Author Topic: Registry Backup v1.60  (Read 25998 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Registry Backup v1.60
« on: May 30, 2013, 04:50:39 AM »
Here's another suggestion for RB v1.61:

As mentioned in this thread
http://www.tweaking.com/forums/index.php/topic,1115.0.html

WR comes with RB included. When WR is installed then it also installs RB. But a new user isn't aware of this program (RB) because the WR installation program doesn't place a shortcut to RB on the desktop.

Suggestions:
1. Place a shortcut to RB on the desktop.
2. Add a "Splash screen" to RB that pops up as soon as RB starts. In that "Splash screen" RB can give the user more details what the RB program is all about. (Yes, computer users are lazy ;-) ).
3. Add to that "Splash screen" an option called "Don't show this message again". This allows anyone who's familiar with the program to skip this "splash screen" and go directly to the program itself.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 05:17:31 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2013, 04:56:31 PM »
Placing a shortcut ont he desktop with the Windows repair tool doesnt require a new version to RB, it is just a change in the setup to place the short cut.

Still not sure if I want to do that because people will think it is another program installed and if they uninstall the WR the RB goes with it.

As for the splash screen you would be shocked at how many people dont read a dang thing! lol

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2013, 11:46:54 AM »
When is RB v1.6.2 released ?

See also my suggestions in this thread:
http://www.tweaking.com/forums/index.php/topic,699.0.html

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2013, 01:28:40 PM »
I got 1.6.1 out right away because it fixed a crashing bug when it closes. So nothing for 1.6.2 just yet. And that old suggestion from dec 2012 I already said wouldn't work properly so I wasn't going to do it :-)

Hopefully my game will be out this weekend, just waiting to rerecord a few sounds. My next thing I want to focus on is an update for Windows repair. I want to get a ton more services added to it and get a nice update out for it.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2013, 02:54:52 PM »
It seems you didn't go through all my suggestions in that thread. I made multiple ones, even after december 2012.

E.g. from March 23 & 24 of this year ? (reply #36 & 38) ?
http://www.tweaking.com/forums/index.php/topic,699.msg6713.html#msg6713 & later.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2013, 02:56:29 PM »
I will need to rego through them then.

The last 3 months have been hell on me as I have worked so much and so hard to get this game done I cant think straight. I am looking forward to getting updates out for my programs.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2013, 03:05:44 PM »
No need to rush it !!! :smiley: But I thought you've seen my suggestions.  :wink:  :smiley:

Watch your bank account !! A second donation is coming !!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2013, 03:11:18 PM »
Make a note and after you see a new version of the Windows repair come out to remind me about your suggestions for RB :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2013, 11:46:19 AM »
Found the place where Win 7 stores RB's crashdumps. See attachment.
When I look at the date of the dumps then it seems that - on average - less and less crashdumps were created (v1.5x & v1.60). It may be a bit premature but with v1.6.1 installed (as soon as it was released), up to now not a single RB crashdump showed up.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2013, 09:42:53 PM »
I think I finally got the dang crashes fixed :-D

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2013, 10:22:08 AM »
RB needs WMI and VSS to run properly. Therefore, I think, adding the Tweaking.com stand alone WMI & VSS repait tool to the installer package would be a good idea.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2013, 11:42:54 AM »
The program code of RB needs to be improved. After I tried to use the program, it failed and then this picture showed up. See attachment.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2013, 10:11:19 AM »
Looks like the treeview didnt redraw, you see the part red? That is where the other window was open over it, so Windows redrew it properly. (Minimize it and bring it backup and it will look right because Windows redraws the Window when you do)

The rest didnt get refreshed so it didnt get redrawn.

I will take a look and see if I can for it to redraw.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2013, 07:59:22 AM »
I Installed RB v1.61 about a month ago and since then Windows 7 didn't create a single Crashdump.  :cheesy: :cheesy:
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 08:01:33 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2013, 01:23:59 AM »
Very good to hear :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2013, 04:04:27 PM »
I still don't like a number of things in RB v1.61:
- I think RB should always display the current backup folder in the settings menu. The default backup folder is "C:\regbackup" When I uncheck "Change Backup Location" then RB will backup in a subfolder of where RB is installed. OK, fine. But then let that folder show up in the "Settings menu" as well. And store that info in "Settings.ini".
- When there's internet connection available then RB keep saying "Checking ....". Just terminate that "Checking ..." after, say 1 or 2 minutes.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2013, 10:20:25 AM »
- I can click on tabs when RB is busy making a "Shadow Copy". But when I do that then RB is guaranteed to fail to use the VSS method. Suggestion: Block/grey out, when RB is busy making a "Shadow copy", as much buttons/options as possible.
- Since installation of RB v1.61 in early june no RB crashdumps have shown up.  :cheesy:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #17 on: August 01, 2013, 04:42:44 PM »
Quote
- I think RB should always display the current backup folder in the settings menu. The default backup folder is "C:\regbackup" When I uncheck "Change Backup Location" then RB will backup in a subfolder of where RB is installed. OK, fine. But then let that folder show up in the "Settings menu" as well. And store that info in "Settings.ini".

I have it clear because of it being portable. If you run it off a thumb drive on multiple computers and such I need to have it point to a default location.

I will work on an update on some of the things you pointed out later. I finally am done with the game and I want to put my focus into the Windows repair 2.0 :-)

Which of course you will be a big part of anyways lol

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2013, 01:58:11 AM »
RB contains a bug. I ticked "Always use the fallback method ...." and hit "Backup Now". Then RB uses a backup API to backup 10 of the 13 Win 7 hives. It then also doesn't create a "Log_vss.txt" file.
When I untick "Always use the fallback method ..... " then, according to the "Backup progress" window, RB uses VSS but then it seems it only backs up 10 of the 13 (Win 7) hives. Then RB also doesn't create a file called "Log_vss.txt" in the appropriate "C:\regbackup" subfolder. When RB uses the "Fallback" option then it creates 13 instead of 17 files in a "c:\Regbackup" subfolder.
So, RB fails to take into account that I have changed this option. I must restart RB to get this properly working again.

I also installed RB v1.61 on my XP laptop but there it has very hard time using VSS, in spite of the VSS & SWPRV services running. I then have to run WR to repair WMI and that seems to be the only trick to let RB succesfully use VSS. Because selecting "VSS_XP.exe" instead of "Auto Detect" doesn't help either. Did you change anything major/relevant in the programcode between RB v1.61 and say v1.60 or v1.52 ?

RB reads "settings.ini" upon start up. But I think RB should re-read that file right after the user has hit "Backup Now" and right before RB starts the actual back up process. Then it starts using the latest changes as well. That's the reason for this "Always use the fallback method ...... " bug.

There's a variable called "DidProperlyClose" (Settings.ini). It's set to "False" when the RB program starts. I think it should be set to this value right before the actual back up process starts and set to "True" as soon as the back up process has succesfully finished and not when the program closes.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 12:33:41 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #19 on: August 05, 2013, 02:08:03 PM »
Did some more testing. When I start RB and make a backup (with the “Always use Fallback method” option selected) then RB operates like it should. But when I, after that, untick “Always use Fallback ......." then things start to go wrong:
The GUI suggests that RB uses the “Shadow Volume Copy” option:
- two progress bars show up.
- the text “ "Waiting for Volume Shadow Copy"“ shows up in the progress window.

But other things clearly suggest that RB uses the “Fallback” method:
- it doesn’t create a file “log_vss.txt” in the appropriate “C:\Regbackup” subfolder.
- In Win XP, RB says it backed up only 11 hives instead of all 12 hives. And in Win 7 it only backs up 10 instead of all 13 hives.
This clearly suggests that RB isn't "too stable".

- When I hit “Use fallback method” button then a message shows up that contains the words “for now on”. What’s meant by this ?  “for now” or “from now on” ?

- Before I repaired WMI, RB v1.61 had problems using VSS, even when I switched from "Auto detect" to "vss_xp.exe". That seems to suggest that WMI needs to function properly for both methods.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 03:03:33 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #20 on: August 06, 2013, 09:14:38 PM »
I may have to do an update to the reg backup before the windows repair tool, I dont have Windows 8, I need to get my test machine back up. But a user said on the 8.1 preveiw it couldnt detect which version of Windows, so I need to see if it was WMI messed up or does 8.1 have a new version number? e.g: 6.2

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #21 on: August 06, 2013, 11:24:31 PM »
Yes. Good idea. Then you can go through all the other suggestions I made previously as well.

I thought Windows has a systemvariable (%winver%) that allows the user to see which OS is being used ?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #22 on: August 06, 2013, 11:30:45 PM »
That is what I need to check.

Then when I do the update I can go over your posts here.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #23 on: August 06, 2013, 11:44:48 PM »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #24 on: August 07, 2013, 07:41:18 AM »
I forgot to report one more thing. When I installed RB v1.61 on my XP laptop then it regularly gave an error message ("RB caused an error and needs to be closed") when it was making a backup upon start up. When I looked at the logfiles, it seemed (!!) that it succesfully made a back up and when it wanted to close itself the program caused this error.

But after I repaired WMI this error didn't occur anymore. Is there anything in that part of the program code that uses WMI ?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 12:01:53 PM by Willy2 »