Author Topic: registry question  (Read 7301 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
registry question
« on: June 07, 2012, 11:24:56 AM »
I backed up the desktop and all is well. I backed up the laptop but when i was looking at the Windows I mistakenly dragged my finger across two items and made an error. It is my wife's pc and I hate laptops for this reason.
I am doing this from memory so the first question is, can you delete both a backup + restore from regback?
I think I dragged Users into the Windows folder so it became one folder.
I tried to fix this by cutting and pasting it back where it belonged and it seemed to work.
However, my information may be wrong.
What is my safest way to remdiate what I have done?
Thank you
Peter

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 11:27:20 AM »
If you moved a folder just put it back and you will be fine.

If you want to delete old backups you just go to the backup folder where they are saved and remove the ones you dont want :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: registry question
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 11:42:50 AM »


Just to be sure, go to regbak, delete any folder I want even if it is all of them and create a new backup so there will be no confusion. Regbak will be empty until I create a new backup?
I won't pester, don't worry.
I wonder if a check mailed to your bank would be deposited to your account by them if there was a note from me 'to be deposited'.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 11:44:29 AM »
Yeah you can clear the backup folder any time you want. It is just a storage :-)

Quote
I wonder if a check mailed to your bank would be deposited to your account by them if there was a note from me 'to be deposited'.

Dont worry I will come up with something :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: registry question
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2012, 02:26:31 PM »

Shane
Maybe you know Mike Prin.... who is up there with Oracle.
I sent him your new program and his critique will be interesting as he analyzes programs and deals with company and clients too.

Signing in to awake the pc is not an option like logon so selecting startup is the correct choice Ithink. I can always perform a maual backup if necessary.
When selecting startup the password box came up which I dismissed; I thought you would like to know b/c we did not set a password.
Peter
« Last Edit: June 07, 2012, 02:37:05 PM by peterr »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2012, 04:38:55 PM »
Quote
Maybe you know Mike Prin.... who is up there with Oracle.
I sent him your new program and his critique will be interesting as he analyzes programs and deals with company and clients too.

Cool :-)
I always worry when other fellow techs check my work, I worry they wont like it lol

Quote
Signing in to awake the pc is not an option like logon so selecting startup is the correct choice Ithink. I can always perform a maual backup if necessary.
When selecting startup the password box came up which I dismissed; I thought you would like to know b/c we did not set a password.

At startup would be best :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: registry question
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2012, 05:22:19 AM »


I think 'delete' the schedule means you can just perform only manual ones if youwish, correct?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2012, 07:21:56 AM »
Right. If you create a schedule you can delete it from the program. The schedule isn't automatically made when you install the program :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: registry question
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2012, 07:55:17 AM »


I tried both  'log on' and 'system starup' then rebooted then tried powering off then rebooting but neither time did the backup work. The pcs are password protected only.
I also noticed a grayed out "password" but could not activate it.
When I changed the schedule the password box appeared and if I closed it I got an error message.
Instead of bothering you, what part of the help section am I missing?
Right now I am set for 14 day deleteion and no schedule, just backup as necessary, and I am ok with that. I just wanted to know how to schedule if I change my mind and thought you would like comments about the schedule issue I am having.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2012, 01:30:07 PM »
You need to put in the correct password when it asks for it in the task scheduler. Otherwise just have it run as system account and it wont need one :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: registry question
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2012, 03:09:36 PM »
Are we talkng about the pc protected password or one we create for the program?

If I use current user control can I still run the settings I want and just disregard the box which pops up?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2012, 09:08:46 PM »
In the task schedule it has to be the user and password of the system account.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 277
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: registry question
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2012, 06:44:52 AM »
I was just talking with Rich, Ztruker- good guy.
I set to startup on both but looking in windows explorer no back up took place.
The ideal is Fri, drop off 14 days, 14 weeks, 11 am, with logon password, but for now, until I am sure, I use logon and drop off 14 days.
I canceled the password box and it still seems to work. i am trying to keep it simple.
Why woud stsrtup not work?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: registry question
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2012, 10:07:45 AM »
Not sure, it would have to do with the task scheduler itself.

To have it run and then close by itself you just run the program with the -silent command. Thats all the task scheduler does. Not sure why it is having trouble on your system.

Try putting the check mark on only run when user is logged on and that should have it work without the password :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com