Tweaking.com Support Forums

Main Forum => General Computer Support => Topic started by: Bubba Euler on January 31, 2012, 02:37:29 PM

Title: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on January 31, 2012, 02:37:29 PM
I love the Windows Repair - All in One!  Somehow, my computer says that Windows Resource Protector can not start SFC /scannow.  The step in the All-in-One won't do the SFC, either.  Any ideas on this problem?  Windows 7 Home Premium x64 OS.

Bubba Euler
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on January 31, 2012, 03:07:31 PM
Can you post a screen shot of the error for me?

I will do some research and see what I can find :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on January 31, 2012, 03:13:01 PM
Here's the screenshot of my attempt to run SFC /scannow.
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on January 31, 2012, 03:24:52 PM
Try this
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/fix-for-error-windows-resource-protection-could-not-start-the-repair-service-when-running-sfc-in-vista/

Looks like a service is disabled (Something my set windows services to default startup would fix :wink:)

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 01, 2012, 05:30:01 AM
This looks promising.  I'll do it.  I've been "dealing" with Support.Microsoft.com for about a week now, via e-mail, attempting to get this fixed.  Thank you for your service-with-a-smile!!

Bubba Euler
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 01, 2012, 07:19:14 AM
Well, the Windows Installer (how it's listed in Services.msc) was on Manual.  I Started the program and kept the Manual condition, as well.  I tried the elevated Prompt SFC /scannow, again.  Still says that Windows Resource Protector could not start the repair service. 

Dadgum MS!
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 01, 2012, 07:32:47 AM
See if this is any help:

http://mikemstech.blogspot.com/2011/12/how-to-perform-offline-system-integrity.html

Also this:

http://www.sevenforums.com/performance-maintenance/146348-cannot-run-sfc-repair-disk.html
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 01, 2012, 07:53:31 AM
That's a good article with good information.  My CHKDSK comes back "Clean", every time I run it.  Unfortunately, I own an ACER laptop for which I made all the ACER recommended CD's at first boot.  Windows 7 Home Premium x64 is the OS.  I am told that the CD's I've made using ACER software do not access the original Windows files!?!  There is a law suit in the offing, I think.  A lot of good that does everyone, huh?

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Bubba Euler
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 01, 2012, 08:02:15 AM
Doing a repair install would be the way to go.

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

But you need a straight Windows 7 cd to do it, not the restore disks.

While I dont tell people to go out and download software, in this case your not looking for a pirate copy. Your simply looking for the setup CD to software you already own.

There are some torrents that have Windows 7 with SP1 already on it that you can use for a repair install :wink:

Email me and I can give you a link. Then you use the cd key on the sticker that is on the acer to install with :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 01, 2012, 10:06:24 AM
Shane is right, a repair install would be the best and quickest course of action at this point.  Looking at the shortcuts on your desktop, it is no wonder that you are having at least this problem.  :shocked:  I see a few different tweaking programs, Advanced System Care, at least a few anti-malware programs, and a couple of registry cleaners/tweakers of some sort.  Also, what antivirus program are you running?  I have seen McAfee cause this exact problem you are experiencing.
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 01, 2012, 01:31:08 PM
I'm using Panda Cloud.  The other programs are not running!  The only other security program that is active/scanning is IOBit's AntiMalware.  It never has a problem and updates itself automatically.  I seldom run any purge software than CCleaner. 

I did a Repair with a borrowed Win 7 Home Premium x64 disk.  It found and repaired a few problems (it didn't tell me what it found).  When it finished, I ran, from the disc, an elevated Prompt for sfc /scannow.  It said that it could not run it until I rebooted due to a repair that needed to be completed. 

After the reboot, I ran another elevated sfc /scannow and the original error message (WRP could not start the repair service).  Oh, well!
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 01, 2012, 01:47:49 PM
Hmm...strange that you are still getting that error message after a successful repair install.  I'll keep thinking!  :thinking:
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 01, 2012, 04:44:40 PM
I don't think you did a repair install bud. I think you just did the repair windows option. They are 2 different things. Reason why is you said that it told you it fixed a few things. A repair install is actually doing an upgrade to the same version, so it wouldn't say anything about repairing things :wink:

Did you follow this guide exactly?
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 01, 2012, 05:52:36 PM
Shane, you are right.  I didn't do a Repair Install.  I just booted from the borrowed Windows 7 HP x64 disc and ran the Repair Environment, I think it's called. 

The instructions for the Repair Install are daunting enough.  I sure don't want to lose any files, etc.  ACER installed all this at their first boot and I like what they provided. 

I'm gonna' study this a while to make sure I understand what it does and what I need to do to accomplish it correctly, the first time.  Ha!

I'm sure I'll have questions.  Perhaps I'll start a new thread then.  What is best for you and your Forum operation in this regard?

Thanks,

Bubba Euler
bubbaeuler@gmail.com


Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 01, 2012, 06:32:24 PM
The repair install will keep all your programs, so no worries. Just follow the instructions.

As for my forums rules they are the same as my pcwintech.com site. Each person post a thread for themselves and for each different question :-)

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 03, 2012, 05:47:08 PM
Thank you, Shane!!!  I installed uTorrent and downloaded the "file" (wonderful stuff!!!!!) and burned it to DVD-R.  Now, I've gotta' get the courage to do the "Repair Install" from the DVD-R.  I think I can, I think I can....

Rain in TX, the Super Bowl and computer maintenance.  What a weekend!?!

Bubba Euler

Again, thank you.

Oh,  I have three (3) Keys for Windows 7 x64:
1.  System Registered: 00359-OEM-8992687-00006 Product ID
2.  Sticker ID: H24PJxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3.  Belarc: VQB3X-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I assume, at my own risk, that the System Registered ID is the one I should use, when or if required during the "Repair Install".

Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 03, 2012, 09:05:51 PM
I removed your keys, dont want those on the net :wink:

Quote
Oh,  I have three (3) Keys for Windows 7 x64:
1.  System Registered: 00359-OEM-8992687-00006 Product ID
2.  Sticker ID: H24PJxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3.  Belarc: VQB3X-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You will use number 2.

The 1st and third one are installed by the manufacture and are a default key. You have to have a certificate file installed with that key to have it fully activated. But sine you have your key code on the sticker you can just use that :wink:

When doing the repair install follow that page exactly and make sure to choose the same version of windows your on when doing it.

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 04, 2012, 07:13:53 AM
Good Morning, Shane,

I've read and re-read the instructions provided on Seven Forums for the"Repair Install".  I have the ISO image of Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32-64 bit Disc.  My computer is not loaded with SP1!!  The instructions do not specify what to do in this case.  Am I safe to run "Repair Install" with this ISO file or should I continue to look for one without SP1?

Man, I don't want to mess this up.

I guess, better safe than sorry?  What's your advice on this dilemma?

Bubba Euler
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 04, 2012, 08:32:38 AM
Hey Bubba,

I wasn't aware that you did not have SP1 installed.  Not sure if Shane would agree with me on this or not but, I would try installing SP1 first to see if it remedies your issue before trying a repair install.  You never know.
In order to use a Win7 SP1 disk to do a repair install SP1 needs to be installed on the machine.  So, you would either have to install SP1 before attempting the repair anyway, or you would have to find a ISO of Win7 without SP1 to use for the repair.  Just my thoughts.  :cheesy:
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 04, 2012, 09:28:53 AM
Thank you!  I've downloaded SP1 and attempted to install it.  It stalls during the process giving me an error message I don't remember.  Between a rock and a hard place, huh?

Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 04, 2012, 09:41:30 AM
Bubba, download the System Update Readiness Tool for your OS from the link below.  Run it and then reboot when it is finished.  Then try installing SP1 again.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/What-is-the-System-Update-Readiness-Tool
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 04, 2012, 10:15:06 AM
The repair install is actually doing an upgrade. So you should be able to use the SP1 disk you got.

At the same time you can also try installing SP1 first after the readiness update is done and see how it goes :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 04, 2012, 10:21:16 AM
The repair install is actually doing an upgrade. So you should be able to use the SP1 disk you got.

Sorry about that.  This is absolutely correct.
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 04, 2012, 12:31:31 PM
Guys, actually, I've accomplished all of the above, with no SP1 install.  I found http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/mvista/pub/x-15-65733.iso.  I downloaded and burned a DVD-R (3.224,686,592 GB).  It's a Win7 Home Premium 64-bit (x64) ISO file via MS, itself.  This should do it 'cause there's no SP1. 

Am I on the right track?

Me thinks we're doing good!
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 04, 2012, 12:33:15 PM
That one I sent you to with SP1 would work as well. Might as well use the SP1 version so you dont have to install SP1 afterwards :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 04, 2012, 12:38:03 PM
Shane, I like that even better!  Now, sabre's ready and powder fresh.  Gung Ho into the trenches.   

See you on the other edis...er...side.

Bubba Euler
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 05, 2012, 07:34:42 AM
Happy Sunday morning!  I attempted the Repair Install, at first, with the ISO file containing SP1, you sent.  It stopped abruptly, telling me I had to use a non-SP1 CD.  I found one at http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/mvista/pub and loaded a CD with the file "X-15-65733.iso".  It worked and installed 98 of 99 Security Updates, yesterday.  This morning another large set of Updates was automatically downloaded and now, several hours later, the CPU clock and the HD access have settled down to normal activity.  Whew!  IT WORKS!!!

I had to run MS Fixit 50123.msi after a manual Update produced error code 8040016.  I hope that'll do it.  It took a long time to run the Fixit.

It says that I have 29 days to register the software with MS. I put in the Sticker ID number during the Repair Install.  System Information still has the original OEM number listed as the license.  I trust all is well and will register itself when it's ready to do so. 

Shane, thank you for helping me through this quagmire.  I'd have been lost without you!

Respectfully yours,

Bubba Euler
bubbaeuler@gmail.com
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: friedmonky on February 05, 2012, 08:23:49 AM
I attempted the Repair Install, at first, with the ISO file containing SP1, you sent.  It stopped abruptly, telling me I had to use a non-SP1 CD.

So my thinking was correct afterall.  Glad you got it to work Bubba!  :smiley:
Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Bubba Euler on February 05, 2012, 10:41:55 AM
One additional thing, so you'll know:  of the three Win 7 Product ID's, the one provided by Belarc was the ONLY ONE MS would accept as valid.  The OS is now licensed and good to go.  Ironically, the System Info. still shows the License ID as the original OEM number.  Ha! 

I installed SP! this morning and I think it's updated and stable.  msconsvw.exe was REAL BUSY for quite a while.

Title: Re: SFC doesn't start, even with Admin CMD SFC /scannow
Post by: Shane on February 05, 2012, 10:44:59 AM
Good you got it working.

I am surprised that the SP1 cd didn't work. I mean it is an upgrade, why wouldn't it work lol

Oh well now I know for future use :-)

Shane