Author Topic: Bad Image Error when opening .exe's  (Read 3786 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rolemodel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Bad Image Error when opening .exe's
« on: March 12, 2014, 10:54:32 AM »
I have encountered this error numerous times before after removing malware and certain toolbars, and think it will be a great idea to add this fix into your program if it is not in already.

Quote
Problem: When any program is opened, "Bad Image" error is displayed prior to the program opening.

Cause: Generally caused by viruses, toolbars, or a failed install/uninstall of software changing "AppInit_DLLs" registry entry.

Fix: Go to Registry Editor [Regedit]
-> Browse to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows
-> Edit Reg_SZ Entry called "AppInit_DLLs"
-> Clear Contents of String.
-> Close registry editor & try open a program.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bad Image Error when opening .exe's
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 11:21:05 AM »
I see malwarebytes pop that up when I run scans, if it is something that should never be on a normal system, then yes I should add it to the repairs :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Rolemodel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Bad Image Error when opening .exe's
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2014, 11:40:20 AM »
I have been running my windows 7 for a long time and am using Vipre Antivirus which works like a charm, also I have not had any toolbars as I know what to look out for. I am also running a clean Windows XP Mode for testing certain batch files and commands. I have checked both of their registry's and both are clean. I am almost 100% sure this is the way is should be, but I will check in the next few days when I do clean OS reinstalls at work.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bad Image Error when opening .exe's
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2014, 11:57:28 AM »
Looks like it is a old registry option back from the Windows 95 days.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/197571

While no program should be using it Windows still supports it. It allows dll files to be loaded at startup. Which is something only viruses I have seen do.

Need to do a little more research but I think this is a regkey that should always be removed. The only real drawback would be any old programs people still use that need it, but I have a feeling even for old programs that is a long shot.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bad Image Error when opening .exe's
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2014, 11:59:59 AM »
I added this to the "Remove Policies Set By Infections" and will be in the next update 2.6.0 :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Rolemodel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Bad Image Error when opening .exe's
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2014, 07:46:03 AM »
Im glad to hear, and happy I could contribute to your excellent work.