Author Topic: WMI - Error 0x8004401e  (Read 14278 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« on: October 03, 2015, 02:37:32 am »
Goodday, does anyone have some advice for me please. I am getting a WMI error (Error 0x8004401e). Attached are two screenshots showing the error. I'm running Windows 7 operating system. Would sincerely value any guidance. Thank you, stephen

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2015, 09:35:14 am »
This article may help https://katyscode.wordpress.com/2007/02/03/tutorial-how-to-fix-wmi-corruption/ as I'm not sure any of the Hotfixes listed in https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2591403 apply to you.

As the error code specifically mentions MS Office, then go to Programs and Features, right click on MS Office and see if it has a Repair option - reboot and then see if the Event ID 4 reoccurs, in which case, use Katy's guide.

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2015, 11:22:30 pm »
Thank you very much for your guidance. I've tried the Microsoft reinstall option but it hasn't solved the problem. Not being a techi I'm very nervous to try Katy's solution. I need to find someone to help me do what she suggests. Thank you for your guidance so far.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2015, 01:54:01 am »
I must admit that it can be a bit daunting when reading through some tutorials, but scroll down to and read from Recompiling the whole repository (all MOF and MFL files) and lower down looks like a quicker way to do it by Rebuilding the whole WMI repository from scratch.

However, as the article mentions about resetting permissions, then perhaps you should run the Windows Repair program first with default settings (not sure off the top of my head if any additional settings would need checking for WMI problems) and then see what error messages you get.

Before running any major program that will be making registry changes, I always advise creating an external system image first rather than trusting to any restore points etc.

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2015, 02:23:47 am »
Most sincere thanks for your further thoughts; especially in trying to give me confidence to try the fix myself. However, I really am very, very, very cautious about this and feel compelled to find a techi to help me. I don't think this should be difficult so would rather let someone knowledgeable try the steps. Most sincere thanks, stephen

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2015, 02:38:28 am »
It does boil down to what you are comfortable with but you would have the system image to fall back on - but I'm not going to push you into something you aren't happy about.

I remember when I did my first factory reset - I was as nervous as hell :D

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2015, 02:47:46 am »
Thanks very much again. Trust is, I don't trust myself when it comes to the inner workings of these things! I know my limits and don't want to risk pushing them with something like this!   

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2015, 02:56:49 am »
OK :)

Do you have a local computer club where they would have more experienced people who could help you with this rather than taking it to a repair shop and paying someone to do it - you could show them your thread for the link and background info.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2015, 02:59:54 am by Boggin »

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2015, 03:02:41 am »
You are such a kind and thoughtful person. I'm thinking of possibly asking "Reimage" to look at it. I use their software and they seem to have quite a good remote help facility. Do you have any thoughts about that?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2015, 03:13:25 am »
I'm not familiar with them but I was thinking of a solution which could negate the need to pay someone as people at computer clubs tend to help out of the goodness of their hearts and it can also add to their experience.

By that I don't mean this would be new to them, but they have the confidence from previous experience to proceed in applying commands if they've never effected this particular repair before.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1165
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2015, 07:54:41 am »
- I still would recommend to run Windows Repair but don't select all repairs. Start with repair #5 and if that doesn't work then select (one by one) more repairs and run them.

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2015, 08:00:33 am »
Thanks very much for that. Excuse the stupid question but where do I get these Windows repairs?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2015, 08:08:06 am »
Thanks very much for that. Excuse the stupid question but where do I get these Windows repairs?

@ www.tweaking.com

Offline SRoper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI - Error 0x8004401e
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2015, 06:34:13 pm »
Aha, of course! I'll try that thanks.