Tweaking.com Support Forums

Main Forum => Tweaking.com Support & Help => Topic started by: phmallet on April 16, 2020, 11:14:19 PM

Title: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 16, 2020, 11:14:19 PM
Good morning, sir,

impossible to start in safe mode.

I just get a fuzzy wallpaper, and no desktop icon appears. It stays frozen like this, until I restart in normal mode.

How do I please do this? Thanks to you.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 17, 2020, 08:18:52 AM
I need more info on which version of Windows you are using but have you recently downloaded anything ?

Try your restore points to see if that gets your safe mode working again.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 17, 2020, 01:44:06 PM
Prior to trying your restore points, I would advise creating a Hiren's Boot Disk should you have problems with the restore points.

Use the 15.2 download - https://www.techspot.com/downloads/6966-hirens-bootcd.html
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 17, 2020, 11:51:31 PM
hello, sorry for the delay...

i've got a brain new installed version 1909 18363.778 just out of the store after a repair

I can run safe mode with Windows, but not directly fromTweaking

good day to you
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 18, 2020, 08:45:15 AM
Did you have the program installed before the repair and would it boot to safe mode then.

If you hadn't, then can you uninstall and then reinstall the program to see if it makes a difference.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 18, 2020, 10:37:09 AM
hello,

yes it did work before they totally reinstalled W10

I already did what you say, but no way !

so what I do now is running safe mode from windows, and then run Tweak... it works, so I'll wait for an update.

thanks to you again.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 18, 2020, 02:38:11 PM
See if a clean boot will help.

As Win 10 was reinstalled as a clean install then I assume you had to reinstall everything ?

Right click on the taskbar and select Task Manager then under Start-up disable all items and check again.

If it still fails to start then go Start - type msconfig and press enter when it comes up, then under Services check the box to Hide all Microsoft services - Disable all - Apply - OK - Restart and see if that makes any difference.

With both the start up items and non-MS services, if either resolves then enable just one item at a time and reboot to see when it fails.

You can leave that item/Service disabled.

If it is a Service then go Start - type services.msc and press enter when it comes up.

Scroll down to that Service -  right click on it and select Properties then use the dropdown to change its start up to Manual - OK

Click on File/Exit then reboot.

N.B. When you uncheck a non-MS service for a program, prior to uninstalling that program you need to go into msconfig and re-check its box, otherwise it will remain there and you will end up with orphan files.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 19, 2020, 11:58:21 AM
Hello ! And thanks for help.

No way, still the icons doesn't appear.

But it's OK, I'll continue to go safe mode from Windows, then open Tweaking. Same result in the end.

Have a nice day, and thanks again.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 20, 2020, 12:18:12 AM
The current version of the repair program is now 4.8.0 - do you have that ?

I'm not sure if these cmds will help as you've recently had a clean install but open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter these -

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

sfc /scannow

exit

Reboot and check again, but let me know what those cmds report.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 20, 2020, 01:28:56 AM
Thanks.

I made a scanhealth.

Health : no component store corruption detected. The operation completed succesfully.
Scannow is OK

Same problem with safe mode.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 20, 2020, 07:36:58 AM
I don't know what else to advise - I'll ask Shane for his input on this.

Have you updated to 4.8.0 ?
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 20, 2020, 08:51:59 AM
Shane doesn't know either :(
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 20, 2020, 12:51:49 PM
Thanks.

Yes, v. 480.

Anyway, thank you very much for spending time on this.

Bye.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 20, 2020, 03:01:46 PM
Sorry I wasn't able to help, but generally when the program is problematic and specific, it's usually down to the machine.

Which antivirus program are you using and could you try with it uninstalled or disabled in its settings.

Most AVs reinstate themselves in a clean boot so you can't isolate them when disabling start up items or non-MS services.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 22, 2020, 08:50:53 AM
Good day Boggin,

good news from here : I've just updated to the very last W10 2004 Preview (19041.207) and going safe mode is working again on start up !

But right click "Edit with notepad" is always missing.

Scanning with Repair Windows doesn't work with that W10 Preview, anyway that seems normal to me, W10 2004 is a step further.

Bye !
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 22, 2020, 01:59:57 PM
Yes, you will need to wait until Shane updates the program after the general release as it could cause Permissions issues.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: phmallet on April 22, 2020, 10:36:56 PM
Thanks for all Tom.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on April 23, 2020, 01:17:02 AM
You're welcome :)
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: William Rice on May 11, 2020, 12:28:24 AM
Hi Boggin,
In mid-April I sent the same issue to support@tweaking.com. Still no reply, so I decided to try here. My complaint was "I am a paid-up Pro user. I used to be able to boot into safe mode from the program. Some time ago it stopped being successful at getting booted into safe mode. I get to the fuzzed out screen where the little enter password window normally shows up and the enter your MS password. There is no longer any way to enter a password. I have waited through two updates on your program and two or three Windows updates and it still won’t work. What do I need to do to continue using this program? Who knows when I will really need to use it in an emergency!"

Twk.com was installed after a clean install of Win10 pro 1909. It worked twice and then would not open safe mode. I had done almost all of the recommended fixes even before seeing this forum, none of which makes any difference. This problem seems to have been created by Twk.com running it basic repair function, not from WIN10 nor any anti-virus etc, programs. This needs to be looked into by programing dept. at twking.com.

Thanks,
William Rice
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on May 11, 2020, 12:52:02 AM
I apologise for missing your post but now there is another reported instance of this occurring, I'll pass it on to Shane for his investigation.

However, I haven't had any problems when testing the Safe Mode aspect of the program and if Shane is also unable to replicate it, then I'm not sure what he can do.

If it doesn't appear to be broke then he won't have anything to go on to fix it.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: William Rice on May 11, 2020, 11:35:25 AM
Hi Tom,

I understand these types of problems can be almost impossible to figure out. This one is especially hard since it does boot into safe mode up to the point of the sign in screen, it just doesn't have a place to sign in! What makes it even stranger is that you CAN sign in if you go to safe mode from the windows restart process or via the troubleshooting route.

Probably not productive to spend a lot of time on this issue. Just do it the hard WIN10 way and get on with it.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on May 11, 2020, 02:17:40 PM
I don't use a password on any of my machines so whether I use the program or Windows to get to Safe Mode, it takes me straight there.

I don't know if this would make a difference but go Start - type netplwiz and press enter when it comes up.

There you will see a checked box for Users must enter a username and password to use this computer

Uncheck the box and press OK and then see what the program does.

As you can see from mine, the box is checked but as I've never set up a login password, it's non-effective.

Do you need to have a password for your machine ?

Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: William Rice on May 11, 2020, 05:29:18 PM
Interesting. I think I need a password. I have my banking and other sensitive info on the computer in question and grandkids who visit often. I have another computer for them, but one computer + two grandkids = overflow to my PC. Anyway, I just hold the shift key when I restart the computer and go in that way. I suppose if I needed to go into safe mode for several reboots I could just uncheck the above and recheck after I was done. That could be handy.

Fortunately I do not need to go into safe mode very often. So thanks for the info, but don't worry about it too much unless you get more complaints. Hopefully the Spring update will fix it anyway, as noted earlier.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on May 12, 2020, 02:06:46 AM
I'm just wondering when I'll get the 2004 Windows Update - I guess I'll have to create a newer Win 10 install USB then.
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: William Rice on May 12, 2020, 10:30:55 AM
Last I read, the new release starts 5/28 in a gradual rollout. I personally don't know if you really need a new install disk since they are never completely up to date and you need to do an update as soon as you install it anyway. But since I am somewhat OCD about stuff like that I will probably do a new one anyway.

Regards,
William
Title: Re: safe mode
Post by: Boggin on May 12, 2020, 02:27:53 PM
I have occasionally performed a repair install when things weren't right, but I've also booted up with it and selected Repair your computer on the Install screen and performed a couple of cmds when the machine wouldn't boot or was hanging on boot.

Those cmds are -

bcdedit |find "osdevice"

For clarity that is a Pipe symbol before find and is the uppercase of \

Then using your partition letter instead of the x I have exampled, enter -

dism /image:x:\ /cleanup-image /restorehealth

Then again using your partition letter instead of the X I have exampled, enter -

sfc /scannow /offbootdir=X:\ /offwindir=X:\Windows

Note the space before each /

Enter exit to close the cmd window and restart.