Author Topic: I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question  (Read 9044 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question
« on: September 23, 2015, 11:59:09 pm »
What happened to holding the shift key and pressing Print function to capture the screen? then paste it into a Paint File

Anyone?

I get an error message says can not do...

Since when can they remove a feature already incorporated?

Alternatives and or how to add the feature back...

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 01:18:10 am »
With my laptop I have to use FN+ALT+PRTSC to do a screen capture to paste it into Paint but Desktops don't have a FN key.

I've never had a Desktop but are you sure you were previously using SHIFT+ and not ALT+ ?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 01:20:38 am by Boggin »

Offline Tone111

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2015
  • Posts: 149
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 01:39:04 am »
Hi, on my desktop ALT + Print Screen just copies the active window, whichever program is in the foreground (active), while Shift (or Ctrl) + Print Screen copies the whole of the visible window on screen. Hope this helps...

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2015, 02:20:17 am »
Yes, the FN+ALT+PRTC just copies what is active on my laptop as well and FN+CTRL+PRTC captures the lot, but I just tend to use the Snipping Tool in Win 7 to capture whatever I want to paste into a reply box.

Sometimes a full screen capture needs reducing to paste into a reply box because of size restrictions of a given forum.

Offline Xas1953NC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2015, 06:33:54 pm »
I use picpick, a versatile free prog that does a variety of screen grabs including scrolling. It also has an editor for adding shapes, arrows, text etc. http://ngwin.com/picpick

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2323
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: I have a Shift/Print Screen capture Question
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2015, 09:09:48 pm »
Hi, Normally tab the print screen button, select control c and then open Paint place the cursor by mouse clicking on the paint opening page, and then select cont V to paste it . It should work. If not , there is some other problem
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".