Author Topic: Reset IE Search Redirect  (Read 4620 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline atckris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Reset IE Search Redirect
« on: February 07, 2012, 09:17:42 PM »
I have been working on a system that will redirect when you go to Yahoo or Google and type a search, the search will show up, but when you click the one you want, it will redirect to not so nice sites.

I have used Malwarebytes, SuperAntispyware, Spybot, TDSSKiller, Adv. System Care, HijackThis and no help.  I'm sure there is ONE registry key i can delete, but cant find it.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Reset IE Search Redirect
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 10:41:52 PM »
You have a rootkit installed.

When TDSSkiller and malwarebytes doesn't find them I have had combofix find things they didnt. You should run it :wink:

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/combofix/how-to-use-combofix

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset IE Search Redirect
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2012, 08:35:57 AM »
If combofix doesn't find anything, try resetting internet explorer from the advanced tab in internet options.  I have seen this occur after an infection and this always remedies it as long as the machine is clean of viruses.

Offline atckris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset IE Search Redirect
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2012, 05:16:05 PM »
I have asked the customer to run ComboFix and get back to me.  Since it asks to disable Antivirus and go offline i can not do it remotely.  Will get back to you and let you know if it works :-)

 

anything