Author Topic: Win7 Update troubles  (Read 17570 times)

Offline Nicolay

• View Profile
Win7 Update troubles
« on: January 22, 2016, 11:28:50 AM »
Good evening to Shane, good evening to all,

have a problem with Win7 32-bit since about 1 year. Got a lot of help from some experts, now I ran tweaking, but again no one was good enough for the solution. Me I'm just a 1/8 class expert …
The problem is, that my laptop didn't want to install an update which was named something with „c++ redistributable package“ whatsoever I tried. But now, for a while, it at least installed the current security-updates. I myself tried to run SFC in safe mode, but this didn't run. Then I used tweaking yesterday after having backuped the registry and the system like recommended. Now, after all, the whole update list is cleared, only one update is displayed: Definitionsupdate für Microsoft Security Essentials – KB2310138 (Definition 1.213.3732.0). If I go back and run „Search for Updates“ I get the error warning Code 80073712 like I got it the last months when calling for an update manually. One important information before: If I'm well, this problem occured first when I ran ccleaner quite a while before, now knowing, that ccleaner can cause serious problems with windows. But what can I do, having done this erroneously?

Offline Shane

• Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Win7 Update troubles
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2016, 12:59:59 PM »
If it is just the one update you are having trouble with, try having MS Security essentials update instead. Open it and click on the update tab and have it update there.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.