile
Computer will not load or go into safe mode
« on: February 28, 2018, 04:05:36 pm »
After running one of the programs from Tweaking.com(i don't remember what one) my Desktop computer running Windows 10 home upgraded from Windows 8 can no longer load up. Sometimes it just loops in a black screen, however today I got 2 different color error screens. Both said some thing. Error code Windows.com/stopcode or it was stop something. One screen was blue the other green. But said the same thing.I tried the media creation disk and the rescue disk. Not sure if I downloaded the rescue disk correctly. So I'm completely stuck on what to do. I do have another laptop so I can get programs I may need downloaded. Anyone who can help I would appreciate it. I'm not a complete noob on Computers but not an expert either. So some of the solutions I'm not completely understanding.

Offline Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Computer will not load or go into safe mode
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2018, 01:30:23 am »
The blue screen is known as the Blue Screen Of Death (BSOD) and it's the Stop Error Code that can tell you what has gone wrong.

The green screen I would think would denote a graphics or memory problem - neither of which may relate to running any Tweaking programs.

Can you boot up the machine again to see if you get the blue screen to make a note of the Stop Error Code and post that.

If you don't have a Win 10 install disk or USB you can create one on your other machine after reading the instructions at https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

As you upgraded from Win 8/8.1 then you will most likely have an UEFI BIOS in which you will need to turn off Secure Boot as well as change the boot order for to boot up with install media.

You can get into the BIOS by pressing and holding F2 as you switch on.