Tweaking.com Support Forums

Main Forum => General Computer Support => Topic started by: jraju on September 10, 2014, 05:15:05 AM

Title: (Solved) server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 10, 2014, 05:15:05 AM
Hi, This is a usual practice for me to first click the link in google to get the server not found error in mozila and again tryng retry button, i get the link. This is true even for your site. why is this so? A solution was given to change the server address to Google .Can i try this? What is the risk involved in it?
Configuring your network settings to use Google Public DNS
Or is there any other alternative ways. the first click at once produces server not found error. Before that i was getting problem loading errors?
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 10, 2014, 05:25:07 AM
You could try changing the DNS servers to Google but first try these commands as an admin from the command prompt -

netsh winsock reset catalog
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
exit

Now reboot.

If there's still problems run an anti malware scan, then run this MS Fixit  to reset the Hosts file as it can sometimes become corrupt either through an infection or just Windows. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 10, 2014, 06:04:37 AM
Your solution of ms fixit fixed the problem. I think. But i have also done the commands on elevated cmd/ first. But for academic sake, i want to know the reason, for getting the link in my second attempt. I usually get the link in my second attempt.
                  Now after your solution, i am getting the link at first attempt itself. Moreover there is some speedy browsing also.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 10, 2014, 06:33:15 AM
There's one site in particular that I go to occasionally where I get the unable to connect message now and again and clicking on the Refresh symbol in the top bar usually does it.

If you start getting this with every web site that you are trying to access, then it's usually because of a corrupt winsock (Windows Socket) and resetting it is usually the fix.

Winsock - http://www.techopedia.com/definition/5030/windows-sockets-winsock

Hosts File - http://www.accs-net.com/hosts/what_is_hosts.html

So if either gets corrupt you will either have problems connecting to the web site or with the latter, it may not display fully.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 10, 2014, 08:21:23 PM
Hi, Before asking tips to reset winsocks to correct the problem, i wish to know that it is anything to do with the firefox browser.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 11, 2014, 12:34:05 AM
Hi, Before asking tips to reset winsocks to correct the problem, i wish to know that it is anything to do with the firefox browser.

No, if it's a winsock or Hosts file problem, you would get the same problems whichever browser you were using as it affects the way your computer connects to a website - did you read the articles on winsock and the Hosts file that I'd linked as to their purpose ?
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 11, 2014, 06:20:43 AM
Hi, I reset the host file by Ms fix and i could only learn something about winsocks in the link. Now the problem is not that much. I get the link at the first attempt, barring a few sites. When i click the link, it immediately flashes server not found error, without any back curling.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 11, 2014, 07:46:34 AM
Here is a checklist you can work your way through which is headed by the first suggestion I would make and that is to see if you get the same problem with another browser. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/server-not-found-connection-problem

This will determine if it is Firefox (for you) or the computer which can include an infection when you can't get any websites.

The first thing I do then is to run the browser (I use IE) without add-ons - if that works then I would normally download/run AdwCleaner.

The next is a choice of running netsh winsock reset catalog and netsh in ip reset resetlog.txt or booting up into Safe Mode with Networking - the latter if works would tend to point to your AV program and to confirm that, perform a clean boot as your AV program isn't isolated in a clean boot.

When it's just the odd websites then the winsock command can help but if just one, I normally just use Refresh.

If the Refresh symbol isn't showing then tap F5.

Clearing the SSL state can also help, although I don't know how this is done in FF but in IE it's Tools > Internet options > Content > Clear SSL state and this article explains what that does http://science.opposingviews.com/clear-ssl-state-mean-22093.html

Anyway, see how you get on with the checklist.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 15, 2014, 04:05:12 AM
Hi,  I have browsed thro the net and enabled firefox as program to be allowed by windows firewall. This is not found in the default allow programs list in the firewall. Is it so? Should we have to remove this and add it in when the firefox gets updated.
                      Now the server not found error is not coming. But i want to know, why we have to add this to allow list in the firewall. What is your settings , shane? i have selected the windows firewall from control panel and then clicked on allow programs in the left and then choose change settings. I did not find the firefox in the allowed list. Then  i clicked on another program and browse to c:program files\moziall firefox folder to get the exe file and then select add and then ok to finish the process. Should we have to do after every firefox update. Why firefox is not included in the default allow list, google chrome is found. Once i add, iget the firefox name in the allow list. i checked again to be sure. please advise
                 Hi, boggins, i have checked the other browsers and there is no problem.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 15, 2014, 05:35:10 AM
Was the server not found error message still popping up before you allowed it in Windows Firewall ?
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 15, 2014, 05:57:37 AM
Yes. Still i am trying for solutions. I am using firefox latest and i have enabled auto detect settings in internet explorer. There was an issue, that when the firefox updates, the firefox previous version in the windows firewall conflict with the new one and there is possibility of fixing which i reported in my previous post. Still server not found problem persists. What is your firewall settings for browser. Why the firefox is not included in the default list of browsers. Only google chrome finds place in the allow program. I have anyhow browsed and enabled firefox. But that is not a fix, i suppose.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 15, 2014, 07:29:21 AM
I use Norton 360 which has its own firewall and disables Windows Firewall on installation.

I can't remember, but if it's Avast Free that you are using, then perhaps uninstalling that and trying something like Avira which has its own firewall may be an option, but I can't understand why Windows Firewall is causing problems for just FF and no other browser.

Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 15, 2014, 10:00:58 PM
Thanks boggin for reply.
 Hi, Shane, is there any firewall by avast free? can i enable it instead of windows firewall, which is default?
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 16, 2014, 12:57:47 AM
I think the Pro Avast has its own firewall but Avast Free doesn't, which is why you need Windows Firewall or one of the others and is why Avast Free can run alongside practically any other AV program.

I think some use ZoneAlarm with Avast but you would need to Google to see what's available and for the Pros and Cons of each.

I think you still need to install another AV program that has its own firewall which will disable Windows Firewall, as that for me is the only way you can eliminate Windows Firewall as the cause of the server problem.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 18, 2014, 01:02:16 AM
http://www.comodo.com/home/download/during-download.php?prod=firewall&track=2202&ref=TDJodmJXVXZhVzUwWlhKdVpYUXRjMlZqZFhKcGRIa3ZabWx5WlhkaGJHd3VjR2h3
Please see this ; Comodo firewall link.
               Forum members of some forum suggest using comodo firewall instead of zone alarm. I want your recommendations of running this free version. Should i have to disable the windows firewall after installing the comodo. There is no free firewall in avast.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 18, 2014, 01:16:16 AM
When you install Combo, that will auto disable Windows firewall and while I've come across those who are quite happy with it, it has caused problems for some.

Give it a try and see how it goes.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 18, 2014, 01:22:18 AM
Hi, I mean comodo and not combo
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 18, 2014, 06:12:57 AM
Hi, I mean comodo and not combo

I get mixed up with names as well but knew what you meant  :cheesy:
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 19, 2014, 12:46:30 AM
Hi, But comodo firewall has 220 mbs of huge download. I give it up. Still getting server not found errors. I tried all sorts of things but a click in a link immediately get this error, even without back curling starts. Usually when one clicks the link, it curls back some seconds and then get you the link. But even without curl back action, i get this error. should i allow a little bit somewhere in the firefox settings. Pl
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 19, 2014, 03:01:54 AM
This isn't browser specific so just changing settings in one browser wouldn't do it.

Give this a try - Open Network and Sharing Center and if yours is set to Home Network, click on that and change it to Work Network or vice versa if not - then reboot.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 19, 2014, 04:04:32 AM
Hi, What is the assumption if i change the settings. Computer default is home as per access settings it found.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 19, 2014, 04:29:15 AM
Hi, What is the assumption if i change the settings. Computer default is home as per access settings it found.

There isn't a great deal of difference as you will see from http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/43629-network-location-set-home-work-public-network.html but it may configure Windows Firewall settings a little differently which could make a difference.

I know my TalkTalk Home page opens quicker when it is set to Work Network and it's easy enough to change back if you require Home Network for a Home Group.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 19, 2014, 05:09:05 AM
hi, I changed to work group. Let me see if i still get servr error
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 20, 2014, 08:17:37 AM
hi, I changed to work group. Let me see if i still get servr error

Well ?  :smiley:
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 21, 2014, 08:54:07 PM
Hi, I am still getting this error randomly. How to set the DNS as google. Any risk involved in it. Is that a cumbersome procedure. pl
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 22, 2014, 12:41:09 AM
It's straight forward to change the DNS servers in the computer, but you could also leave those as auto and change the DNS servers in the router.

You would need to check the router manual or have a hunt around in the router's settings for DNS and a reboot of the router is usual to effect the change - make a note of  the default DNS settings, but normally when you have the option to change from Auto to your preferred, it will revert to those when the router is rebooted after changing back to Auto.

To change them in the computer, Open Network and Sharing Center > Change adapter settings > right click on the adapter you wish to change > click on Properties > TCP/IPv4 > Properties and check the radio button for Use the following DNS server and enter 8.8.8.8 into the top row then 8.8.4.4 into the lower row.

Check the box for Validate settings upon exit > OK > Close and that will active the Troubleshooter and if that reports it couldn't find anything then you are good to go.

You can also try Open DNS which is for the Primary 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 for the Secondary.

If you open a command prompt and ping each, you will see which has the best Latency for your location.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 22, 2014, 05:00:47 AM
Hi,
             The firefox browser only works with google . It has no search engine of its own.
             If i change the DNS settings to google, what i hope to get because of this change.
               I think too much technical aspects revolve round this is creating server not found error in Firefox. When you use google chrome, there is a possibility of compromising your computer to hack attacks. I have done resetting firefox, flush of dns etc etc. I even use minitool to dns flush etc. Still the server not found error appears randomly. The curling backward stops immediately to show this error. So, is there anything that can stay curling back until the link is caught,without breaking in the middle. What is the settings, Do any one knows that so that i could try that. Whenever you click the link , it back curls and then front curls to connect to the link. Am i correct? How to adjust this curling
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 22, 2014, 08:42:21 AM
In extreme cases I run netsh winsock reset catalog as an admin from the command prompt or reset the Hosts file to default http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

You could also run the command netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt which is more for actual connectivity issues, but resetting won't harm.

MiniToolBox will show how many entries are in the Hosts file or you can press Win key+r and type notepad c:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\Hosts then press enter.

Mine looks like this -

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handle within DNS itself.
#       127.0.0.1       localhost
#       ::1             localhost

Search engines and DNS servers are different and I use my ISP's home page on both FF and IE which is AOL based.

Do you get the same hang in Safe Mode with Networking ?

I use IE and if a search starts to hang, I initially go Tools > Internet options > Content > Clear SSL state but I don't know if this would have any effect on Firefox, but if I remember rightly - this isn't browser specific for you.

Other than what you have already tried and changing the DNS servers either in the router or the computer - nothing else comes to mind and I don't think power cycling the router would help.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 22, 2014, 08:33:02 PM
Hi, boggins

                 Why No proxy in firefox, and uncheck autodetect are recommended steps by ask leo to get rid of internet errors. Would they save time? What are the risks involved in i do these settings. Normally one would prefer autodetech settings in IE and FF, but leo says that it is better to uncheck and select no proxy. Now i have done these steps, and there is no problem of internet connectivity.
                         What about extending the curling time in firefox?
                           Proxy means the alternative to the original. Is it not? What is the benefit of these settings .
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Boggin on September 23, 2014, 01:17:10 AM
As far as I knew, the Auto detect should always be checked and the Proxy unchecked but I'll bear in mind what Leo has said.

A Proxy is an intermediary server between the browser and the network address and can be set up by infections to hijack your connection, but you would normally only use a Proxy server if you were connecting through a corporate network which businesses set up, which I think is for added security and they would set their own Proxy address and port to be used.

I think IE auto detects otherwise when a Proxy is in the route to a network address.

I've only ever gone into IE's settings that have corrected an anomaly and hardly ever of those for FF, as I just use that as an alternative browser when I have problems working a website in IE.
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on September 23, 2014, 05:34:59 AM
Hi,
                      I could understand that. thank you. I asked you the nature of risk if you choose auto detect in Firefox. I use firefox, instead of IE, as normally it is easily get compromised in simple hack attacks. be it babylon tool bar or any PUP, they easily crept in to the target tab in the internet explorer. Here FF is safe, it does not easily allow unwanted PUP or tool bar.
                     But i think there is some problem when firefox updates and the firefox in the firewall settings not changed to updated one. This is the main problem  I think so. Let me see whether server error still continues
Title: Re: server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: jraju on October 02, 2014, 08:19:22 PM
Hi, Shane and Boggins
                          My server not found problem got fixed by the ask leo advice, by unchecking autodetect in IE and selecting no Proxy settings in Firefox. Now, the back curl is complete and the links are shown correctly. I already wrote about it in previous posts. I thought that firefox settings would be doing something in this regard.
                            But Shane, how did this fix my problem. What is no proxy settings means? When i had the defaut system proxy settings, i got that error. Pl. I will mark it as solved.
Title: Re: (Solved) server not found error mozilla firefox solution ?
Post by: Rick on October 02, 2014, 09:18:24 PM
Suggestion which needs beta testing.

fix your profile cannot be used:

Action; delete/remove files in the local user default browser folder;
C:\Users\ User \ AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default

can change Google to other Browsers Directory:

delete;

webdata
webdata journal

restarted the browser

its a quick fix for google, hope it works for other issues; maybe will work with all browsers
other suggestion is to delete all the files in the default local browser;
Be careful to save cookies and bookmarks first

good luck