Author Topic: Envelope Printer  (Read 38509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Envelope Printer
« on: August 31, 2014, 10:33:52 AM »
Hello Shane, it would be handy to be able to move the address around as the default mode puts it near the bottom of the envelope.

I use a Canon MP Pixma 600 printer and notice the envelope printer dpi box remains blank.

I have Acer M5201 mainframe using IE 9, Vista Home Premium, 4 gb mem, 2 x 640 gb hdd.

Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2014, 04:02:44 PM »
Quote
Hello Shane, it would be handy to be able to move the address around as the default mode puts it near the bottom of the envelope.

Right now the program puts the delivery address in the center (the first line is in the center of the envelope), and it determines where the center is based on the size that you choose.

If it is putting it near the bottom I wonder if you might try another size? What size are you using? And what font and font size? I can try it on my end to see if it does it for me as well :-)

Quote
I use a Canon MP Pixma 600 printer and notice the envelope printer dpi box remains blank.

Then windows isnt reporting it. My programs asks windows for the printer information and that information is what ever the printer driver reports back to it. The program itself doesnt talk directly to the printer but instead goes through windows to work with the printer. It is ok if it is blank though  :wink:

On your vista system do you have service pack 2 installed and all updates after that?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2014, 05:57:47 AM »
Yes, the printout does commence with the first line on centre of envelopes DL and 4.5 x 6.4 and choosing a particular size prevents clipping of the address so my query was about moving the address to a position of composition and balance. Mind you, I prefer to use your program rather than write the address.  Vista has SP2 and all updates installed. Thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2014, 09:58:24 AM »
Perhaps I just need to change the math. Centering the address based on the first line is normally fine, but what about when someone uses a large font? So maybe I need to tweak the math to center the address from the center line so that it is truly center. Then that way no matter the font it will always be center (As long as the font isnt gigantic of course lol)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2014, 07:10:10 PM »
How does this look to you?

In the current version only the top line of the address is centered. Which if the font is to big it wont fit. So in the new version I am working on I have it properly ceneter the whole address, so now no matter the size of the font it will be centered. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2014, 02:50:24 AM »
Font 24 looks good. Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2014, 09:18:02 AM »
Font 24 looks good. Thanks

Just used that as an example, you will see font 14 and 24 are both in the center now. You can change the font and font size to anything you like in the program :-)

I just put out the new version 1.4.3 :wink:

shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2014, 11:23:07 AM »
Shane, although I have been into computers for nigh on 30 years or so I do not have the savvy to program (well, I did in Basic English on the Amstrad computers) so those of your ilk are a class apart. Thanks once again for your speedy enhancement of Envelope Printer to v1.4.3.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2014, 12:41:12 PM »
I care about my work and I was happy to do it :-)

If you need anything else just let me know.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline sonam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2014, 08:30:12 PM »
Thanks for making such a time saving software.
I want some refinement in the software but I don't know how to do that.
I want to print Return Address at either of the following Locations on envelop:
1. Top Left
2. Top Right
3. Top Center
4. Bottom Left
5. Bottom Center
6. Bottom Right.
as now it prints on the top left hand side of the envelop only
Please add these options to Return Address.
Regards,

Sonam

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2014, 05:17:31 AM »
I did originally think of asking Shane to contemplate doing the same but with the send address. EasyMail Plus has such a function but it prints envelopes with text characters missing but I do prefer a standalone envelope printer hence my choice of Shane's work.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2014, 12:54:31 PM »
Reason why I have it printing the return address in the top left is because that is where it is suppose to be. At least from all the mail I have seen, I googled to check other formats and I didn't find any others that had the return address in a different location. At the same time though I am only in the US, so I dont know if there are other spots others might but the return address.

Is that why you wish to change the return address location? Because in your area it is simply in a different spot?

For the program itself it is all simply math. I tell the printer the X and Y cords to print something. (How far from the top and how far from the left, x & y)

So like I did with the last update to properly center the delivery address was just a few lines of extra code to simply do the math to determine the X & Y cords for the current envelope site.

The reason I tell you this is because to have the return address be in a different location is simply changing the math, and so I could do it. I would just have to fingure out where the best place for that setting would be and then put in the net math for the X & Y based on the location the user wants.

That option would still keep the program in control of the locations based on the site. Another option would be to give the user the option of Adding Or Subtracting to the X and Y the program comes up with, allowing you to move and tweak the positions of the address. That one would take more work of course.

Thoughts from both of you?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2014, 02:12:48 PM »
Hi Shane, I would not deem it necessary to have the send address capable of being sent to various compass points but just a modicum of user control to move it en bloc to a position on the envelope for a balanced look. EasyMail Plus allows the user to select a move address function which places a dotted box around the address to enable the action to take place. Your latest update is quite suitable for DL and 4.5 x 6.4 envelopes. I have not tried printing on other sizes as these two are what I use most. Over here in England it is usual to put the from address anywhere but the top right as that is the stamp area.  Based on reading from left to right the from address looks more balanced if set at top left and your product allows a text size for it not to take up a great amount of space.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2014, 02:29:52 PM »
I will work on it now and see what I can come up with. Just have to find a spot to put the new setting as there isnt much space left on the main window lol.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2014, 10:42:31 PM »
Ok v1.5.0 is done and I will put it out tomorrow after I wake up.

Ended up taking me the last 9 hours straight to do it. While yes, it shouldn't have taken that long since it is just simply handling the math for the positions, I also had to do all the math with the logo as well since you can have the logo set in different positions around the return address.

Then when I thought I was done and the test prints to pdf where coming out great I did the tests to my printer and found that things where not fitting and going off. Turns out since I was always doing the top left for the return address I didnt have to worry about the printer margins. Well those are rather important now lol

So i added the code to take the margins into account, I should say the minimum allowed margins. So that had to be added to all the math as well.

I then also updated the print preview to show the margins border so a user will truly know how it will come out on the envelope :artist:

Here are some screen shots, hope this is what was wanted :-)

Also added a screen shot showing where I put the new option on the main window.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2014, 02:25:22 PM »
Shane, you are a wizard! Although personally I would only normally use top left for the Return Address I can see a use for the other positions in particular instances. For example I have just sent a home movie DVD to a friend in Scotland but instead of using a return address I typed in a heavier font "PLEASE DO NOT BEND. THANK YOU" placing it top left but the choice of position is handy. Over here one of the parameters applying to sending air mail is that the return address must be on the same side as the destination address.  I have just noticed, and this in no way detracts from your expertise, is that in the mass print panel 1. the word window reads mindow.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2014, 03:51:48 PM »
Quote
I have just noticed, and this in no way detracts from your expertise, is that in the mass print panel 1. the word window reads mindow.

LOL, I wish VB had a spell checker in it sometimes lol

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline sonam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2014, 10:45:12 PM »
Hi Shane
Thank you very much for making those changes, now it is perfect. I have one issue now that when i press Font Tab "Edit Delivery Address Font" or "Edit Return Address Font" nothing happened.
Any suggestion on "how to change font settings".

Regards,
Sonam

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2014, 02:12:09 AM »
Hello Sonam, I have installed v1.5.0 on my Vista Home Premium os computer and all functions work. Why not uninstall v1.5.0, install the prev version and check if the font change functions still work. I keep all my master programs in a folder and do not delete and replace them with updated versions until those updates work ok.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2014, 09:37:47 AM »
Odd, the code for the opening of the font box hasnt changed. My program calls windows to open the font option box, my program doesnt make it itself. So it is odd it isnt opening at all.

I am also getting ready to put out v1.5.1, I tweak the code a bit and some other small things so make sure to grab the new version here in a bit after I release it.

Let me know if after you reboot your system if the font box isnt coming up.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline sonam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2014, 08:51:05 AM »
Hi Shane
Font Tab "Edit Delivery Address Font" or "Edit Return Address Font" not working, using latest version on 1.5.1 any suggestion.BTW currently doing one trick to change font type and size in config file.
please correct this problem.

Regards,
sonam

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2014, 05:52:30 PM »
Thats the problem, I can only fix a bug that I can replicate. The code to show the font window hasnt changed since version 1.0.0. The code simply calls on windows to show the font window and sizes.

I have never had that code not work before. I have also had 2 people report that the program is having trouble loading certain jpg files as well, but loads mp files fine. Yet when I ask them to send me the jpgs, I try them and they load fine. Something different on their system and yours. I wonder if it might simply be older versions of the VB6 runtimes installed on the system?

Download and install the runtimes just in case
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=24417

The file that is used to show the fonts is the comctl32.ocx, here is an updated version of that file since their old ones had bugs in them
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=10019

See if either of those help. And I can try to replicate the problem here, what version of windows, 32 or 64 bit and is it a english system or another language?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2014, 11:59:08 PM »
Ok I think I might know what was happening to you and you not getting the font window.

I noticed that on some machines that people couldnt load a picture, this was because the program wasnt able to delete the old picture in the program folder on their system, and since the command wasnt set to continue if there was an error it simply stopped loading the picture.

Well the font commands where also set to not continue if there was any kind of error at all. So I changed it to ignore any error and finish the command. The pictures in my test now load up just fine.

The font I couldnt replicate, BUT if for any reason it had an error it wouldnt have loaded for you. The command tells the font window what font and size to show. If your on a non english system and it didnt like the size it was trying to set or it was trying to tell the font window to use a font it didnt have then it could have caused an error and show it didnt show.

Monday morning I will put out v1.5.2, let me know if it starts working for you :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline sonam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2014, 12:10:47 AM »
Hi Shane
I did as suggested but not solved. Problem is same as earlier. I hope ver1.5.2 may solve this hope for best

Version that i used:
windows 7 X86 (32bit)updated todate
Thanks,
Sonam

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2014, 12:15:06 AM »
I am pulling a late night getting some program updates done, I just finished 1.5.2, I could send it your way and you could test it for me.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com