Author Topic: Missing Reparse Point  (Read 9937 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Missing Reparse Point
« on: January 31, 2016, 05:11:54 am »
Thought I'd run the Pre-Scan out of curiosity, although I don't have any apparent problems and the scan came up with this one missing -

Original Path - C:\Users\dub_cm_auto\Application Data

Target Path - C:\Users\dub_cm_auto\AppData\Roaming

Ran the Pre-Scan twice in Safe Mode with Networking and having hit the Repair Reparse Points button each time, it stills snags it as a problem.

Any ideas ?

┌───────────────────────────────┐
│[STARTED] [31/01/2016 12:57:53]│
└───────────────────────────────┘
Running Repair on C:\Users\dub_cm_auto\Application Data

   
  • Command to Run: Create Default Reparse Point (This Is A Default Windows Reparse Point, Lets Put It Back The Way It Should Be)
  • Calling Checking If Link Folder Exists
  • Link Folder Does Exist, We need to remove it as we can't make Reparse Points for exisiting folders.
  • Setting Owner On Folder (So We Have A Better Chance For Permission To Remove It).
  • Calling RemoveDirectoryW (Only Removes Empty Folders, Just In Case)
  • RemoveDirectoryW Returned An Error, Error: 0 - The directory is not empty.
  • Even Though We Got An Error, Lets Keep Going.
  • Type is JUNCTION, Calling: mklink /J "C:\Users\dub_cm_auto\Application Data" "C:\Users\dub_cm_auto\AppData\Roaming"
  • Setting Owner To System And Everyone Read Access To Denied (This Is The Default) To The Link Folder: C:\Users\dub_cm_auto\Application Data


┌────────────────────────────────┐
│[FINISHED] [31/01/2016 12:57:55]│
└────────────────────────────────┘

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2016, 05:50:33 pm »
Been having a Google about that dub_cm_auto and it would seem that it's related to a Norton update and was complained about in 2014.

I recently ran Norton Power Eraser on that machine which gave me an updated version, so assume it came from there, but it is safe to delete.

I'll have a go at that tomorrow but puzzled why it is being snagged as a missing Reparse Point.

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2016, 09:47:04 pm »
Wait is this your post or are you talking to yourself ?
Julian

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2016, 09:49:25 pm »
It's my post but I quite often do that as well :D

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2016, 10:00:22 pm »
The pre scan looks at each folder under the C:\Users and skips some of the defaults, all others are treated as accounts. I did this because I needed to be sure I had a positive way to know what user accounts are there. So when some programs, such as nvidias update or norton eraser are used, they make their own user accounts to run from, to make sure they are run as admins.

So you see those accounts in there and the per scan treats them like accounts. I had used WMI in the past to pull user accounts, but if WMI is broken then that wouldnt work, then I found the APIS to pull them but if a user was on a domain this could return more accounts then what is actually on the system.

So i took a shortcut and decided to just look at the folders instead. Looks like I may need to update how they are looked at though if there is going to be a lot of programs making sub accounts on the system.

Shane

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2016, 10:03:25 pm »
So if I delete that from \User and run the Pre-Scan again, it won't pop as missing ?

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2016, 10:12:51 pm »
It should since the pre scan only looks there.

Shane

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2016, 10:17:00 pm »
Okay - Thanks.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Reparse Point
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2016, 01:54:31 pm »
Found that I'm unable to delete it because it is being shared with something and was getting an error occurred with the error 0x80070091.

Got this error in normal, Safe Mode and with the hidden admin account activated and it didn't like me trying to change permissions on it.

Changing its name also didn't work.

I uninstalled Norton Security but even then it wouldn't delete.

Had to go to Norton Support to get it reinstalled without it trying to charge me or use another licence and I raised this with the helper and the best I got was that this had been raised by them before but as yet, no solution forthcoming.