Author Topic: Registry Backup v1.60  (Read 25535 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #25 on: August 10, 2013, 01:26:39 AM »
It uses wmi to pull the system info. Which I am thinking of redoing and to have the api get the info instead of wmi.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #26 on: August 10, 2013, 12:37:59 PM »
Currently I have SWPRV related problems on my XP laptop. Perhaps that was the source of RB malfunctioning. Perhpaps later more.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #27 on: August 11, 2013, 02:11:20 AM »
Re-installed XP and now the SWPRV service is funtioning normal again. I noticed that both Windows System Restore & RB turn the VSS & SWPRV services on. Perhaps some program interfered with those services and then (one of) these two services "were thrown off the rails".

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #28 on: August 14, 2013, 11:34:47 AM »
- The combination of RB and Task Scheduler doesn't produce stable results on my XP machine. When the RB Task is run under the System Account upon start up, the RB Task isn't run at all. But it works well when run under the User Account. And the name & timestamps of the folder/files (in "C:\regbackup") involved do confirm that.

I used Piriform's CCleaner (CC, http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner) to check what it would report on Task Scheduler (The Win 7 Task Scheduler has one or more non fatal bugs). CC has an option that lets the user see what's in Task Scheduler (Click "Tools", "Start Up", "Scheduled Tasks" in CC) and it confirmed what I wrote above. CC recognizes the RB Task when run under the "User Account" but it fails to recognize the RB task when it's supposed to run under the System Account. And then, of course, Windows won't recognize it as well and won't execute the RB Task.

This also could be the reason for other odd behaviour as described in previous posts. I have added the Task Scheduler Jobs as created by RB for XP for both accounts (both 32 bits) in the attachment.

Do these bugs/this odd behaviour apply to other versions of Windows as well ? Did you change that particular part of the program code in recent RB versions ? I noticed that a Win 8 user had a similar problem.

- Another confusing thing in RB: When RB has used the "Fall back" method once (because VSS doesn't work) then the text (in yellow) "Currently using the Fallback .............." shows up. When the user makes a second copy then first RB tries to use VSS again. But then the text "Currently using Fallback method ........... " isn't removed/blanked out. Very confusing. That text should - IMO - be removed when RB tries to apply the VSS method and show up (again) only when RB starts/tries to use the fallback method (again !!).

These problems clearly suggest RB needs an upgrade, needs to be improved.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 07:36:29 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #29 on: August 15, 2013, 04:00:53 PM »
I will be working on an update soon.

As for not running under the system account I am not sure. Only thing I can think of is something isnt right with the system account. I have seen that before on Windows xp and 2003, where the authentication on the system is messed up.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #30 on: August 17, 2013, 02:26:53 AM »
Perhaps my HD from my XP laptop is to blame. It's manufactured in 2003 but CHKDSK reported no disk errors. Odd.

Placed a shortcut in one of the "start up" folders and now it works fine (even with VSS). So, the problem seems to be the System Account.
That brings me to another thought. Does RB need Task Scheduler to perform properly ? Or perhaps it can be started with an entry in the appropriate registry key ?
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 02:40:51 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #31 on: August 26, 2013, 06:48:55 PM »
I have it use the task scheduler because of the user access control. Only way to make it work without popping up asking for permission on Windows vista and newer :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #32 on: August 26, 2013, 07:20:19 PM »
After doing A LOT OF testing I - more and more - DO get the impression (I have ZERO proof) that Microsoft is VERY desparate to get Windows 8 working, to improve Windows 8. The problem with that is that other parts of their OS software (XP, Vista, Win 7) don't get the attantion they deserve. In other words, it seems Microsoft is getting "(a little bit) sloppy" when it comes to their OS updates. That could (!!!) be the reason programs like RB don't work too well anymore. But it's all a hunch, an impression.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #33 on: August 26, 2013, 09:38:32 PM »
Unless they did change something on the system there shouldnt be any reason why reg backup is having trouble.

I run it on multiple xp machines with all updates and there isnt any problems.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #34 on: August 27, 2013, 02:28:53 PM »
I just wanted to let you know I am going down the list and making changes to the reg backup.

On the task scheduler.

When ran as system it is set to run at system startup. When ran as current user it is set to run at the log in of any user.

I think that is why your having trouble with it under the system account. It is running at startup and most likly before other services and such are running.

So I am going to have the system account run at user logon instead just like I have the others.

Shane
« Last Edit: August 27, 2013, 02:43:26 PM by Shane »
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #35 on: August 27, 2013, 11:59:45 PM »
I tried number of things to get RB properly function on my XP laptop but to no avail. Even when I use a shortcut placed in a "Startup" folder then even then VSS won't work. It seems XP needs to "warm up" for, say 5 or 10 minutes before VSS starts to work. So, more and more I believe my XP machine is to blame. Something in the current setup blocks VSS from working.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #36 on: August 28, 2013, 12:41:53 AM »
I will have the new version ready for you to try if you like :-)

I have everything done, I wanted to look to see if I can find a way to handle when user profiles are on a different drive letter, works fine with fall back but not with vss. But very few people have their profiles on a different drive so dont know if I will let me hold back the new version.

All I need is some testing. Want to get your hands on it? I am trying to decide to call it v1.6.5 or 1.7.0 because of the amount of code changes I made.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #37 on: August 28, 2013, 05:10:41 AM »
Send it. You know my email adress.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #38 on: September 03, 2013, 05:55:35 AM »
First impressions for RB v.165:
- Still not able to run VSS on my XP laptop. For the time being I blame it on the fact that I registered too much files.
- I installed RB v1.65 in the WR v1.9.15 subfolder. But now when RB is started then the GUI is opened in a window and it doesn't show the full RB GUI.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #39 on: September 03, 2013, 04:04:19 PM »
Make sure to delete ALL the files out of the reg backup folder in WR first. I changed some files and need to make sure the new files are put in there.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #40 on: September 03, 2013, 06:34:23 PM »
I checked and it is when the -auto is used. I am making a new exe for the reg backup that will be with the windows repair and have that fixed.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #41 on: September 06, 2013, 06:44:26 AM »
Came across something interesting. I ran RB (v1.67) from WR but making a RB backup takes about 1 minute. I didn't want to wait for RB to finish and went to the main WR repair screen. And before I started any WR Repair, I kept watching RB making its backup and noticed that a backup with VSS failed. RB then started to use the FallBack method. Fearing VSS was broken, I went back to "Step 4" in WR and made a new RB registry copy. But it turned out that VSS was still "alive and kicking".

@Shane: You're familiar with the WR & RB program code. Would this behaviour give you a (better) clue why VSS, doesn't work (in a number of cases) ?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2013, 10:21:34 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #42 on: September 06, 2013, 03:40:55 PM »
The program only calls VSS to make a snap shot, from there it is on its own. Then my program waits for the shanpshot. If VSS has trouble or fails the vss script doesnt say it was good and so my program uses the fall back.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Registry Backup v1.60
« Reply #43 on: September 17, 2013, 01:09:37 PM »
But this behaviour also tells me that some program code WR uses "gets in the way" of VSS functioning properly.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2013, 04:01:04 AM by Willy2 »