Author Topic: Internet Help DHCP Error  (Read 16580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline silents429

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 59
  • Location: North Charleston, SC
  • Karma: 1
  • I secretly enjoy troubleshooting problems.
    • View Profile
Internet Help DHCP Error
« on: July 14, 2015, 10:48:45 pm »
So for the last 10 months every now and then my internet would refuse to let us use the internet due to a DHCP error.

I currently have an Arris combo that our ISP (WOW) sent us, but I have it in bridged mode and I am using an Asus RT-AC56R router.

Now this problem isn't common, just completely out of the blue everyone disconnects, we get the yellow exclamation mark, and this error pops up. (The attachment)

Resetting the computers, Routers, Modems, anything of any combination has helped none, and the problem might be how I have my router configured or the ISP messing something up.

This occurred with my last provider who was Time Warner as well.

Here is part of the log from the Asus.

Jul 15 00:24:53 rc_service: ntp 670:notify_rc restart_upnp
Jul 15 00:24:53 miniupnpd[667]: received signal 15, good-bye
Jul 15 00:24:54 miniupnpd[687]: HTTP listening on port 54168
Jul 15 00:24:54 miniupnpd[687]: Listening for NAT-PMP traffic on port 5351
Jul 15 00:24:54 rc_service: ntp 670:notify_rc restart_diskmon
Jul 15 00:24:56 disk monitor: be idle
Jul 15 00:25:22 crond[565]: time disparity of 281065 minutes detected
Jul 15 00:26:20 rc_service: rc 852:notify_rc restart_wrs
Jul 15 00:59:15 WAN Connection: Ethernet link up.
Jul 15 00:59:15 rc_service: wanduck 543:notify_rc restart_wan_if 0
Jul 15 00:59:16 kernel: Attempt to kill tasklet from interrupt
Jul 15 00:59:22 WAN Connection: Ethernet link up.
Jul 15 00:59:22 rc_service: wanduck 543:notify_rc restart_wan_if 0
Jul 15 00:59:23 kernel: Attempt to kill tasklet from interrupt
Jul 15 00:59:30 WAN Connection: ISP's DHCP did not function properly.
Jul 15 00:59:57 ntp: start NTP update
Jul 15 01:17:18 rc_service: httpd 563:notify_rc reboot
Jul 15 01:17:19 kernel: Attempt to kill tasklet from interrupt
Jul 15 01:17:20 iTunes: daemon is stoped
Jul 15 01:17:20 FTP Server: daemon is stoped
Jul 15 01:17:20 Samba Server: smb daemon is stoped
Jul 15 01:17:20 kernel: gro disabled
Jul 15 01:17:20 Timemachine: daemon is stoped
Jul 15 01:17:20 WEBDAV Server: daemon is stoped

« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 10:54:08 pm by silents429 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2015, 01:28:04 am »
If this has happened with two different ISPs then you will need to look at your set up.

This article shows two methods. http://www.wikihow.com/Connect-Two-Routers

Offline silents429

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 59
  • Location: North Charleston, SC
  • Karma: 1
  • I secretly enjoy troubleshooting problems.
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2015, 11:23:30 am »
The first set of instructions doesn't apply to me, The second one I did everything except specify the routers IP. Which didn't seem necessary considering 99% of the time it functions perfectly.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2015, 03:39:08 pm »
Perhaps doing so would take care of that 1% when it isn't - something has to be the common denominator when you have the same problem with two different ISPs

Offline silents429

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 59
  • Location: North Charleston, SC
  • Karma: 1
  • I secretly enjoy troubleshooting problems.
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2015, 04:51:13 pm »
Erm, I am going to need more specific instructions here for this, I am going to be changing my routers IP yes?

To what? And does this relate to a DCHP error anyway? Why does this only occur rarely?

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2015, 07:49:30 pm »
It is possible it is just a firmware bug with your router, I would check for a firmware update, it is also possible it is a firmware bug with the cable modem you have, even when in bridge mode.

When your router gets an IP, go check the lease time on it, see how long it is set for and try to see if when the internet drops and the problem happens is when the lease time is up and the router doesnt get a proper renewal. I have seen this before and it was a bug in the router, after all the dhcp server from timer warner handles a LOT of connections and if it was a bug on there end then a ton of people would be reporting it.

Shane

Offline silents429

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 59
  • Location: North Charleston, SC
  • Karma: 1
  • I secretly enjoy troubleshooting problems.
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2015, 10:24:55 pm »
The Asus is updated, and I had only recently gotten the modem updated.

How exactly would I go about checking the lease time? On the Asus or modem? And under what settings or information would I find it?

But in the case of if it was on there end others would report, I don't think many consumers are using there combo in bridge mode like I do aheh..

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2015, 08:03:03 am »
Different makes of routers have their own UI so it would be unreasonable to expect everyone to know that for each model.

You can Google for your user manual, but for advice in how to set up the Asus for what you want, you can contact Asus Support http://www.asus.com/us/support/ or register on their forum where I'm sure you will also get help. http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx?board_id=11
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 08:39:03 am by Boggin »

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2015, 01:57:04 pm »
Normally when you go to any kind of status page about the WAN connection it will show it is a dhcp connection, the ip settings and the dhcp lease time.

Shane

Offline silents429

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 59
  • Location: North Charleston, SC
  • Karma: 1
  • I secretly enjoy troubleshooting problems.
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2015, 10:27:44 am »
Following the suggestion to contact Asus directly, lead me to contact Arris, and then to contact WOW internet who denied everything
(Yah sure it's fine)

Asus recommended I stick to my combo router, due to my inexperience.

Arris recommended I try a new router, but it's brand new and they tested it out before we grabbed it from them to confirm everything was in working order, as well as updating it's firmware.

WOW said "Lalalalala I can't hear you"


Alright so I figured fine, let's give Arris a shot, I unplug Asus, Set up my Arris with default settings, only changing the passwords and broadcast name.

Running the ICSI Netalyzr after experiencing a monstrous amount of in game ping spikes, I am greeted to these wonderful results.

http://n2.netalyzr.icsi.berkeley.edu/restore/id=36ea240d-10622-9f534b55-25b0-4352-9f7b/rd

The key thing standing out is Network Buffer Measurements.

Which Riot support (One of my games) says would be the cause of the issues I had. Apparently that was it, because they considered my issue resolved after that without telling me what to do next.

So how do I fix this? Google is giving me mixed results, saying it's the ISP, my computer and to fix it with TCP Optimizer, My router. etc.

Given I have yet to have a problem unresolved here, I figure I rather just get your opinions on this first. It ain't the router, I don't think it's my computer, and I reaaaallly don't want to talk to my ISP unless I have to.


« Last Edit: July 18, 2015, 10:49:18 am by silents429 »

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Internet Help DHCP Error
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2015, 03:13:48 pm »
Best thing to do is to try another router.

If the problem still happens then you now it is the modem and not the router.

If the new router has no problems then you know it was the asus router.

So in this case that would be the best test. :wink:

Shane