Author Topic: Fix Gadget not working win7  (Read 19730 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Fix Gadget not working win7
« on: October 09, 2011, 07:57:07 AM »
Sometimes I have problem with gadgets in win 7 and especially with the calender not working (it's just a blank white page).

I use this script, and it's working for me.
(It will work on both 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 7)

1. First go to an folder of your choice or the desktop and right-click and choose new and text document.
Name it Reset_Gadgets.bat, click yes then it ask if you want to change the extension.

2. Right-click over Reset_Gadgets.bat and choose edit

3. Then paste this

taskkill /im sidebar.exe /f
regsvr32 /s msxml3.dll
regsvr32 /s scrrun.dll
regsvr32 /s jscript.dll
regsvr32 /s atl.dll
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"
reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones" /f
"C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

4. Then click on archive and save.

5. Try it!  :tongue:
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2011, 11:33:09 AM »
Thanks for the repair guide :-)

I will get this added to the Windows repair tool as well later this week.

I would make some small changes. My Windows 7 has both a 64 & 32 bit of the sidebar on the system. There was a few gadgets that would only work with the 32 bit version and there was a reg trick to have a 64 bit version of windows run the 32 bit sidebar in order for them to work.

So here is the changes I would make.
I will add the 32 bit ones for a 64 bit system as well, on a 32 bit system the bat file would just move right past it.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc749104%28WS.10%29.aspx


taskkill /im sidebar.exe /f
regsvr32 /s msxml3.dll
regsvr32 /s scrrun.dll
regsvr32 /s jscript.dll
regsvr32 /s atl.dll
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"
reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones" /f
"%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"


So I just added these 2 lines
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"

and changed the last line from
"C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"
to
"%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

Just for those People who don't have Windows on C: :wink:

Great fix, I didn't know this one, so this will be a nice addition to the repair program and very helpful for any readers that need it.

Thanks again!

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2011, 03:09:37 PM »
Added to the program. Thanks again bud :-)

Tweaking.com - Windows Repair (All in One) v1.4.0
http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/windows_repair_all_in_one.html

v1.4.0
Removed the custom buttons from the program. It was causing the program to crash on some systems. Program is meant to repair, not look pretty, so ugly standard safe buttons it is :-)
Add new repair "Repair Windows Sidebar/Gadgets"
Changed the window size of the repair window, making it smaller and easier to fit on screen for smaller resolutions.
More code tweaks.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2011, 05:51:12 AM »
Nice to see that you added "Repair Windows Sidbar/Gadgets" to windows repair  :cheesy:.

 But I wonder if you can chance one thing about "Repair Windows Sidbar/Gadgets", that is I would like to run it without having to restart windows or log out. I want it to be like the "Reset_Gadgets.bat" that you run it and repair it at once. Do you think it's possible to have it like that?

Thanks for your answars earlier   :smiley:

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2011, 09:59:02 AM »
I have the repair program write the bat file out then run it. When I had
"%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

In the bat file the bat file would never close. So I had to remove it. I could just add the command to be ran from the program directly :-)

I will add it to the next version. For now all you have to do is start the sidebar with that reapir, no need to restart. The other repairs need a restart though.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2011, 10:36:03 AM »
Done, the sidebar will open after the repair in the next version :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2011, 05:01:01 AM »
I tried Windows repair 1.4.1 and specially "Repair Windows Sidebar/Gadgets"
 
3 of my gadget disappear then I tried "Repair Windows Sidebar/Gadgets (Calender
Gadget 1.1.0.0, Intel Turbo Boost Technology Monitor 1.0 and Clock 1.0.0.0),
and it seems that I have to restart to gain access to them again?
No, they didn't came back even if I restarted win 7!
 And this 2 disappear and came back as I think it should
Earthquakes meter v 1.1 and All CPU Meter v3.7
Don't know if it is 64 and 32-bit thing?
I think so, I had a look in the "Process explorer" before I started a repair in
"windows repair", there was a 64-bit siderbar.exe and after there is not.
But if I take my own "Reset_Gadgets.bat" it all cames back at once.

Ok now I see that you have written about it in the text above here;
"I have the repair program write the bat file out then run it. When I had
"%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"
In the bat file the bat file would never close. So I had to remove it."


What about adding: start "" in the bat file? So it automatically closes.
So it lookes like this:
start "" "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"
I have tried it on my bat file and it does automatically closes down.

And if somebody wants to see what happens then the bat is run, it is also
possibly to add Timeout 10(or what number you want), so it waits 10 seconds
before it closes down automatically.

I was thinking about the text in "Repair Windows Sidebar/Gadgets:"
Maybee you could change this text "(Such as gadgets with just a white
background)" to something like (Such as Calender Gadget with a blank page)
This is how the Calender gadget looks like when it doesn't work:
http://geeksensei.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/calendar.png

After it is finished the button popup that is asking if I want would like to
restart now? Is it possible not to have the popup here? I understand that I
must restart for the other "repair options" it is necessary for this option? =)

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2011, 09:10:09 AM »
I think I know what is going on.

IN the program I have it set like this

        Call RepairSidebar(TextSidebar)
        DoEvents
        Call ShellExecute(hWnd, "Open", TextProgramFiles.Text & "\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe", "", "", 1)
        DoEvents

So once the sidebar repair is done it opens the sidebar.

I also tried your
start "" "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

And that works from the bat file as well.

This is the current bat file in the program

Quote
taskkill /im sidebar.exe /f
regsvr32 /s msxml3.dll
regsvr32 /s scrrun.dll
regsvr32 /s jscript.dll
regsvr32 /s atl.dll
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"

On my 64 bit Win 7 I looked at the task manger first and seen that the 32 bit sidebar was running. I closed it and ran both yours and my commands
start "" "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

They both opened the 64 bit version of the sidebar.

Could this be why your gadgets didn't show up, they need the 32 bit version?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2011, 10:26:42 AM »
Then i start my computer the 64-bit version of sidebar.exe is running.
I thought both my 32-bit and 64-bit sidebar.exe was running at the same time,
but I have restarted win 7 64-bit several times and it's only 64-bit that is running.

Then i try "Repair Windows Sidebar/Gadgets" in windows repair it starts the 32-bit sidebar.exe.

It seems that then I'm running the 64-bit everything works as it should for me.

I tried your your current bat file

taskkill /im sidebar.exe /f
regsvr32 /s msxml3.dll
regsvr32 /s scrrun.dll
regsvr32 /s jscript.dll
regsvr32 /s atl.dll
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sbdrop.dll"
Regsvr32 /s "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\wlsrvc.dll"

It closes all my gadgets/sidebar and they dont restart.

I tried to add both this at the same time
start "" "%ProgramFiles(X86)%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe"
start "" "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

But It started the 64-bit version of sidebar.exe.

I have noticed then I try the bat file many times my Intel TurboBoost gadget
stop working, I have to restart windows then it works again.
So my bat-file can't resolve that(but that isn't a issue for me).   :wink:

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2011, 10:58:18 AM »
Windows folder redirection. I didn't have it turned off on the section that opened the sidebar, so the 32bit version was loading. And since it loaded it set it self at start up, that's why I had the 32 bit version running on my system. On a 64 bit system 64 bit should be the default.

So since this should work in the bat now
start "" "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe"

I will add that back to the bat file and remove the way I have it going now. So that should load up the 64bit version and no hold up the repair by not letting the cmd window close :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Tomas_Sweden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2011, 07:00:01 AM »
I have tried "Repair Windwos Sidebar/Gadgets" in "Repair Windows 1.5.0" and it
works like before, it clean all the sidebar/gadgets but only the 32-bit loads up again.

I see that you have added "Set Windows Services To Default Startup" that must
have taken a long time to check all the entries, nice one  :cheesy:

Tomas
Dell Laptop XPS L501X Intel i5-560M(2.66GHz), Win 7 Home Prem(SP1) 64 Bit, 4 GB RAM. Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256 GB.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Fix Gadget not working win7
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2011, 10:27:45 AM »
Yeah it took a little while lol

On the sidebar I found on my system that which ever one I had open last (32 or 64bit) will be the one that starts up next time.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com