Author Topic: Registry Backup Beta  (Read 205995 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ztruker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 77
  • Location: Space Coast of Florida
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Registry Backup Beta
« on: May 18, 2012, 05:04:02 PM »
Found a couple problems with Registry Back Beta v0.9.0.

1. The portable versions does not work, has problem with Volume Shadow Copy. Says to check the Help but I can't find any help.
2. The installed version works but does not respect the location I chose to save the backup in. I set it to  D:\Registry Backup\ but it saved the backup in C:\Reg_Backup\.

I setup the scheduler to run at boot so I'll try that next and see what happens.
Rich
The only thing that is certain is that nothing is certain - Heraclitus.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 05:29:25 PM »
Thanks for letting me know :-)

Quote
The portable versions does not work, has problem with Volume Shadow Copy. Says to check the Help but I can't find any help.

Where were you running it from? A network drive or just on the system? When you click backup the program will start the vss_start.exe in the files folder. That will then launch the volume shadow copy service. So I am wondering if for some reason the vss_start.exe didnt get started?

I haven't made the help file yet, waiting till out of beta (Maybe, perhaps I can start building it while in beta) :-) I am gathering feedback and any problems reported to help make the help and f.a.q

Quote
2. The installed version works but does not respect the location I chose to save the backup in. I set it to  D:\Registry Backup\ but it saved the backup in C:\Reg_Backup\.

I just tested and it works for me, can you send me or copy or paste the contents of the settings.ini file in the program folder?

Shane
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 05:39:14 PM by Shane »
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 05:54:26 PM »
Do me a favor and re download the program and install over the one you have.

It is still the same version. I had a miss spelling that was keeping the schedule task from running properly.

I had the silent command as /silent in the program but in the schedule task I had it \silent

So I made a quick change to the exe and the program now supports "/silent" and "\silent" and "-silent"

I didn't want to make a new version number for such a small change. :wink:

Also the scheduled task runs under the system account. So you wont see it run and it is being ran with the highest privileged. Which means running this way it will have access to all user profiles who have their files protected. So this way it can back up those registry profiles as well :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2012, 08:54:52 PM »
I take back the version number lol

v0.9.1 is out :-)

v0.9.1
Fix bug where when running from the task scheduler it wouldn't grab the user profile locations. This is because the program use to pull the current user profile to get the profile directory. When running from the task scheduler it is ran as the system account which is stored in a different location. This is now fixed.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2012, 10:58:58 PM »
I have tried Registry Backup and there a few things that I noticed!
I also write things that have been fixed, but didn't work in the first beta release, maybe someone who reads this have had the same problem, so they see what fixed it.

This work now in 0.9.1!!!
The first time I open "Registry backup" there is only 3 "user registry files", then if I Close and open the program again there is 7 "User registry files".


It took about 70 sec to backup for me then I backup manually! Thats just an observation, nothing wrong with that time!

I have tried to do a backup and then restore it and it worked!  :cheesy:

These three things are rather unimportant but:
Under "Backup Location" if I have checked "Change backup location" and clicked on the button "Choose folder to store backups" I would like it to start at the latest folder that I have choosen.

Under "Backup Location" again if I have checked "Change backup location" and I have clicked on the text and the text cursor are blinking I also would like to write the backup location and be able to create a folder from there not having to go thru the "Explorer".

In "Check for updates" under settings it says, "Check for program updates at startup", you mean at startup of this program (Registry Backup) not Windows startup (so that you add something to run in the registry)?



If I create a schedule in "scheduling options" and close the option, then I open the "Task scheduler" and change "configure for" from: "Windows server 2003, Windows Xp or Windows 2000" to "Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2", then in Scheduling options under settings in registry backup I tried to click on edit it says: Couldn't find Schedule.  Maybe I shouldn't change "configure for" to windows 7?

This work now in 0.9.1!
Backup by using "Task scheduler" doesn't work for me. Then I look in "Process explorer" under taskeng.exe the TweakingRegistryBackup.exe start but it doesn't do anything. I have tried to change options in Task scheduler but nothing helps. I can do a backup manually and "Volume Shadow Copy" works.


This works then I restart the computer!!!
I have noticed when Task schedueler are finished with the backup so I see in Process explorer that the cpu on " TweakingRegistryBackup.exe" are at 25% and vss_start.exe at 0.1% and it doesn't stop.



In "Log_VSS" I see that then I do a backup it deletes all shadow copies:
(Option: Delete all shadow copies)
This will delete all shadow copies in the system. Are you sure? [Y/N]
- Setting the VSS context to: 0xffffffff
- Deleting shadow copy {b312b803-f794-4726-980f-2ddbc21f47a2} on \\?\Volume{ac49bd0f-c993-11e0-a094-806e6f6e6963}\ from provider {b5946137-7b9f-4925-af80-51abd60b20d5} [0x0042000d]...


I have used erunt a few weeks ago when things got wrong in the registry and it worked fine. This program seems to be even better and it looks good and are easy to use.   :smiley: :cheesy:

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2012, 09:35:15 AM »
Quote
This work now in 0.9.1!!!
The first time I open "Registry backup" there is only 3 "user registry files", then if I Close and open the program again there is 7 "User registry files"

This was an odd bug. While it got better in 0.9.1 I think I have it fully fixed in 0.9.2.
The program loads an API to get a folder list. For some odd reason at random times the API gets stuck and keeps returning the same folder name. I made my own code to handle it if it does it again. So far so good :-)

Quote
It took about 70 sec to backup for me then I backup manually! Thats just an observation, nothing wrong with that time!

Backup times will vary per machine because it is waiting for the volume shadow copy service to make a snapshot.

Quote
These three things are rather unimportant but:
Under "Backup Location" if I have checked "Change backup location" and clicked on the button "Choose folder to store backups" I would like it to start at the latest folder that I have choosen.

Under "Backup Location" again if I have checked "Change backup location" and I have clicked on the text and the text cursor are blinking I also would like to write the backup location and be able to create a folder from there not having to go thru the "Explorer".

In "Check for updates" under settings it says, "Check for program updates at startup", you mean at startup of this program (Registry Backup) not Windows startup (so that you add something to run in the registry)?

All fixed for you in v0.9.2 :wink:

Quote
If I create a schedule in "scheduling options" and close the option, then I open the "Task scheduler" and change "configure for" from: "Windows server 2003, Windows Xp or Windows 2000" to "Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2", then in Scheduling options under settings in registry backup I tried to click on edit it says: Couldn't find Schedule.  Maybe I shouldn't change "configure for" to windows 7?

Just leave it the default and it will still work fine.

Quote
This work now in 0.9.1!
Backup by using "Task scheduler" doesn't work for me. Then I look in "Process explorer" under taskeng.exe the TweakingRegistryBackup.exe start but it doesn't do anything. I have tried to change options in Task scheduler but nothing helps. I can do a backup manually and "Volume Shadow Copy" works.

That was a spelling mistake that I have fixed. I had the program set to use "/silent" and in the schedule I had it "\silent"
I changed the program to support "/silent", "\silent" and "-silent"

Quote
This works then I restart the computer!!!
I have noticed when Task schedueler are finished with the backup so I see in Process explorer that the cpu on " TweakingRegistryBackup.exe" are at 25% and vss_start.exe at 0.1% and it doesn't stop.

The program taking up that much is one of 2 things. 1. its doing the file copy, which wont take long. 2. it could have been the bug that is hopefully fixed where it would get stuck in a loop trying to search for folders.

Quote
In "Log_VSS" I see that then I do a backup it deletes all shadow copies:
(Option: Delete all shadow copies)
This will delete all shadow copies in the system. Are you sure? [Y/N]
- Setting the VSS context to: 0xffffffff
- Deleting shadow copy {b312b803-f794-4726-980f-2ddbc21f47a2} on \\?\Volume{ac49bd0f-c993-11e0-a094-806e6f6e6963}\ from provider {b5946137-7b9f-4925-af80-51abd60b20d5} [0x0042000d]...

I have it do this by default for 2 reasons.

1. If a backup failed we want to get rid of the old snapshot.
2. We dont want to use any old snap shots or we may get older files.

0.9.2 is out :cheesy:

v0.9.2
Small bug fix where the program would sometimes get stuck in a loop when loading the treeview.
The backup location setting can now be typed in instead of just using the browse button.
The backup location browse button will now default to what ever backup location is currently set.
Spelling changes.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2012, 10:47:50 AM »
Ok I have tried 0.9.2 now!

Is there any possibility of choosing whether I want to keep the old files in the shadow copies, because I've been saved by it several times when I have deleted files by mistake.

Quote
"The backup location setting can now be typed in instead of just using the browse button."
It doesn't create any folder then I type there.

Quote
"The backup location browse button will now default to what ever backup location is currently set."
This works!

Quote
"Small bug fix where the program would sometimes get stuck in a loop when loading the treeview."
This seems to work (all the time I have tested)

I have deleted the old schedule and created a new, and then I go to Task Scheduler and run Registry Backup( I haven't rebooted yet) if Registry Backup program is open the vss_start.exe, cmd.exe, vss_7_64.exe, cmd.exe and vss_pause.exe don't use so much cpu, around 0.25%, it makes o backup, but it doesn't stop. And the vss_start.exe isn't under taskeng.exe. If I close Registry Backup vss_start.exe disappears.

If I go to Task Scheduler after closing Registry backup and run Registry Backup the TweakingRegistryBackup.exe starts under taskeng.exe with vss_start.exe, cmd.exe and vss_7_64.exe and vss_7_64.exe uses around 25% cpu but all of them disapperars then they are finished.

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2012, 11:02:53 AM »
Quote
It doesn't create any folder then I type there.

It will create it when you do a backup :wink:

Quote
I have deleted the old schedule and created a new, and then I go to Task Scheduler and run Registry Backup( I haven't rebooted yet) if Registry Backup program is open the vss_start.exe, cmd.exe, vss_7_64.exe, cmd.exe and vss_pause.exe don't use so much cpu, around 0.25%, it makes o backup, but it doesn't stop. And the vss_start.exe isn't under taskeng.exe. If I close Registry Backup vss_start.exe disappears.

If I go to Task Scheduler after closing Registry backup and run Registry Backup the TweakingRegistryBackup.exe starts under taskeng.exe with vss_start.exe, cmd.exe and vss_7_64.exe and vss_7_64.exe uses around 25% cpu but all of them disapperars then they are finished.

When you start the program and click backup the program will run vss_start.exe. This then runs the vss exe for the system. When the snapshot is made the vss_pause.exe runs. This keeps the snap shot.

The vss_start.exe looks if the Registry backup program is running. If it isnt it closes the vss_pause. Which then allows the snap shot to close and be done. At which point you see the rest of the exe's close and vss_start closes itself.

The vss exe that is making the snap shot will uses some cpu as it is building the snap shot.

Once the snap shot is made the program starts copying the files from the snap shot, so you will see the program use as much cpu as it can as it copies the files as fast as it can.

Once everything is done you see everything go back to normal. The vss_start stays running until the backup program is closed. So if you clicked backup again without restarting it the backup would be very fast as the snapshot is still made. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2012, 11:26:03 AM »
Quote
Quote
It doesn't create any folder then I type there.
Quote
It will create it when you do a backup

It didn't work. I tried to do a backup after I changed the pathway, but it did a backup in the previous one(C:\Reg_Backup\) not in C:\Reg_Backup2\ that I tried.
The next time I open the Registry Backup program it didn't remeber that I wrote in "change backup location".

Quote
When you start the program and click backup the program will run vss_start.exe. This then runs the vss exe for the system. When the snapshot is made the vss_pause.exe runs. This keeps the snap shot.

The vss_start.exe looks if the Registry backup program is running. If it isnt it closes the vss_pause. Which then allows the snap shot to close and be done. At which point you see the rest of the exe's close and vss_start closes itself.

The vss exe that is making the snap shot will uses some cpu as it is building the snap shot.

Once the snap shot is made the program starts copying the files from the snap shot, so you will see the program use as much cpu as it can as it copies the files as fast as it can.

Once everything is done you see everything go back to normal. The vss_start stays running until the backup program is closed. So if you clicked backup again without restarting it the backup would be very fast as the snapshot is still made.

Ok I see that now!  :smiley:

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2012, 12:35:57 PM »
Quote
It didn't work. I tried to do a backup after I changed the pathway, but it did a backup in the previous one(C:\Reg_Backup\) not in C:\Reg_Backup2\ that I tried.
The next time I open the Registry Backup program it didn't remeber that I wrote in "change backup location".

That is because I am a dork lol

Thats what I get for programming before coffee. As soon as I woke up and read your post I started making the changes.

I forgot to put any code behind the text box being typed into. I updated the exe, just redownload it. Still the same version.

I also found the bug Ztruker said he had. The browse button didnt have the flag to set the backup path variable in the program. But when you restarted the program it worked fine.

I fixed that as well. Just had to add this to the browse button, and of course it is also added to the textbox when typing :-)

    If Trim$(TextBackupPath.Text) = "" Then
        sBackupPath = App.Path & "\Backups\"
    Else
        sBackupPath = TextBackupPath.Text
    End If

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Ztruker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 77
  • Location: Space Coast of Florida
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2012, 01:39:21 PM »
Hi Shane, thanks for the quick response.

I installed 0.9.2 over 0.9.0 and the selected backup location is now working.

Scheduled task never seems to complete. I deleted the scheduled task, created a new one and will try it again.

This is under Windows 7 Pro X64 on a Dell Precision 370 P4 3.4Ghz (dual threaded), 4GB RAM
Rich
The only thing that is certain is that nothing is certain - Heraclitus.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2012, 02:20:13 PM »
Let me know how the schedule task goes :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Ztruker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 77
  • Location: Space Coast of Florida
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2012, 07:56:13 PM »
It looks like the scheduled backup completed but the task itself never terminated and was stopped when it reached it's max run time which I set to 30 minutes.




I just ran it again by starting it from the Task Scheduler and it ran and completed quickly.


Code: [Select]
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:58 PM 102 Task completed (2) 5d386e9c-22c0-4527-99fa-d684951c8592
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:58 PM 201 Action completed (2) 5d386e9c-22c0-4527-99fa-d684951c8592
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:29 PM 129 Created Task Process Info
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:29 PM 200 Action started (1) 5d386e9c-22c0-4527-99fa-d684951c8592
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:29 PM 100 Task Started (1) 5d386e9c-22c0-4527-99fa-d684951c8592
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:29 PM 319 Task Engine received message to start task (1)
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:29 PM 110 Task triggered by user Info 5d386e9c-22c0-4527-99fa-d684951c8592
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:13 PM 129 Created Task Process Info
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:13 PM 200 Action started (1) 4bceecc6-3749-4aa3-9856-a9a4dc36c762
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:13 PM 100 Task Started (1) 4bceecc6-3749-4aa3-9856-a9a4dc36c762
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:13 PM 319 Task Engine received message to start task (1)
Information 5/19/2012 10:42:13 PM 110 Task triggered by user Info 4bceecc6-3749-4aa3-9856-a9a4dc36c762

I'll try it again from a boot and see what happens.
Rich
The only thing that is certain is that nothing is certain - Heraclitus.

Offline Ztruker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 77
  • Location: Space Coast of Florida
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2012, 08:15:18 PM »
Scheduled backup not working correctly or at least not ending. I rebooted at 10:58, here is the Task log:

Code: [Select]
Information 5/19/2012 10:58:52 PM 129 Created Task Process Info
Information 5/19/2012 10:58:51 PM 200 Action started (1) 79f591a5-e685-4d27-ad3a-14aa4716c9ba
Information 5/19/2012 10:58:51 PM 100 Task Started (1) 79f591a5-e685-4d27-ad3a-14aa4716c9ba
Information 5/19/2012 10:58:51 PM 319 Task Engine received message to start task (1)
Information 5/19/2012 10:58:51 PM 118 Task triggered by computer startup Info 79f591a5-e685-4d27-ad3a-14aa4716c9ba

It has not completed as far as I can tell and it's not 11:15PM.. No new backup in D:\Registry Backups and nothing in Log_Backup.txt to show it';s even started.

Works correctly if I start it from the Task Scheduler under my own account but doesn't seem to run right when run under SYSTEM.
Rich
The only thing that is certain is that nothing is certain - Heraclitus.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup Beta
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2012, 10:15:09 PM »
I know what is happening. In silent mode if the vss service fails to run the program doesn't close. It is set to close after the backup. But if vss fails it doesn't do the backup.

In the next version I will have it to where it will close if it fails as well. :wink:

Run it again from startup and if it doesnt close check the vss_log.txt and let me know what it says if anything.

The logs are deleted and recreated for each backup. So see if the date modified on the file is correct.

The schedule is working on my windows 7 64 bit under system, but I have UAC turned off. Is your UAC on?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

 

anything