Author Topic: cannot connect to Microsoft update, Microsoft Security Engine (Solved)  (Read 36784 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #25 on: February 22, 2015, 02:55:03 am »
Combofix did find and cleanup some things, how is the system now after all those scans?

Shane

You've missed something about the Rick’s reports! It has a multi-anti-virus installed on his system. :smiley: so there is an Conflict  :rolleyes:

Quote
21:44:54.0681 0x1578  Waiting for KSN requests completion. In queue: 27
21:44:55.0681 0x1578  Waiting for KSN requests completion. In queue: 27
21:44:56.0694 0x1578  AV detected via SS2: Microsoft Security Essentials, C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe ( 4.7.205.0 ), 0x61000 ( enabled : updated )
21:44:56.0695 0x1578  AV detected via SS2: 360 Total Security, C:\Program Files\360\Total Security\safemon\QHSafeTray.exe ( 6.0.0.1005 ), 0x51000 ( enabled : updated )
21:44:56.0700 0x1578  Win FW state via NFP2: enabled
21:44:56.0701 0x1578  ============================================================
21:44:56.0701 0x1578  Scan finished
21:44:56.0701 0x1578  ============================================================
21:44:56.0710 0x0fe8  Detected object count: 0
21:44:56.0710 0x0fe8  Actual detected object count: 0
21:45:34.0994 0x157c  Deinitialize success

your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/


Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360

Rick you need To removed an antivirus program ! so you already have more then 1 anti-virus software and that isn’t good !  :smiley: and re-check your screenshot and you’ll  find what they point out !
« Last Edit: February 22, 2015, 03:01:45 am by Gamezertruth »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2015, 05:44:46 am »
If you didn't add those entries to the Hosts File I would be inclined to reset it https://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

If that doesn't fix your problem are you able to connect in Safe Mode with Networking ?

Using your restore points to prior the problem may do it but running the commands below from a command prompt run as an administrator can also help.

If your restore points are missing, that could be indicative of an infection and if you get the message the restore was unsuccessful, doing the restore in Safe Mode can be a workaround to that as it was probably your AV program interfering with the restore.

Create a restore point first if you're going to use ComboFix as it snagged a file which I allowed it to delete and it upset my system - I don't trust it.

netsh winsock reset

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /flushdns

ipconfig /renew


ipconfig /registerdns

exit (to close command window)

Now reboot.

Checking the Event Viewer for related errors could also give some info as to why this occurred could help if it's been a Windows problem.

hmmm;

Error running

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
restting echo request, failed.
access is denied

yes, ran cmd as adm

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #27 on: February 28, 2015, 05:16:15 pm »
Try those commands in safe mode with networking and see if it can do it, if you still get access denied then you might have something hooked into the network that is blocking it, an infection can do that.

Shane

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #28 on: March 02, 2015, 09:27:37 am »
Try those commands in safe mode with networking and see if it can do it, if you still get access denied then you might have something hooked into the network that is blocking it, an infection can do that.

Shane

ok, how to chk for hooks?

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #29 on: March 02, 2015, 11:02:16 am »
You cant really. You have to scan for rootkits and such. Also it is possible that it is a permissions problem in the registry, which my Windows Repair tool can fix if that is the case.

Those commands do read and write to the registry, so an access denied error could be from it not having access to something in the registry.

Shane

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #30 on: March 02, 2015, 01:34:46 pm »
Gamezertruth has spotted both MSE and 360 Security running on the computer - one needs to go.

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #31 on: March 03, 2015, 12:01:20 am »
Gamezertruth has spotted both MSE and 360 Security running on the computer - one needs to go.

360

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server
« Reply #32 on: March 03, 2015, 05:55:18 am »
Any improvement since uninstalling 360 and does it have its own uninstaller so as not to leave any residue ?

Is that Norton 360 or something else ?

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server
« Reply #33 on: March 03, 2015, 06:22:44 am »
Any improvement since uninstalling 360 and does it have its own uninstaller so as not to leave any residue ?

Is that Norton 360 or something else ?

Overall; only problem with 360, they messed up the restore points and since can not get them to restore more than one or two days...

http://www.360totalsecurity.com/

but, we could tweak it to do better, till then!

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server
« Reply #34 on: March 03, 2015, 07:01:33 am »
It's possible that 360 has changed the Volume Shadow storage space so that it will only retain for a couple of days worth.

This article will show you how to check and adjust the storage space. http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/reduce-system-restores-disk-usage-in-vista/

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server (Solved)
« Reply #35 on: March 03, 2015, 02:37:18 pm »
So how have you solved it ?

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server
« Reply #36 on: March 07, 2015, 06:03:48 am »
It's possible that 360 has changed the Volume Shadow storage space so that it will only retain for a couple of days worth.

This article will show you how to check and adjust the storage space. http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/reduce-system-restores-disk-usage-in-vista/

great article, shane should capture that as a fix it

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server (Solved)
« Reply #37 on: March 07, 2015, 06:18:48 am »
So how have you solved it ?

please read on page one in the first message; download the bat file. good for all versions!

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server (Solved)
« Reply #38 on: March 09, 2015, 02:26:22 pm »
You can also do that manually in Windows as well, but that isnt really a fix so I cant put it in the program, as some people dont like their system restore touched lol

Shane

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server (Solved)
« Reply #39 on: March 17, 2015, 01:08:53 am »
So how have you solved it ?

Re-install as usual

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server (Solved)
« Reply #40 on: March 17, 2015, 01:54:16 am »
Reinstalled what ?

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to Microsoft or Adobe support server (Solved)
« Reply #41 on: March 19, 2015, 01:54:43 pm »
Reinstalled what ?

Vista SP2

But now, the problem has come back to haunt us!

What a laugh!

for reference; some updates were in stalled, but when it tried to update;
the security engine, that failed
« Last Edit: March 19, 2015, 01:58:21 pm by Rick »