Author Topic: Help  (Read 8536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nhsodaman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Help
« on: November 04, 2015, 09:58:14 am »
My problem started 10/24 when I started my computer which is Window 10. Edge would not startup. I needed to look up some car prices and went ahead and used window explorer which worked fine but when I went to pull up the car sticker an error message came up Class Not Registered This message also came up on other items I try to open. So I contacted Microsoft Support and the took control of my computer and went through everything for an hour when the guy tells me he'll call me tomorrow and use advance tools to correct the problem He never called back So on Sunday I call them back and get a Supervisor and he works on the computer again for a hour and half and his tour was ending and he started a scan and said he'd  call the next day at 9 No call again but he said he thought it was malware or registry problem A side note that while he had control he went on Tweaking .com and ran some of the scans that's how I found this site I still cant get Edge to work and I still get that error message Class Not Registered.  I am not a computer expert and need help thanks
 

Offline Tim_Tweaking

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Help
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2015, 01:25:23 pm »
Have you scanned with a program like Malwarebytes. Also, you might try Google Chrome or Firefox as an alternative in the meantime.
Tweaking.Com Support and Moderator

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2015, 02:14:48 pm »
Did either of the MS techs open a Command Prompt (Admin) and run either of these commands -

regsvr32 ExplorerFrame.dll

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

sfc /scannow

Followed by a reboot.

Note the space before the forward slashes if you want to run those yourself.

The dism cmd can hang at 20% but will eventually complete.

It could also be a DCOM error and running dcomcnfg may identify which is the problem if it finds anything unregistered.

http://windowsitpro.com/systems-management/use-dcomcnfgexe-stop-dcom-10000-and-10005-errors
« Last Edit: November 04, 2015, 02:29:01 pm by Boggin »

Offline nhsodaman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2015, 03:25:37 pm »
I think they ran one of those but I'll try if I can

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2015, 03:29:41 pm »
Should you need it, this article will help with opening a Command Prompt (Admin) in Win 10.

http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-open-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-10/

Offline nhsodaman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2015, 03:49:58 pm »
I ran the sfc/scannow and it said it found corrupt files but was unable to fix some. I'll run some more

Offline nhsodaman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2015, 03:57:28 pm »
Running dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth now and you are right hung up at 20% but Ill wait it out thanks

Offline nhsodaman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2015, 04:02:51 pm »
finished and it said error 0x800f081f ?

Offline Tim_Tweaking

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Help
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2015, 04:21:26 pm »
Tweaking.Com Support and Moderator

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Help
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2015, 11:48:55 pm »
Can you run SFCFix.exe from the link in this article http://thetechcookbook.com/automatic-sfc-corruption-repair-sfcfix-exe/

Press any key to continue as prompted then again on completion where it will produce its report in Notepad.

Right click in the Notepad window and click on Select all

Right click again and click on Copy then right click in the Reply box and select Paste.

When you got that error after running the /restorehealth command did it say the source files could not be found ?