Author Topic: Beta Repair System Restore  (Read 107416 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #75 on: August 20, 2014, 03:44:27 PM »
Ah I see.

My goal is for people who's system restore isnt working to try it and see if it fixes it. MS provides no info on system restore or what it needs, so it has been a rather slow task trying to trace it down and see what is needed to make a proper repair for it.

And to make things more fun, I have found that system restore completely changes in each version of windows with what services and files it uses. Fun fun lol

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline nemesis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #76 on: September 27, 2014, 02:44:08 AM »
Hello to everybody.Please help.reset system permission failed:Starting Repairs...
   Started at (27/9/2014 12:11:46 μμ)

   Done, but failed, at (27/9/2014 12:12:18 μμ)
   Total Repair Time: 00:00:37

The current repair has failed to start 5 times.
Something is keeping the repair from running.
Please post in the Tweaking.com forums for support.

   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account

The current repair has failed to start for over 30 sec.
Trying Again....

   Running Repair Under System Account

The current repair has failed to start for over 30 sec.
Trying Again....

   Running Repair Under System Account

The current repair has failed to start for over 30 sec.
Trying Again....

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #77 on: September 29, 2014, 10:17:01 AM »
If you are having trouble with the program then please start a new thread. Also make sure your antivirus is disabled when you run the repairs incase it is keeping the tweaking_ras.exe from running the repair under the system account.

Start a new thread and I will help you there :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Cyborgjimi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #78 on: October 02, 2014, 02:19:08 AM »
In Tweaking.com - Windows Repair All In One v1.9.3 I have added a beta repair to repair the system restore for Vista, 7 & 8.

Please post your results here on how the repair went for you. :wink:

Shane
system error 1060 it says, I am dim in the field of what any of this means so I assume that it wasn't fixed, I can't copy the log to send you it, it won't let me, or I just don't know how to do it.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #79 on: October 02, 2014, 12:06:56 PM »
Quote
system error 1060 it says, I am dim in the field of what any of this means so I assume that it wasn't fixed, I can't copy the log to send you it, it won't let me, or I just don't know how to do it

The volume shadow copy service is missing on your system. In the Windows Repair try running all the repairs instead of the beta repair. Make sure to run them all :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline bebeblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #80 on: January 20, 2015, 07:14:59 PM »
THANK YOU THANK YOU ... I have  tried everything to get my system restore to work again ... this little beta fix did the trick.  I still have errors on my hard drive the tweaking can't seem to fix, but at least I got this to work!!   :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #81 on: January 21, 2015, 09:33:14 PM »
Great to hear the beta repair worked for you! I havent had much feed back on it in a while. So very happy to hear it helped.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline bebeblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #82 on: January 22, 2015, 12:04:21 PM »
 BUT Then .. it stopped working again .. as I said I seem to have an error on my hard drive that won't be fixed.  It seems that one of the programs I ran - chkdisk or sfc (which found error but couldn't fix them) - disabled system restore.  So I ran your beta program again and it was "restored" again ..   trouble is all the old restore points go away each time it gets hosed.   

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #83 on: January 22, 2015, 02:29:22 PM »
You might have an antivirus or something else that is causing the restore points to be deleted. I personally hate system restore (I never use it, and my system is faster for it, I do my own backups) and it is easy to break, not to mention it doesnt do you any good if your drive goes bad, because all the restore points are on the same drive lol

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline jeffsec@earthlink.net

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Repaired
« Reply #84 on: January 24, 2015, 08:47:11 PM »
I can now do restore and the old points are not disappearing .

Offline morciguillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #85 on: May 08, 2015, 08:28:30 PM »
YES IT WORKED!  :smiley:
I was about to reinstall windows 7 as no other solution found on the Internet would has worked for me. I was always getting "Backup cannot start due to an internal error (0x81000027)" every time I wanted to configure Windows backup. I tried "Windows Manager" program, changing some services startup mode, Microsoft forums tips, etc.

I have 360 Total Security antivirus installed, the first time I tried your fix it got in the way, then I disabled it and ran the fix, a second time, went to control panel, clicked on configure backup with not much hope but this time it worked.

Thank you very much.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1060
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #86 on: May 22, 2015, 01:52:25 PM »
@Morciguillo:

- Did you have problems with "Windows Backup" or with "System Restore" ?
- Did you run "Repair System Restore Beta"  as well ?

Offline BludBaut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #87 on: May 25, 2015, 06:29:19 PM »
Starting Repairs...
   Started at (5/25/2015 8:14:59 PM)

   Done, but failed, at (5/25/2015 8:15:30 PM)
   Total Repair Time: 00:00:32

The current repair has failed to start 5 times.
Something is keeping the repair from running.

Try running the repairs in Windows Safe Mode. (This will keep 3rd party programs from getting in the way of the repairs)
If the repairs still fail then please post in the Tweaking.com forums for support.
--

I ran Tweaking.com Windows Repair the other day (always in safe mode with networking and almost always with a power drain before) and it showed many reparsed files fixed, but I got the same error as above when I later tried to run the repairs.

Since my computer has refused to "wake up" after going to sleep (monitors do not come on no matter what I try) and I have to turn off the computer and then reboot and sometimes the monitors won't come on then unless I click to enter setup or safe mode. After entering setup or safe mode, rebooting isn't a problem.

Computer makes a prominent "click" when monitors come on and always has. I have a new power supply, but with the many Windows problems I've had for a good while, I'm not sure where the problem lies.

Another thing that seemed strange was when I started the program today (and I think the last time too, but am not sure) the "file_list.txt" showed to be missing and I was instructed to reinstall. Is this file usually removed as a "check" to make sure we're using the latest version?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2015, 06:35:05 PM by BludBaut »

Offline Jim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #88 on: July 26, 2015, 04:27:28 PM »
Hello shane,

i am running Windows Vista home premium service pack 2

yes i have system restore working again, due to applications frequently crashing i ran
your windows repair programme, i have run it four times now, and the last time i also
ran the beta programme, at first system restore would not respond, the strange thing is
that it would not show up in 'Services' so the only way to get to it is by going through
control panel/system maintenance/back up your computer etc... to find it, then if you
click on it a box opens with the message that ''the system restore wizard is already
running....'' but if you then tried to create a restore point it would respond with
''catastophic failure 8000fff'' if you then try to reset it by removing the tick from
the 'C' drive a warning would appear that you are about to wipe off all restore points,
even though you have no restore points on there to wipe, it seemed to me that system
restore was sending a false message to the OS that it was working and so if i could get
it to shut down properly it would then reset itself, so i kept trying...

i have to tell you that each time i ran the windows repair it would mess with my Avira
anti-virus, even though i followed instructions to disable it first, not a big problem,
just meant i had to re-set Avira, and if anyone here is having the same problems here's
a couple of links to help make that easy...

www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1556
www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1409

doing this meant that i had to keep re-booting, before doing that each time i would try
again to re-set system restore hoping the re-boots would make a difference, then i tried
a different approach, and this time it worked,

i right clicked on my computer and selected properties, then selected 'system protection'
this meant that the UAC box would spring up confirming that you are the Admin, this made
the difference, i unticked the 'C' drive and ticked it again, i may or may not have re-
booted again i can't remember, then tried to create a restore point, success!, i have
since created a second one and windows itself has added a scheduled one, i have not yet
attempted to roll back to see if it works, oddly system restore still does not show up
in the 'services' but when i opened 'ccleaner' all restore points are there.

i hope this info helps others, and i would also like to thank you, i am broke so a big
thanks for the free repair programme, and the free advice, in the words of Ray Winstone
you are a diamond geezer mate.

Jim.   

Offline elaina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Repair System Restore
« Reply #89 on: August 12, 2015, 02:35:05 AM »
Hi Shane,

I am running windows 10 pro after upgrading from windows 8.1.
I am running the windows 10 on Mac boot camp.

My system restore is not working and I get the following message:

System Protection
The restore point could not be created for the following reasons:
The shadow copy provider had an error. Check the system and application event logs for more information. (0x80042306)
Please try again.

Thanks

 

anything