Author Topic: Envelope Printer  (Read 38510 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline em17976

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #50 on: October 11, 2014, 10:59:21 AM »
Hi Shane,
The envelope printer is working fine. A possible tweak if you wish.  I attempted to print an envelope that I thought was a #10 that I had a bunch of and found out it was a US    A     slim.  I never knew there were so many envelopes.  After I changed the envelope to US  A  slim everything was okay.
My suggestion is if somebody uses odd envelopes and they don't know what they are called to somehow tag certain ones as favorites or most used.  Two ways to do this would permit a user to edit the envelope description BUT ONLY from the end of your description.  Or to have a separate list for favorites.

Another tweak, where the option box is you have a dark blue background.  A brighter background for the selection would be more eye catching and therefore more user friendly. That would be for all four of the selection boxes.  After the selection the grey background is good. I would recommend yellow as the eye catching color.

Thanks,

Ed
→→→→→→→

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2014, 04:02:35 AM »
Quote
Another tweak, where the option box is you have a dark blue background.  A brighter background for the selection would be more eye catching and therefore more user friendly. That would be for all four of the selection boxes.  After the selection the grey background is good. I would recommend yellow as the eye catching color.

Windows controls the highlight color and text, I am not able to change it. However you are able to change the colors of the program, you might find a color that works better with it :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline em17976

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #52 on: October 13, 2014, 07:19:31 AM »
Well I'll be.  I guess you are never to old to learn.

Thanks,

Ed

☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻

Offline Meeteshc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #53 on: November 05, 2014, 01:27:56 AM »
font still not working when font button is used noting happens no error nothing pls also add custom size of paper and margin for all four sides

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #54 on: November 05, 2014, 02:22:32 AM »
I have some new code to use for the font, on the next update I will have in there and we can see if it works better for you :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #55 on: November 10, 2014, 10:30:04 PM »
If anyone in this thread didnt have the show fonts dialog working please try out this new version and let me know if it works now :-)

http://www.tweaking.com/forums/index.php/topic,2499.msg17024.html#msg17024

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #56 on: November 11, 2014, 01:08:58 AM »
Hello Shane, although I have no problem with v1.6.0 I thought I would test v1.7.0. I see it is a non-install version and upon running it all that occurred was a panel stating "out of memory".

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #57 on: November 11, 2014, 01:14:51 AM »
Shane, perhaps it was to be installed upon clicking on the exe after unzipping it but upon clicking on the exe the out of memory panel appeared.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #58 on: November 11, 2014, 01:15:10 AM »
It isnt the full program, you need to replace the files of the program you have installed v1.6.0 with those 3 files :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #59 on: November 11, 2014, 01:46:39 AM »
Shane, fonts working ok in v1.7.0 but perhaps you need feedback from those who are having font problems.

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #60 on: November 11, 2014, 12:03:27 PM »
Hello Shane, My printer takes a maximum A4 sheet. I also use Envelope Printer to print on blank paper to affix to parcels. Enclosed screen grabs show the images as seen by both Canon printer and Envelope Printer. If I wanted to move the extra text up from the lower edge it cannot be done as it is out of sight and the image cannot be scrolled. Have you any thoughts on how to overcome the problem.

Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #61 on: November 11, 2014, 06:42:41 PM »
Ah, your screen resolution but not be set very high. Such as on my system I am set at 1920 (Width) x 1080 (Height), so lets say your screen resolution is only at 1024 x 768 you wont have the same amount of screen space such as I do. At my resolution the print preview fits with plenty of room to spare.

I never thought about doing a zoom or something like that because in my head I was thinking normal envelopes. And doing a zoom would have been easy but not any more since you have to be able to move the text around.

So there are two options, first one is the quick one, increase your screen resolution. The 2nd option is for me to maybe do scroll bars on the print preview since I wont be able to do a zoom. The scroll bars will allow you to scroll but wont give a good idea of how it is going tolook since it wont fit on screen. Maybe I will need to include a little thumbnail window so you could at least see a small image of it to get an idea.

I havent put out 1.7.0 yet because I havent heard back from any of the users who complained that the fonts didnt open. So while I am waiting for them I will see what I can do about adding scroll bars and a thumb nail :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #62 on: November 11, 2014, 07:00:19 PM »
Thanks Shane. Much obliged for your experience.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #63 on: November 11, 2014, 07:01:23 PM »
No problem, working on it right this moment actually :-)

Just have to work out the math and when to show the scroll bars and all that good stuff.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #64 on: November 11, 2014, 10:13:56 PM »
Ok, got the scroll bars done, only did a little testing with it and seems to work. I didnt add the thumbnail yet, I want to see if you think it is needed.

I had to make my own custom scroll bars and they change colors with the program. They only show up if the envelope wont fit on the screen. Let me know how it does for you :-)

This time I included the entire program in the zip file :-)

Shane
« Last Edit: November 14, 2014, 01:30:34 AM by Shane »
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #65 on: November 12, 2014, 07:08:53 AM »
Hello Shane, I unzipped v1.7.0 and see it is a portable version. The scroll bars worked perfectly. Regarding a check thumbnail, in my case I just select print envelope which brings up the Canon printer preview and if it does not look right I then cancel printing and go back to the program, but there may be other users who may not have a printer preview facility so a thumbnail may prove useful.

I copied the address data from v1.6.0 into v1.7.0 for the tests. I have v1.6.0 on a shortcut and upon going back to it I see the program loads as v1.7.0 so perhaps certain elements in v1.7.0 latched on and replaced those in v1.6.0 but the latching on did not include the scroll bars. I will uninstall v1.6.0 anyway so no problems there. Thanks one again. You are a genius.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #66 on: November 13, 2014, 02:33:12 PM »
OK I will see about adding a thumbnail on the print preview, but only if I can find a spot to fit it.

Dont forget that once I do put out the v1.7.0 to download it and simply install it over the one you have now :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #67 on: November 13, 2014, 02:48:21 PM »
Thanks Shane. I bet when you first put the program out in it's original simplistic form you did not realise what us users would ask for!!

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #68 on: November 13, 2014, 02:57:31 PM »
Thanks Shane. I bet when you first put the program out in it's original simplistic form you did not realise what us users would ask for!!

I didnt think anyone would use it, I made it for myself and thought I might as well put it out there. I was surprised how many people use it, but I am more than happy to make any of my work better :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #69 on: November 14, 2014, 01:39:36 AM »
OK here we go, another update :-)

Added new thumbnail option to the print preview, you will see a 2nd bar in the title bar, you can click the bottom to show the thumbnail. Try it out and let me know.

Added PostNet support. The program can try to automatically find the zip code in the address (By looking at the last line of the address), once it finds any numbers on the last line it draws the postnet bar code. You can set position and offset just like extra text :-)

Also if you have the PostNet set to Auto it will work Mass Print as well.

The other users who reported that the fonts window where not opening havnt responded yet, so test this out and let me know of your findings and I will be releasing it on Monday, even if I dont hear back from the other users.

I just spent 12 hours programming this update, so I might have missed something, so test well and let me know :wink:

Shane
« Last Edit: November 14, 2014, 01:42:11 AM by Shane »
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline em17976

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #70 on: November 14, 2014, 02:42:38 AM »
Hi Shane,
Hi Shane,
Hi Shane,
Hi Shane,
I am stuttering. Freakin impossible that you can do that in 12 hours. It works, it really works.
You get six smiley faces and four gold stars (my era) on your report card.

FYI, and you more than likely know, Canada, Mexico and China have some form of a zipcode. I don't know if they have a form of POSTNET but if they don't then the check option takes care of all other countries.
I thank you for all the people who have poor handwriting. The US post office thanks you and I will take your link to my local postmaster and ask him for a contact person to get this as a link on a .gov site.
A you tube instructional video would be the kicker so everyone can enjoy it.  This is truly great.

Thanks,

Ed

⌐⌐⌐⌐⌐⌐⌐

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #71 on: November 14, 2014, 04:33:35 AM »
Glad to hear it works properly :-)

Never did postnet before so I am glad you where able to test it for me.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #72 on: November 14, 2014, 05:57:27 AM »
Shane, Shane, you have done it again!
Your programming slogs produced the missing cogs.
In this latest edition you resolved each User's wishing.
There is nothing more to request. Shane, mate, you are the best.

 

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #73 on: November 14, 2014, 06:20:41 AM »
Shane, Shane, you have done it again!
Your programming slogs produced the missing cogs.
In this latest edition you resolved each User's wishing.
There is nothing more to request. Shane, mate, you are the best.

SO I take it you like the thumbnail that I did then? lol

Glad every one is happy. Both of you do me a fav and try to give the program a good testing and usage before Monday, and if any odd bugs or something you think should be tweaked before I release it on Monday then let me know.

I will keep my fingers crossed that the new code I used for the font Windows will work for the other users who have replied yet. To be honest I dont have any more code for it lol. The old font window code was limited and didnt support Unicode, the new code does, so if it doesnt work then something else is going on.

Things to look for when testing, Postnet, I have it set to auto update and clear when things are changed, such as when the address is changed or you choose another option, I caught myself a couple of times as I was testing where I forgot a spot, I think i got them all. Things like that with the scroll bars and thumbnail as well :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Envelope Printer
« Reply #74 on: November 14, 2014, 06:31:04 AM »
Shane, here in England the Royal Mail has'nt got a PostNet facility So it will need feedback from users who can utilise it. And yes, I DO like the thumbnail facility.   How do I get an emoticon to appear instead of the words?:smiley: