Author Topic: VMware Player  (Read 6875 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
VMware Player
« on: June 16, 2012, 11:43:28 AM »
I hope I am in the correct section this time as it appears to be for  pc help.

Please see the attachment . I have tried several times. Perhaps this attachment means something to you or you have a fix for it.
Thank you
Peter
PS I noticed the first attachment was not legible so I have loaded a second one hoping it would be better.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2012, 11:56:22 AM by peterr »

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2012, 12:07:48 PM »
Either you didnt download the whole file or something is wrong with MSI on your system.

What is the total file size of the file? Also did you right click on it and choose run as administrator?

Shane

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2012, 03:35:55 PM »
At first it would not run so I rt clicked and ran as admin.
My brother said he got the same error when he tried the latest version.
There is a switch over with companies or something according to his limited resources.
I wonder if the version before 4.0 would work if it can be found?
Peter

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2012, 03:53:01 PM »
This is the reply I got from another source -


I sent a download link to your email  but as I haven't heard from you maybe that address isn't right. In any case the link won't work as the new owners of my ISP seem to have disabled the download side of our webspaces.
 
I'm currently uploading the file to Google Drive and when it finishes I'll send another link, but where do I send it?
 

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2012, 04:31:23 PM »

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2012, 07:10:28 AM »


You asked about the file size for VMware and it is 116 mb's but why would my machine have a problem with that?
Iis there  a way around it if the size is the problem?

I checked out Tweaking's registry backup but it did not indicate there was a new version avaiable at this time. I am EST.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2012, 04:20:50 PM »
Been a long fathers day and not over yet so I havent got to the update yet. Working on it now :cheesy:

Shane

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2012, 11:16:46 AM »


Understand and no hurry. I am lucky to have the version I have as it runs smoothly.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: VMware Player
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2012, 12:17:25 PM »
No problem bud, You know I am here when ever you need me.

I was excited to get the new version out. The fact that it can still backup when VSS fails just makes it that much better and I wanted that new feature out there :-)

Shane