Author Topic: Window Repair 1.9.2  (Read 50245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Window Repair 1.9.2
« on: November 27, 2012, 09:45:19 AM »
WR v1.92 has a counting error/problem. When I tick a number of "File Associations" (let's assume 6) and hit "Start" then WR fails to count the proper amount of repair jobs. The counter will say that there're (6 plus 1=) 7 jobs to be performed. And then the counter will stop at "6/7".

I know why this happens. As soon as the user has ticked - at least - one of the "file associations" boxes then the box "Repair File associations" will be ticked as well. And that will be counted as an extra repair job. Hence the mismatch between the counter and the total amount of ticked boxes.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2012, 02:29:33 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Window Repair 1.92
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 02:43:57 PM »
Bah! I thought I covered everything lol.

Thankfully I have you to find the things I miss :-)

I will get it fixed :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Window Repair 1.92
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 02:48:42 PM »
OK easy fix. Instead of doing v1.9.3 I will just update the setup of 1.9.2 so you will need to redownload it to get the new exe. Give it a bit before you do as it takes time for the mirrors to update.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2012, 02:28:48 PM »
Here're more suggestions for WR v1.9.2:
1. Move "Reset Window Services to default" to the end of the list of repair jobs. Perhaps other repair jobs could have switched off one or more services and not switch those services back on. That's why moving that repair job to the end of the list could be a good thing. (at least, when the user wants those services to be set to their default.)

If I had the program code for the repair jobs then I could check which services are switched on again or not. I know that a number of services are dependent on other services and these services are therefore switched off as well. But are those dependent services switched on again ?

2. Perhaps you need to update/increase the amount of services that are set to their default value now Windows 8 has been introduced ? Does Black Viper (www.blackviper.com) have those (new) Win 8 services available ?

3. Question: Do you know which repair job in WR has an impact on the Win 7 wallpaper changer ? I ran WR (with a lot of boxes ticked) and suddenly the Win 7 wallpaper changer started working again (for a while at least). At least, I hope WR, at this particular issue, can make a difference.

4. Perhaps you need to block/grey out the button "Stop" as well as soon as the user has hit that button and WR is in the process of finishing the current active repair job ? After all, WR does display the message "Waiting for current repair to finish...".
« Last Edit: December 16, 2012, 06:06:36 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2012, 02:51:25 PM »
I came across this program that supposedly fixes a number of errors in the windows task scheduler. Perhaps your able/willing to integrate it in WR ? Perhaps the author will allow you to integrate it into WR ? I ran the program because I have a number of small Task Scheduler issues (not anything fatal but merely annoying) and it said it had fixed 7 errors.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System-Miscellaneous/Fix-My-Task-Scheduler.shtml

According to one source a file called "schedsvc.dll" is involved in the functioning of Task Scheduler. Perhaps registering that file (again) could solve a number of Task Scheduler issues ? Does WR register this file ?

http://www.win7dll.info/schedsvc_dll.html
http://www.win7dll.info/

But I didn't find that file (schedsvc.dll) in any of the system file directories. I found it in "c:\windows\winsxs\" subfolders four times. Weird !
« Last Edit: December 16, 2012, 07:47:08 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2012, 03:08:56 PM »
"schedsvc.dll" is in the system32 dir and I checked and it doesnt have any reg info so regerstering it doesnt work. As for the program I looked at it but it doesnt say what it is doing.

Quote
3. Question: Do you know which repair job in WR has an impact on the Win 7 wallpaper changer ? I ran WR (with a lot of boxes ticked) and suddenly the Win 7 wallpaper changer started working again (for a while at least). At least, I hope WR, at this particular issue, can make a difference.

Hard to tell. Could have been the permissions and the reg system files might have done it :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2012, 02:53:02 PM »
I can't find "Schedsvc.dll" in the "system32" folder. I have made a shortcut to Task Scheduler and it opens a file called "Taskschd.msc". Weird.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2012, 06:39:23 AM »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair v1.9.2
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2013, 12:40:40 AM »
 I know I have send you an email with the info below but in order to make sure you've got the right info, I post the info once more. I think I made a small error in the email.

Replace this code from "Register System files":

regsvr32.exe /s "C:\Windows\System32\Flash10t.ocx" 2>> C:\Tweaking.com_Windows_Repair_Logs\_Windows_Repair_Log.txt
regsvr32.exe /s "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Flash10t.ocx" 2>> C:\Tweaking.com_Windows_Repair_Logs\_Windows_Repair_Log.txt


with:

for %%i in (%windir%\system32\Macromed\Flash\*.*) do regsvr32 /s %%i
for %%i in (%windir%\sysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\*.*) do regsvr32 /s %%i


Is it possible to add that command/switch that pushes the response of MSDOS to the WR log file ?
Note that there's only one switch ("/s"). The (missing) switch "/u" is meant to unregister a file ?
I use the "for ........... do .......... " command because the filename(s) change with every new version of Flash. Some files don't need registration and won't be registered. But MSDOS doesn't bother and simply moves on.
Perhaps the other files (e.g. *.cpl files) in the sysWOW64 folder need registration as well ?

When I installed the lastest version of Flash the following info showed up in the install log file.

=O====== M/11.5.502.135 2013-01-03+15-58-25.760 ========
0000 00000010 C:\Users\BRSLIM~1\AppData\Local\Temp\FlashPlayerUpdate.exe
0001 00000020 C:\Windows\SysWOW64\FlashPlayerCPLApp.cpl
0002 00000011 1
0003 00000013 C:\Windows\SysWOW6\Macromed\Flash\Flash32_11_5_502_135.ocx
0004 00000015 C:\Windows\SysWOW64Macromed\Flash\FlashUtil32_11_5_502_135_ActiveX.exe
0005 00000016 C:\Windows\SysWOW64Macromed\Flash\FlashUtil32_11_5_502_135_ActiveX.dll
0006 00000023 C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\activex.vch
0007 00000019 C:\Windows\SysWOW64\FlashPlayerCPLApp.cpl
0008 [W] 00001024 C:\Windows\SysWOW64\FlashPlayerCPLApp.cpl 183
0009 [W] 00001024 C:\Windows\SysWOW64\FlashPlayerApp.exe 183
0010 00000021 C:\Windows\SysWOW64Macromed\Flash\FlashPlayerUpdateService.exe
0011 [W] 00001024 C:\Windows\SysWOW64Macromed\Flash\FlashPlayerUpdateService.exe 183
0012 00000012
=X====== M/11.5.502.135 2013-01-03+15-59-13.706 ========
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 06:48:29 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2013, 02:50:00 PM »
I have it in my notes :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2013, 06:54:37 AM »
Perhaps "Register System Files" needs to include, besides the Flash files mentioned in an earlier post in this thread, a number of other Adobe files as well ? Keywords "Adobe Shockwave player". The pictures in the attachment give a good indication where those files are "hiding". The Shockwave folders have a number of subfolders as well and contain some 20 files (e.g. *.x32 and *.dll)

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2013, 12:59:01 PM »
The repair is for Windows system files. DO you think adobe should be in it as well? Or instead have a new repair added just for adobe flash and shockwave?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2013, 02:16:14 PM »
Excellent question !!! And I fail to come up with a good answer. So, I posted questions out on the Piriform forum.

http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=34060&#entry228296
http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=28752&st=40#entry228281
http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=28752

I also send "pwillener" a personal message. He's a volunteer for the "Adobe Help" forum. (Send him  an email ???)
http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showuser=698

Just see what the responses are. How often do YOU come across problems with Flash & Shockwave ?

This is my personal opinion at this moment:
If Shockwave isn't used that often then you simply could add Adobe's Flash to "Register System Files". Otherwise it makes sense to add an extra "Adobe only" (shockwave + Flash) repair job.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2013, 02:30:58 PM »
I rarely run into flash problems.

Lets see what others say :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Window Repair 1.9.2
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2013, 04:11:35 AM »
There were three replies to the "Adobe & Shockwave" issue on the Piriform forum. See the links above. Just register the Adobe Flash files only in the "Register system files" and forget about (re-)registering Shockwave.