Author Topic: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise  (Read 8594 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wolverine 7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi all,,having run sfc /scannow as part of periodic maintenence on my laptop i just got the
Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them.
Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example
C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log message

Windows 7 starter (group policy installed)_msi u135dx netbook - no install disk but system is imaged twice.
Just got this,second hand but barely used,problem here appeared after updating the computer (130 pending) also installed some gadgets - updated fine but now i get the file checker message.

Can anyone advise? thanks

CBS.log shows:
2014-05-18 11:35:54, Info CBS SQM: Failed to start upload with file pattern: C:\windows\servicing\sqm\*_std.sqm, flags: 0x2 [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]
2014-05-18 11:35:54, Info CBS SQM: Failed to start standard sample upload. [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]
2014-05-18 11:35:54, Info CBS SQM: Queued 0 file(s) for upload with pattern: C:\windows\servicing\sqm\*_all.sqm, flags: 0x6
2014-05-18 11:35:54, Info CBS SQM: Warning: Failed to upload all unsent reports. [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]

and a lot of

2014-05-18 11:36:28, Info CBS Failed to internally open package. [HRESULT = 0x800f0805 - CBS_E_INVALID_PACKAGE]
2014-05-18 11:36:28, Info CBS Session: 30372485_109803000 initialized by client WindowsUpdateAgent.
2014-05-18 11:36:28, Info CBS Failed to internally open package. [HRESULT = 0x800f0805 - CBS_E_INVALID_PACKAGE]

About another 30 INVALID_PACKAGE errors.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 05:59:54 PM »
When the winsxs folder gets corrupt normally the only way to fix it is with a repair install. This is one of the reason why I hate the winsxs folder.
http://blogs.technet.com/b/askcore/archive/2008/09/17/what-is-the-winsxs-directory-in-windows-2008-and-windows-vista-and-why-is-it-so-large.aspx

So instead of doing afresh install and having to reinstall everything you can do a repair install instead and keep all the files and programs.

First you need a Windows 7 with SP1 disc, you can grab an image of that here
https://sites.google.com/site/linuxlablibrary/windows-iso

Then just follow this guide :-)
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

Shane

Offline Wolverine 7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2014, 04:48:28 AM »
Shane,thamks for your reply and for the links,was going in that direction. :smiley:
Presumably if i use the iso on win 7 starter i need to edit it,ie remove the ei.cfg file so i get version
options on install?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 04:58:03 AM by Wolverine 7 »

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2014, 10:25:21 AM »
I want to the link for Windows 7 SP1 iso. The question is what is the difference between Windows 7 SP1 and Windows 7 SP1 Media Refresh? Thanks This would be a good thing to have if I need to ever to a repair.

Offline Wolverine 7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2014, 09:58:06 AM »
Quote
I want to the link for Windows 7 SP1 iso. The question is what is the difference between Windows 7 SP1 and Windows 7 SP1 Media Refresh? Thanks This would be a good thing to have if I need to ever to a repair
.

Dont think theres a diference,Shane will probably confirm...as long as we use the same win version should be easy,or edit the ei.cfg file,ie remove it which will give version options on install.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2014, 10:48:07 AM »
Not sure what the media refresh one is since I never use it. My Windows 7 ISO I have gives me an option to choose from every version, since they are all the same.

And if your a modder and you know how to remake the iso after you edit it then yes you can simply modify one of the iso from there and make it to where it gives you the option of all the versions of Windows instead of just one. :wink:

There is a TON of tools out there to help with that, I just updated my Windows 7 ISO with more network and raid drivers and all Windows 7 updates up to feb to make my reinstalls easier :-)

But again, not for the common user to do that.

Shane

Offline Wolverine 7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: sfc found corrupt files but "was unable to fix",please advise
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2014, 12:56:23 PM »
Looking around,the"Media refresh"is the latest version so probably the one you want,you can get
Win 7 with sp1 already intergrated here.

http://www.heidoc.net/joomla/technology-science/microsoft/14-windows-7-direct-download-links

Think were solved on this one.
Thanks Shane. :artist: