Author Topic: (SOLVED) BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.  (Read 17295 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
(SOLVED) BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« on: March 10, 2015, 04:01:07 AM »
Position as on 13.02.2015

My Toshiba Satellite A100 - PSAAKL - 00M008 runs on genuine Windows Vista Home Basic - SP2 with auto updates enabled and is up-to-date. Though the system is slow (old model), and the Bios is 2007, there has been no major problem. However, when I tried to install zte data card Ac2739, windows consistently blue screens. I've ascertained that there's no problem with the data card itself. I have done the memory test, checkdisc, and sfc /scannow, but no issues. I've tried to install it in Safe Mode, Clean Boot Mode and with Avast disabled, but no go. Whocrashed says the probable culprit is cdrom.sys, but the installed driver version (2006) is the latest one. I've  disabled the driver and tried to install the data card, but still the same result.
The USB port is ok, since I am using it to access GPRS through my phone.

I ran Driver Verfier for 48 hours continously, but no BSOD.

Position as on  09.03.2015

As a last resort, I re-installed Vista from my OEM disk - with no service packs. Still, the BSOD occurs when I try to install the modem. I think Vista is causing the BSOD by trying to install the wrong drivers. I've tried to prevent Vista from installing drivers by selecting the "do not install drivers" option from "Advanced System Settings - Hardware",but Vista still tries to install drivers, which results in an immediate BSOD. I've got the Reliance Netconnect software with drivers, but Windows is doing its own driver installation and BSODing.

There is another problem, doesn't seem to be related. After the Original 512 MB RAM failed, I've been using a 1 GB RAM in one of the slots. Now, because of the increased load, I've added another 1 GB RAM to the other slot, but both the BIOS and Windows show only 1 GB RAM. I've ascertained that both the sticks and both the slots work fine. Speccy and CPU-z also report 2GB RAM.I couldn't find any update for the bios.

I have uploaded the latest specs and mimidumps.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
Rama.

http://speccy.piriform.com/results/FK4TMhaINdRZasO3ZVEINUZ
« Last Edit: March 14, 2015, 10:39:19 AM by rama »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2015, 03:00:03 PM »
Rather odd that the cdrom.sys is causing the crash, that is a very basic driver file, unless it is infected or not the right version of the file.

Have you ran TDSSKiller yet by any chance?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7568
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2015, 03:35:35 PM »
When you boot up into Safe Mode you should be using the on board VGA.

In that mode go to Device Manager/Display Drivers and see if right clicking on the original graphics and selecting Disable allows you to install the new card.

It's a waste of time trying the Uninstall as Windows will probably reinstate it on the reboot.

As for the RAM - does your msconfig have a Max Memory check box - came across the same Vista problem (Google) where unchecking that box resolved so that Windows recognized both sticks.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 03:46:31 PM by Boggin »

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2015, 06:37:12 PM »
Thank you Shane and Boggin for your inputs. I had indeed run TDSSKiller before re-installing Vista, and it found no infection. As for as cdrom.sys is concerned, the driver is fresh from the re-install from the OEM original DVD.

I went to safe mode and disabled the display driver and inserted the modem. Still the same BSOD blaming cdrom.sys.

 msconfig does have a Max Memory check box, which was already unchecked. When I checked it, it showed 800 something and wouldn't go up by clicking the button. When I physically entered 1900, it returned to 800 something. There is no memory options in the BIOS.

Regarding BSOD, is there a way to actually stop auto-installation of drivers, and force it to install the drivers I have?

Regards,
Rama.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2015, 09:51:25 PM »
Thank you Shane for the input. I had already seen that post, but it won't work, because Home basic editions don't have Group Policy Editor (gpedit.msc) installed. There is a patch for that, but I don't want to try it, because I don't know typing, and am not comfortable with patching. However, I will post the link here in case it benefits somebody else.

Regards,
Rama

http://www.askvg.com/how-to-enable-group-policy-editor-gpedit-msc-in-windows-7-home-premium-home-basic-and-starter-editions/

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2015, 08:46:08 AM »
I have actually used that gpedit file downloaded from that site, it doesn't patch any files, it simply adds the files that are needed for gpedit :-)

What I normally like to do is find which registry keys are set when setting something in gpedit so I can just make a reg file for it instead. When I have some free time in the next few days I could load up vista in vmware, do a reg snap shot before hand, do the gpedit and then do another reg snap shot and look for the changes and see if I can find the registry keys it changes (If any)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2015, 11:15:18 AM »
Thank you Shane for the info. I guess I was taken in by the patching disclaimer at the top of the page, and didn't read the post carefully. I have now downloaded and run the file, which installed  gpedit without any problem. However, my (Vista) version doesn't have any "Device Installation" folder under Computer Configuration->Administrative Templates->System, nor any option for "Prevent Installation of Devices not described by other policy settings". The only relevant option it has is "turn off windows update device driver search prompt". I enabled this, but as it pertains to update, it seems to be no use at the present situation.

Regards,
Rama.

Offline HeyRoxie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2015, 06:06:08 PM »
Hi gentleman.. here is a fix for you...

enter through safe mode.. ..go to the device Mgr.. and update NetWork CONTROLLER.. (it will be down) also remove Atheros driver ,,it is causing a conflict I believe with the lastest updates from OS.. IF  you have IE 9.. that is corrupt and with corrupt the shell32 and you will than learn how to takeown if you do not have a system image or start up disk (like me)  :tongue: 

update your display driver.. and you may have to do this a few times.. if you can not go in by safe mode.. go in safe mode with access to CMD.. .. when you get in and it looks stable run sfc /scannow for elevated cmd prompt.. it will fit the disk and you will be able to see if IE errored out ..IF all the last updates did not load.. you will need the repeat the above.. each time you get BSOD...so make a back up when you can in between each download.. and I limited my downloads to 5 each run.. it does logged the system as much//

let me know if this helps... it has for everyone I past this on to.. I have learned a lot in the last few days

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2015, 04:44:34 AM »
Thank you very much for the input, you certainly have the right idea. Since Windows has been reporting that the drivers are up to date, I ran a free Driver Manager called "Drive The Life" to scan the drivers. Sure enough, it pinpointed the 3 drivers you mentioned ( NIC, Atheros and Display) plus one motherboard driver as needing repair. It downloaded them and installed, but the Display driver is not digitally signed and needs restart, so I restarted and inserted the  modem - BSOD. So next time I inserted the  modem without restarting - again BSOD. After some trials, I found out that Windows reinstalls the old display driver when it reboots. Finally I just uninstalled all the 3 items in safe mode and inserted the modem without giving Windows a chance to reinstall them - still the same old BSOD blaming cdrom.sys. I don't understand how a freshly installed OS can have driver errors.

Also, please clarify whether the other people had problem installing the modem, or running it after installation.

Regarding the other points, after reinstallation of Vista, there's no IE in the laptop.

I ran sfc /scannow. Here's the info about "can not repair". I think we can safely ignore the "gpedit" entries, since they were created yesterday only. I don't understand any of the others, and somebody knowledgeable will have to interpret them.

Regards,
Rama



POQ 51 ends.
2015-03-13 16:39:13, Info                  CSI    00000132 [SR] Verify complete
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000133 [SR] Repairing 4 components
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000134 [SR] Beginning Verify and Repair transaction
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000135 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-fde_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_a5d5397a5ec02105\fde.dll do not match actual file [l:14{7}]"fde.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:ofJrYBMvfbcRFAtPFwvTqckgU78Xi+9tWAnhLEg79/w=} Expected: {l:32 b:CZev8RyTePmcz/iNnXxsP21L7UrUSFJLD/c3nLJjKmd=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000136 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:14{7}]"fde.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-fde, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000137 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-fdeploy_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_dd7ed04153d3440b\fdeploy.dll do not match actual file [l:22{11}]"fdeploy.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:X2Mxr15BWaSKXy2mybUslwVk9Y/FqInLy5D57coBHZA=} Expected: {l:32 b:h/n4DaywC5cZowEPvzatqmZJqn3OAVxEom2aWKV56Vx=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000138 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:22{11}]"fdeploy.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-fdeploy, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000139 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-grouppolicy-gptext_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_35190a8e921bbf42\gptext.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"gptext.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:4R/wpzngnfdc0a94M7qP6Hg+i5N+LV89wlqPbSNLqTt=} Expected: {l:32 b:nHTHvUBGGBqit4oUTvrcam63/8I5zfU11jkc5Iw01Y8=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    0000013a [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20{10}]"gptext.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-GroupPolicy-Gptext, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    0000013b Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-g..policy-admin-gpedit_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_cbfb6a9967fc57b1\gpedit.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"gpedit.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:kr66STTQJj/SGCfMluAmidqauu1XH+iINrNGn3DUoo7=} Expected: {l:32 b:YRuQ0/4v6elpjn/fZ1RsgTAHbfRMZUm7+4XQcKq14T6=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    0000013c [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20{10}]"gpedit.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-GroupPolicy-Admin-Gpedit, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    0000013d Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-grouppolicy-gptext_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_35190a8e921bbf42\gptext.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"gptext.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:4R/wpzngnfdc0a94M7qP6Hg+i5N+LV89wlqPbSNLqTt=} Expected: {l:32 b:nHTHvUBGGBqit4oUTvrcam63/8I5zfU11jkc5Iw01Y8=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    0000013e [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20{10}]"gptext.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-GroupPolicy-Gptext, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    0000013f Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-g..policy-admin-gpedit_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_cbfb6a9967fc57b1\gpedit.dll do not match actual file [l:20{10}]"gpedit.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:kr66STTQJj/SGCfMluAmidqauu1XH+iINrNGn3DUoo7=} Expected: {l:32 b:YRuQ0/4v6elpjn/fZ1RsgTAHbfRMZUm7+4XQcKq14T6=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000140 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20{10}]"gpedit.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-GroupPolicy-Admin-Gpedit, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000141 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-fdeploy_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_dd7ed04153d3440b\fdeploy.dll do not match actual file [l:22{11}]"fdeploy.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:X2Mxr15BWaSKXy2mybUslwVk9Y/FqInLy5D57coBHZA=} Expected: {l:32 b:h/n4DaywC5cZowEPvzatqmZJqn3OAVxEom2aWKV56Vx=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000142 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:22{11}]"fdeploy.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-fdeploy, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000143 Hashes for file member \SystemRoot\WinSxS\x86_microsoft-windows-fde_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.16386_none_a5d5397a5ec02105\fde.dll do not match actual file [l:14{7}]"fde.dll" :
  Found: {l:32 b:ofJrYBMvfbcRFAtPFwvTqckgU78Xi+9tWAnhLEg79/w=} Expected: {l:32 b:CZev8RyTePmcz/iNnXxsP21L7UrUSFJLD/c3nLJjKmd=}
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000144 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:14{7}]"fde.dll" of Microsoft-Windows-fde, Version = 6.0.6000.16386, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_INTEL (0), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral in the store, hash mismatch
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000145 Repair results created:
POQ 52 starts:
 
POQ 52 ends.
2015-03-13 16:39:14, Info                  CSI    00000146 [SR] Repair complete

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7568
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2015, 05:25:40 PM »
Doing an offboot sfc /scannow can work in Win 7 when the one run in Windows is unable to repair all files so give this a go.

Your install disk would need to match the current state of the installed Vista - i.e. if it has the SPs then the install disk must be SP2, otherwise you would need to reinstall from scratch, which could fix it anyway.

However, all things being equal, boot up with the install disk and navigate to where you can select Repair your Computer and then onto the Recovery Environment.

Select Command Prompt and enter bcdedit |find "osdevice"

Using whichever partition letter, enter (assuming c) sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\ /offwindir=C:\Windows and see what that reports.

Just in case it isn't clear, that's a Pipe symbol before find and there's a space before each forward slash.

Enter exit to close the command window, remove the install disk and Restart.

You could still get the gpedit errors as they aren't native to Vista, so perhaps using a restore point prior to adding those may help - unless it was adding gpedit that has caused the other errors.

To eliminate that, use your restore points to prior adding gpedit and run the sfc /scannow again or a chkdsk /f.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 05:33:52 PM by Boggin »

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2015, 10:32:30 AM »
Even once again reinstalling Vista and immediately trying to install the modem in safe mode resulted in the same old BSOD. It looked more and more likely that Vista is messing up things. Having struggled with this for a month, I decided enough is enough, and installed Windows 7, which had no problem in installing the modem even in regular mode.

I'd like to record my heartfelt gratitude to Shane, Boggin and Heyroxie for taking the time and effort to help me out.

I had posted this problem at http://www.vistax64.com/crashes-debugging/303557-bsod-installing-zte-data-card-ac2739.html some weeks back. The thread has had more than 1700 views, whish shows the keen interest this problem has created. I'll post there and give a link to this thread, so that more people come to know about this place and utilize it.

Regarding memory non-detection problem, in the absence of other explanations, we can attribute it to the very old BIOS, and leave it at that.

Thank you once again, one and all.

Regards, 
Rama.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7568
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: (SOLVED) BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2015, 02:44:51 PM »
I think that was a good decision  :cheesy:

Offline rama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: (SOLVED) BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2015, 11:00:12 PM »
Thank you Boggin.

I posted at the other forum immediately after posting here, but that post has been removed, and I didn't get any messages. Being a Vista forum, may be they were reluctant to let it be known how Vista failed, and there was no help.

I noticed a curious thing about the memory . In Vista, like I said, the Max Memory box won't go above  800 something, and in Windows 7 it won't go above 1024. May be somebody has an insight into this.

Regards,
Rama.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7568
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: (SOLVED) BSOD on installing zte data card Ac2739.
« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2015, 01:53:00 AM »
I don't have a max memory option in my Win 7 msconfig and thought from the Google I'd found, that this was just a Vista thing.

Some forums won't allow references to other forums threads and is probably why your post was removed - have you checked their forum's T&Cs ?