Tweaking.com Support Forums

Main Forum => General Computer Support => Topic started by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 08:42:37 AM

Title: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 08:42:37 AM
i have a program that i installed back when i got this computer brand new in july of 2012. it worked fine
until mid January when the computer installed some updates and now the program when tried to start says
MDAC not found and i cant update windows anymore. PLEASE help. This problem is driving me crazy. Thank
you in advance. -Corey
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 11:53:24 AM
MDAC is part of Windows 7, so the first thing to do is a system file check which should replace any missing files. :wink:

Open a cmd window as administrator and run

sfc /scannow

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:04:07 PM
i have done that twice and i have used some of the tools and utilities from tweaking.com.
all the sfc /scannow found and replaced were some log files and i then restarted the computer.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:05:50 PM
Run my MDAC tester from my other site and let me know the results :wink:

http://www.pcwintech.com/shanes-toolbox

It is the 2nd from last at the bottom of the page.

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:07:23 PM
i also get this error when running Test MDAC from tweaking

Starting Test.
Date: 3/11/2013 Time: 3:06:12 PM
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using DAO...
--Successful
Opening Table...
--Successful
Closing connection to the database.
--Successful
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using ADO...
ERROR!: 91 - Object variable or With block variable not set
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Done, Test Complete.
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:09:24 PM
OK so the ADO files are missing.

Are you on 64 bit or 32 bit Windows 7?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:10:21 PM
This is an HP Pavillion Dv7 7115 64 bit
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:11:45 PM
Running Windows 7 with SP1
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:13:24 PM
OK try this.

1. I have attached the ado files from my Windows 7 64bit. Extract them and put them into "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\System\ado" overwrite any files you have there if Windows lets you.
2. Once you have the files there run my mdac repair tool http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/repair_mdac_ms_jet.html
3. Once done try the mdac tester again and lets see if ADO still gives us an error. :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:19:04 PM
The last 11 files say i needed permission
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:20:16 PM
If you cant replace them that is ok, as long as any missing files got put there is what is important :-)

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:24:28 PM
ok i ran the repair tool after trying to install the files.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:25:38 PM
OK, and what did the tester say after that?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:26:04 PM
Starting Test.
Date: 3/11/2013 Time: 3:25:33 PM
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using DAO...
--Successful
Opening Table...
--Successful
Closing connection to the database.
--Successful
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Connecting To Test.mdb using ADO...
ERROR!: 91 - Object variable or With block variable not set
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Done, Test Complete.
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:30:03 PM
here is what the repair tool said as well:
Log:
Repair MDAC & MS Jet
   Start (3/11/2013 3:23:39 PM)
   Running Repair Under Current User Account
   Running Repair Under System Account
   Done (3/11/2013 3:23:45 PM)

   Total Repair Time: 00:00:06
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:32:13 PM
Something else is wrong then if that didnt fix it and a system file check didnt fix it.

This is why in any of my database programs I have it set to use DAO and if it fails to use ADO. This way when one is broken it will use the other.

In this case what ever happened to ADO must have deleted something from the registry. But I dont know what keys it would need.

Have you ever done a repair install of Windows before? It is where Windows get reinstalled but all your files, programs and settings are saved.

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:36:27 PM
i have tried doing a repair install but it gets to the end and then fails
so i go back to the same exact thing. i really hate microsoft updates.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:38:01 PM
Whats the error when you try to do a repair install?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:39:21 PM
i get a blue screen of death with an irq error but i cant read it cuz its really fast
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:41:19 PM
IRQ equal or less than blue screen of death. And since you have Windows set to auto reboot on a blue screen you cant read the rest.

That is almost always driver related.

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:42:04 PM
okay how can i take care of that problem?
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:46:26 PM
Not sure since I cant see the system.

I would say unhook anything that doesnt need to be on during the repair install, uninstall any antivirus or firewall software as they add their own drivers tot eh system.

And have Windows set to not restart on a blue screen so if it happens again we can get the full error and hopefuly findout which is causing it.

Oh and you can try this tool, it will report the last blue screen and which file or driver might have caused it :-)

http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:48:15 PM
how do i set windows to not restart after blue screen automatically?
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:52:40 PM
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows7/ht/automatic-restart-windows-7.htm

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 12:56:35 PM
Okay Thank you so much. I am going to try a Windows Repair and will let you know what kind of animal we are dealing with.
Thank you again so much for your help.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 11, 2013, 12:57:11 PM
No problem :-)

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 11, 2013, 06:08:30 PM
well i tried repairing windows and went down stairs for a couple mins and when i got back it
just said that the repair couldnt continue and that my previous version was reinstated.
I m really starting to not like windows 7 with how difficult this has been.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 12, 2013, 11:23:17 AM
I am on Windows 7 and never had that kind of trouble. I am curious to what is causing it.

Since we know the blue screen is driver related you could try to update all your drivers first.

Also did you run that program to see what actually caused the crash?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 12, 2013, 11:53:52 AM
i installed the program fro crashes but not real sure how to use it.
also could this be virus or malware or trojan related?
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 12, 2013, 11:55:43 AM
Possible, but lets see what the program shows first.

When you open WhoCrashed you click the analyze button. It will then you give you the results :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 12, 2013, 11:57:37 AM
Crash Dump Analysis
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash dump directory: C:\Windows\Minidump

Crash dumps are enabled on your computer.

No valid crash dumps have been found on your computer
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 12, 2013, 02:20:41 PM
Dang, the setup must not be creating a dump file when the system crashes.

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 12, 2013, 06:55:48 PM
okay i guess now where do we go from here?
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 13, 2013, 06:09:42 AM
You can try checking the event viewer, we can also see if there is any log file witht he info we need
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd744583%28v=ws.10%29.aspx

Mainly what I want to do is find out what driver is causing the crash. Once we find that out we can fix it and you can then finally get the repair install done :-)

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 13, 2013, 08:34:09 AM
do you want me to send you the log files?
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 13, 2013, 08:38:22 AM
2013-03-11 20:39:03, Error      [0x06424b] IBSLIB FirstBootCheckpoint: Failed to recover crash dump from pagefile.sys
2013-03-11 20:54:01, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr0.dat; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:54:01, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr0.dat to \\?\X:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr0.dat[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:54:01, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr1.dat; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:54:01, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr1.dat to \\?\X:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr1.dat[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000000_Hardware; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000000_Hardware to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000000_Hardware[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000001_Hardware; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000001_Hardware to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000001_Hardware[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000002_Hardware; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000002_Hardware to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000002_Hardware[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000003_Hardware; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000003_Hardware to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\00000003_Hardware[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\StorMigDB; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\StorMigDB to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\StorMigDB[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\StorMigSettings; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\StorMigSettings to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A962D\StorMigSettings[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\applicationHost.config; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\applicationHost.config to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\applicationHost.config[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\iis7_gather.log; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\iis7_gather.log to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\iis7_gather.log[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\iis_upgrade_data.xml; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\iis_upgrade_data.xml to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\iis_upgrade_data.xml[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\redirection.config; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\redirection.config to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005A9CF5\redirection.config[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AEAD9\MSDTC.LOG; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AEAD9\MSDTC.LOG to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AEAD9\MSDTC.LOG[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AF6C7\DEFAULT.FIL; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AF6C7\DEFAULT.FIL to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AF6C7\DEFAULT.FIL[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080654] MIG    Path not found for move target \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AF6C7\NTUSER.FIL; attempting to create it[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:05, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Machine\DATA\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AF6C7\NTUSER.FIL to \\?\X:\$UPGRADE.~OS\OnlineUpgradeGatherWork\agentmgr\CCSIAgent\005AF6C7\NTUSER.FIL[gle=0x00000003]
2013-03-11 20:59:51, Error      [0x080656] MIG    Failed to restore file \\?\X:\$INPLACE.~TR\Data\DATA\Windows\System32\Tasks\WebReg  to \\?\X:\Windows\System32\Tasks\WebReg [gle=0x00000002]
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 14, 2013, 07:35:16 PM
Your Windows is on drive X:?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 15, 2013, 07:36:48 AM
LOL no my windows is set to c:/ but this is the log from C:\$WINDOWS.~BT\Sources\Rollback
and the log file was named setuperr.log
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 15, 2013, 06:19:54 PM
Quote
[0x06424b] IBSLIB FirstBootCheckpoint: Failed to recover crash dump from pagefile.sys

Is your page file enabled?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 16, 2013, 07:12:38 AM
it says it is! it says automatically managed. allocated like 7650 mb for pagefile sys.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 16, 2013, 01:43:12 PM
OK.

All I want to do is find the driver that is causing the blue screen lol. I want to save you from having to do a fresh install but it is starting to look that way.

If you try the repair install again make sure you have all update sin Windows first and if it crashes again, once your backup in Windows double check the event viewer and see if it shows anything at all for the blue screen.

I am almost tempted to have you uninstall every driver you have installed except for the network driver and then do the repair install lol

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 17, 2013, 05:58:19 AM
okay i can do this. let me make sure everything is in order and make sure i have all the updates in windows. i got the update to work
via Autopatcher. so thats one good thing. I am going to try the windows repair without uninstalling every driver except network to see if
the update helped. if it didnt i will then uninstall every driver except the network driver and see what happens.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 17, 2013, 01:52:46 PM
Looking forward to seeing how it goes :-)

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 18, 2013, 07:50:54 PM
Well it happened again.... Only this time i took a picture with my
Iphone so you could read the message. How can i post
This error message
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 18, 2013, 07:52:46 PM
Email your self the picture then on your computer check your email and then you can attach it when you post :-)

Good job getting a picture!

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 18, 2013, 08:38:24 PM
Lets see how this works :smiley:
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 18, 2013, 08:45:50 PM
Did I have you do a memory test yet?

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Memory-Tweak/Microsoft-Windows-Memory-Diagnostic.shtml

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 18, 2013, 08:50:39 PM
Oh and do a chkdsk on the drive is you havent already :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 18, 2013, 09:08:58 PM
I think i did a chkdsk but im not sure about a memory test
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 18, 2013, 09:10:16 PM
Do the memory test for me. :-)

It will run for as long as you let it, have it run about 30 min and see if it reports any errors.

The program will make and ISO, burn it to a cd and then boot off the cd to have it start the test.

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 19, 2013, 07:25:24 AM
ok i did a memory test and it found nothing. i am going to run a chk disk once again to see if this
brings up anything
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 19, 2013, 08:12:14 AM
also when i talked to Microsoft they told me this was an SQL problem.
they wanted to charge me a 100.00 to consult with them but i have
no $$$ and no job which stinks. i thank you so very much for helping me.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 19, 2013, 09:19:03 AM
also when i talked to Microsoft they told me this was an SQL problem.
they wanted to charge me a 100.00 to consult with them but i have
no $$$ and no job which stinks. i thank you so very much for helping me.

I dont think you talked to MS lol. This is no way a SQL problem  :wink:
If you did then they are an ass for saying it is an SQL problem without even looking at the machine.

The error your getting can be caused by bad hardware, bad drivers, the BIOS and a few other things.

What doesn't make since to me is if it is a driver or bad hardware why are you not having trouble in Windows normally?

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-hardware/blue-screen-error-stop-0x0000000a/f508aab6-626c-4ef7-9908-2840ce6dec0f

So this is why I had you test the hardware. So we could at least take it off the list :-)

The next thing on the list, have you checked for a BIOS update?

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 19, 2013, 10:34:31 AM
i did a check disk and that turned up nothing. awhile back it said it needed to do a bios update and i thought it did one but
im not sure if i did it or not.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 19, 2013, 11:03:55 AM
okay i updated the bios it said there was an update that was available.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 19, 2013, 08:08:36 PM
OK good so the bios is updated, go ahead and try it again. Be prepared to do this alot lol

The things we do to save from a fresh install  :tongue:

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 20, 2013, 11:24:14 AM
okay i tried updating this, this morning. i ran the upgrade and it came back at the last step as could not continue upgrade due to a corrupt file in the installation disk. so i ran a checkdisk and it repaired some files in the index and security files. i then burned another copy of Windows 7 from the iso i downloaded which i have a legal key and downloaded it from sevenforums i do believe. now i shall try this again unless we should try something else.
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 20, 2013, 06:48:51 PM
Corrupt files? When you ran the chkdsk did you have it check for bad sectors as well? If you did it would have taken a few hours to complete.

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 21, 2013, 06:13:05 AM
okay i reran the checkdisk i let it go overnight i just dnt know if it found any errors or bad sectors. okay what should we try now?
i also wonder if there is the newest version of windows 7 with any new updates to install the latest version of windows 7 with sp1
that is the newest. i also have tried to make sure all of my drivers are compatible but not sure which software would be the best
to do this with. i want to see if there is anything that is incompatible with this computer. i tried twice yesterday to update and both
failed. i am prepared to do this alot... gives me lots of practice with windows 7 to learn it.... :wink:
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 21, 2013, 07:20:53 PM
Before we go to far I want to make sure you have a good backup, just in case something goes wrong :wink:

Shane
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Oceanblue23 on March 27, 2013, 07:35:42 AM
i want to backup my whole hard drive which is the best method of doing this...
Title: Re: MDAC Not Found in Windows 7
Post by: Shane on March 27, 2013, 06:49:03 PM
You really only need to backup what you cant replace. A backup is nothing more than a copy of something.

SO when you do a backup you want to save the backup to a totally different drive. This way if your drive dies your backup doesnt go with it.

The one I use is fBackup
http://www.fbackup.com/

Shane