Tweaking.com Support Forums

Main Forum => Tweaking.com Support & Help => Topic started by: Willy2 on July 04, 2021, 06:38:35 PM

Title: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 04, 2021, 06:38:35 PM
- I installed RB v4.00. But it causes CPU to go through the roof even when I try to open the program with a shortcut. I am not trying to run the program (yet) but simply opening the program already pushes CPU into the stratosphere on my Windows 7 system.
- On top of that the program regularly crashes when I want to make a backup manually.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr ......................
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 05, 2021, 02:29:01 AM
I'm unable to check it out on my Win 7 machine just yet but why don't you just use the Backup Tools in WR ?
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 05, 2021, 02:33:27 AM
- Quite simple. WR has the same version of RB.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 05, 2021, 02:38:41 AM
And does it do the same when you use it in WR ?
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 05, 2021, 03:35:09 AM
- I would like to point out that Shane has some high performance computer gear. E.g. he has a high performance GPU. But I have a simple "run of the mill" laptop with a "run of the mill" Intel graphics chip(-set). So, the performance/behaviour of RB & WR on Shane's computer is not representitive for all computer users.

- I know that in the past this issue has plagued RB as well. It could be a problem in the recent versions of RB as well. But I can't look inside the program code of RB.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 05, 2021, 04:05:24 AM
- Yes, RB in WR (v4.11.4) also pushes CPU "through the roof". Not surprising because it's the same RB version (v4.00).
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 05, 2021, 04:17:15 AM
What is your CPU usage like before you use RB ?

Have you tried it in a clean boot ?

My three laptops are just cheapies as well but I've just tried RB from within WR and the CPU usage was still reasonable.

This machine is a dual core Intel Celeron B800 1.5GHz CPU.

My other Win 10 is an AMD 1.3GHz dual core and my Win 7 machine is a single core AMD 2.5GHz

I don't have any room on my table to boot the Win 7 machine up just yet but will check it out later.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 05, 2021, 05:26:49 AM
- I tried WR + RB in Safe Mode but there a number of buttons in RB don't work. Or only seem to work with a LONG LONG delay. Used the Fall Back method because VSS doesn't (seem) to work in Safe Mode. And yes, the Fall Back method worked to make a copy.

- But the Fall Back copy doesn't include/copy a number of files that are copied when using VSS.

- Safe Mode = Clean boot ??? Or do I have to use MSConfig to configure Windows to get ? I actually VERY rarely use Safe Mode or MS Config because I have rarely problems with my Windows 7 system.

- I'll try MS Config with only the MS stuff. To be continued ...........................
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 05, 2021, 08:26:03 AM
When you go into msconfig click on Services then check the box to hide all MS services then hit Disable all - Apply - OK then click on Start-up and Disable all - Apply - OK then reboot.

You haven't said what the CPU usage is before running RB.

Compare that with the CPU usage after the reboot into a clean boot before you try RB.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 05, 2021, 09:14:05 AM
- It has been a while since I used MS-config ......................
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 05, 2021, 09:43:13 AM
- Total CPU of all programs was at ~ 6% (Performance tab in Task Manager(TM)). That went up to about 40 to 50% when RB was busy starting.
- CPU in the "Process" tab in TM went up to 25% for RB.
- It seems this could still be graphics issue because when I run RB under the system account (automatically) then these seems to be no problem.

- After a "Clean boot" RB opened without hesitation. So, one of the other programs "has a row" with RB.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 05, 2021, 01:49:55 PM
You will need to go back into msconfig and re-enable one item at a time, reboot then see which one is causing the problem then leave it disabled/stopped.

It could be an item in Start-up or one of the non-MS services.

I only have Realtek Audio items enabled in my Start-up.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 08, 2021, 02:35:40 AM
- It was even worse. Something happened on my Win 7 system and I had re-install Win 7 from scratch. Win 7 has a very good system where one can re-install a new version of Win 7 and keep the old setup in the subfolder c:\Windows.old.
- On top of that I have a copy of all the Win 7 updates & patches stored on a USB external drive.

- Back to Registry Backup: it seems that something in my previous setup/installation caused RB to crash and the delays of the RB GUI appearing. Because with a fresh Win 7 installation RB showed up within seconds. I.ll just add one program at a time and see what program causes this delay & crash.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 08, 2021, 03:54:30 AM
When you perform a repair install Windows creates the Windows.old folder.

With Win 7 you require a valid product key whereas in Win 10, that digitally activates.

I recently performed a repair install on my other Win 10 laptop but needed cleanmgr to delete that folder as it's sizeable.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Willy2 on July 08, 2021, 05:10:06 AM
- I didn't do a "repair install". I don't know what the proper name is for what I did.
- Yes, I do have a license key. And I prefer that above the Win 10 system. But with Windows 11 coming, I am NOT in a hurry to switch to Windows 10.
- Deleting the folder: I have a program that can change the attributes.
Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 08, 2021, 01:34:55 PM
A repair install is done from within Windows/Windows/File Explorer - insert the install media and double click on its drive.

This will start the process when using a DVD but will open to its files when using an USB where you would then double click on setup Application.

Is this how you did yours ?

I've tried a couple of times to perform a repair install on my Toshiba Win 7 Home 64bit laptop but in both cases, it got to the same point and then rolled back.

Title: Re: Registry backup problem
Post by: Boggin on July 09, 2021, 01:51:07 AM
How are you getting on with this ?

Going back to deleting the Windows.old folder, I took ownership of it and then attempted to manually delete it but it said it would take about a day which is why I opted for Disk Cleanup.