Author Topic: SFC Not Working  (Read 7414 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Oscar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
SFC Not Working
« on: October 23, 2013, 02:59:44 PM »
Hi i set the SFC in AIO repair and the CMD window closed.

When i run SFC manually and as administrator it says "There is a system repair pending which requires reboot to complete", but when i reboot and start SFC it comes up with the same message.

Please can you help

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 07:26:43 PM »
I dont know on that one with SFC, have you done any windows updates or anything lately?

If the sfc wont work you can skip it.

Shane

Offline Oscar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 01:23:36 AM »
Hi Shane thanks for your reply

This is on a Vista machine

No i haven't done any Windows updates lately

When i run it on AIO repair it asks for press any key to continue but when i do this the cmd closes.

Thanks again

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2013, 04:04:45 PM »
Yeah sounds like SFC simply isnt going to work. Go ahead and skip that step and continue onto the repairs :wink:

Shane

Offline Oscar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2013, 02:05:10 AM »
Hi Shane thank you

Please can you look at the attachments

This is with the same laptop (Vista)

I am running a Acoustic program on it and using a Pre/Soundcard (audio interface) Steinberg (Yamaha) CI 1 that is hooked via USB , so doesn't use the on board Realtek sound card.

I get strange phenomena s with the Realtek, almost like it gets in the way.

How can i correct this, i will not be using Realtek for this program?

Thanks again

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2013, 04:39:23 PM »
Looks like it is having trouble working with the 2 different audio cards.

You could try disabling the realtek in the device manager, or if you dont use the onboard sound you could uninstall the realtek software and drivers as well.

Shane

Offline Oscar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2013, 01:47:44 AM »
Thanks Shane

If i disable Realtek will that give the same result as uninstalling?

Thanks again

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2013, 01:20:39 PM »
It should since the hardware will be disabled. You can even disable it in the bios as well if you want to go an extra step.

Shane

Offline Oscar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2013, 12:58:00 AM »
It should since the hardware will be disabled. You can even disable it in the bios as well if you want to go an extra step.

Shane


Thanks Shane

In Vista where would i find bios?

Thank you

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: SFC Not Working
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2013, 03:14:12 AM »
Bios is the software that runs on the mother board itself. It is outside of Windows and is part of the motherboard. You normally get into it with the del key or something else when you first turn on the computer.

Shane