Author Topic: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?  (Read 6870 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« on: June 25, 2015, 04:59:01 PM »
A long time I have not done running anti-rootkits tools for checking my system for an rootkits Infection! So I had to just run some of the anti-rootkits tools and with this I did not understand what they report ! so can somebody help my understand this report ?

and how to use both of GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?

all I noticed that is a strange entries in path C:\Windows\System32\drivers like this one in the line

\??\C:\Windows\System32\drivers\

INT 0x51  ?

and now I need to reboot my system Because both tools, eating high memory! /-( :rolleyes:
« Last Edit: June 25, 2015, 05:05:17 PM by Gamezertruth »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9849
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 121
    • View Profile
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2015, 05:37:34 PM »
Some rootkit scanners are specialist tools and should only be run under supervision by qualified disinfection people.

The free version of MBAM has a Rootkit scan option but you can also use Norton's Norton Power Eraser, although the latter has been known to take out legit programs but has a restore/undo facility - but creating your own restore point is the safest bet.

Had you cleaned out the system following my advice in your networking thread ?
Tom.

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2015, 05:57:18 PM »
Some rootkit scanners are specialist tools and should only be run under supervision by qualified disinfection people.

The free version of MBAM has a Rootkit scan option but you can also use Norton's Norton Power Eraser, although the latter has been known to take out legit programs but has a restore/undo facility - but creating your own restore point is the safest bet.

thank for you info :smiley:

\
Had you cleaned out the system following my advice in your networking thread ?

 no, I follow the instructions in the link that you linked me to and i have done checked All the steps manually in that article and uploading Each of svhost to VT.com and all clean ! but I wonder why roguekiller keeps detected this svhost and unable to removed it!

note : many virus removal tool found nothing ! the only tool was and still found svhost is roguekiller!
« Last Edit: June 25, 2015, 06:00:16 PM by Gamezertruth »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9849
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 121
    • View Profile
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2015, 06:15:51 PM »
Run the free version of MBAM with the Rootkit option enabled and then NPE.

In MBAM you need to click on Settings then on Detection and Protection and check the Rootkit box.

NPE is an aggressive scanner when clicking on the default button on the face page, but clicking on Advanced gives you other options.

You could also give it a full scan with MSRT by going Start - type mrt then press enter and opt for the full scan.

If you think you are still infected then you could register on www.techsupportforum.com - open the Trojan and Virus section and after reading the pre-requisites open your thread and explain what you have done so far and what RogueKiller is reporting - if it still is after running those other programs.

The people in that section are all Mods and specially trained in disinfection.
Tom.

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2015, 06:24:08 PM »
I’m running a malware scan with Mbam right now and i will run other scan with the rest of malware scanner ! so i think i have find this and i don’t know if something to do with it ? http://forum.adlice.com/index.php?topic=386.0

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2015, 07:40:58 PM »
i just done to scanning my system and all anti-malware report clean Except roguekiller is reporting malware found !

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9849
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 121
    • View Profile
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2015, 12:45:16 AM »
It could well be a FP and may be worth registering on that forum and posting its report - or just ignore it if it isn't having any adverse effects on the computer - you can normally tell when you are infected.

I recently had Norton 360 blocking AdwCleaner from downloading because if found a heuristic in it and I had to contact Norton to get them to whitelist it.

As usual, they go though the procedure that quickly that you can't follow what they are doing :)

It did that for a while before with AdwCleaner but it cleared up on its own that time after a few days.
Tom.

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2015, 03:47:10 PM »
I am already a member there! so how much memory Norton products needed (Because I have removed MSE)? I've heard it's used too much memory ? and Norton products are the worst by catching false Positives detection ! and they flagged a lot of Legitimate software!

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9849
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 121
    • View Profile
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2015, 04:49:03 PM »
The only FPs I've had with Norton 360 are what I've already posted.

Norton 360 is no longer available as Symantec have restructured their products and I think it's now Norton Security, but my Norton 360 is currently using about 12MB of RAM in total (AV and Firewall).

The only downside for me with 360 is that restoring from a system image normally breaks it with the Sonar Protection updates failing and that requires an uninstall/reinstall along with all of its Definitions.

It doesn't like being restored at all and I sometimes have to do a manual check for updates on it following Windows Updates before it will allow me to browse - otherwise it's fine :D

Kaspersky is near the top of the heap these days so having a look for a review of that could prove useful or you could go for the free version of Comodo. https://www.comodo.com/home/internet-security/free-internet-security.php?track=2720&key5sk0=2720&key5sk1=0bad22a15a098ee9800d2dbc3197e6ce855cf802

I've been thinking about this one for when my 360 expires.

Have a Google for best freebie AV programs or paid for ones.
Tom.

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: how to use both GMRE and aswmbr anti rootkits tool ?
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2015, 05:29:59 PM »
thank you for your great Explain reply ! this will be a good idea Because of that wisdom that says "Use any AV software for free  :tongue:" as i do Always ! مlol  :wink:  :smiley: