Author Topic: WR v3.xx issues  (Read 19551 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
WR v3.xx issues
« on: August 28, 2016, 07:31:18 PM »
- The "Windows Update" repair needs an update. According to this article

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/971058

this Repair needs to stop/reset an additional Service ("Appidsvc") as well, before it can proceed with repairing Windows Update. The current repair doesn't tackle/include this Service called "Appsidsvc".

« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 07:16:35 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8803
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.99 issues
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2016, 04:48:01 AM »
I've passed this onto Shane.
Tom.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2016, 04:50:32 AM »
 :cheesy:
« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 07:17:05 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2016, 07:16:02 AM »
- MS regularly releases new Update Agents for Win 7. The latest one is KB 3138612. More info on this WU Agent is found at

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3138612.

The interesting thing of the info on that webpage/weblink is that it lists the files that the update installs/updates on the user's system. And I see - at least - one file ("Wu.upgrade.ps.dll") that doesn't get registered in the latest WR repair called "Repair Windows Update". Nirsoft's program "RegDLLView" does confirm that that file is registered on my Win 7 system after I installed KB 3138612.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2016, 08:32:49 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2016, 04:18:14 AM »
- I have a license key for WR but after entering that license key and restarting the program, WR it still says "Free Version" in the header of the GUI. Outdated license key ? Bug in WR v3.9.10 ??
« Last Edit: September 02, 2016, 09:16:20 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Still_Game

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 207
  • Location: France
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2016, 08:05:24 AM »
That happened to me with 3.9.9. I re-entered the licence details and all was well. Haven't yet installed 3.9.10 as I'm away from home.
Iain

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8803
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2016, 08:08:50 AM »
Wished I'd seen your post before I'd emailed Shane about this....
Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8803
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2016, 08:38:02 AM »
- I have a license key for WR but after entering that license key and restarting the program, WR it still says "Free Version" in the header of the GUI. Outdated license key ? Bug in WR v3.9.10 ??

Shane has said that he will email you about this and may have already done so.
Tom.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2016, 03:12:07 PM »
- Have been fiddling a bit with the WR System Tray Icon. And it seems the tray icon doesn't respond to the (Windows) Event called "Explorer.exe started". In response to that Event the WR tray should make the system tray icon show up again.

- I did 2 things. I killed "Explorer.exe" and then re-started "Explorer.exe" (2 commands in a *.bat file). And no, the WR Tray Icon didn't show up. The icon was gone. I had to kill the process and re-start the process.
- I noticed that one other program that also has an icon in the system tray, did re-appear in the system tray.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2016, 09:29:40 PM »
Topic: "Repair Icons".
- Suggestion: Add this command to this repair:

   del C:\thumbs.db  /s /f /q

(And, of course, do the same for all other logical drives)

This command deletes all the files called "thumbs.db" in each folder. In this file a thumbnail copy of a picture file (*.jpg, *.gif, *.bmp, ............... ) is stored. And as the user moves more and more files to one folder this "thumbs.db" file grows and grows. But when the user removes or deletes files then "thumbs.db" doesn't shrink at all. This is a similar situation with the thumbnail caches. These files grow & grow over time as well.

- I ran two MSDOS commands (with admin rights):

   taskkill /f /im explorer.exe
   start %SystemRoot%\explorer.exe

and the WR systemtray icon vanished into thin air. The 2 pictures in the attachment show what the system tray looked like before & after running these 2 commands. (Watch the time stamps in both pictures).
« Last Edit: October 10, 2016, 11:31:53 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2016, 09:42:05 AM »
- More bugs. WR overlooks to register 2 files in "Repair MDAC-MSjet":

%CommonProgramFiles%\System\Ole DB\msolap90.dll
%CommonProgramFiles%\System\Ole DB\msolui90.dll

These files need to be registered in "%commonprogramfiles(x86)%" as well.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2016, 08:55:05 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2016, 01:20:22 AM »
- I found 2 "*.reg" files in one of the folders that are related to "MDAC-MSjet". Would repairing/refreshing/adding those registry entries help to fix problems with "MDAC-MSjet" ?

See also inside the red rectangle in the picture in the attachment. The file path where these *.reg are located can be found inside the blue rectangle.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 05:54:53 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2016, 11:57:04 PM »
- One more suggestion for the next WR version. Add a registry tweak that will reset one's computer from PIO mode back to DMA mode. GOOGLE helped me to find this info on what registry tweak needs to be made.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_vista-hardware/stuck-in-pio-mode/1189ac64-5828-48b6-b6d4-797cd3e9561c?auth=1

About DMA mode:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct_memory_access

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2016, 10:38:09 AM »
- And yes, Win 7 has a "thumbs.db" problem as well. In Win 7, a thumbnail copy of each picture file is stored in a "Thumbnail cache" file. But there seems to be one exception to this rule. For picture files in the "Pictures" folder (C:\users\<--Username-->\Pictures") those thumbnail copy are still stored in "thumbs.db".

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2016, 09:38:33 AM »
- (Small) Bugs in the program (don't worry, it doesn't crash the program). I ticked every box in WR and ran the program. And 3 bugs showed up in the main logfile. E.g. for repair # 14 this line shows up in the main log file:

    14 - Remove Temp Files


For repair #16 this shows up in the logfile:

    Unhide Non System Files        (Without the number/text "16" in front of this text)

Similar story for repairs # 2 & 33.

See also the attached file.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2016, 09:51:02 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2016, 10:54:41 AM »
There is a bug with the program going pro when a users date and time on the system has words in it, that is fixed.

Added the service to the repair windows updates, Wu.upgrade.ps.dll is already in the repair.

Updated the repair mdac with the two new files as well :-)

Good call on adding the deleting of the thumbs.db

I actually have a bat file I use on my own system that will work with unicode paths as well, I will add this to the repair and have it set to do all fixed drives on the system.

Quote
@echo off
chcp 65001
@echo Looking for Thumbs.db files...

set "_dest=C:\"

cd /d %_dest%

for /f "delims=" %%i in ('dir /l /s /b /a:-d thumbs.db') do (
if /i "%%~nxi"=="thumbs.db" (
@echo "Removed - %%i"
ATTRIB -A -R -S -H "%%i"
del /f /q "%%i"
)
)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2016, 11:31:12 AM »
- I now have a list with registered files on a 32 bit Vista system. And came across those 2 MDAC files that weren't registered by WR.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2016, 07:49:23 PM »
- I must re-write reply #13.

- In Win XP (and Vista ??) MS used a file called "thumb.db" to store a thumbnail copy of picture files (*.jpg, *.gif, *.bmp, ......... ) in any given folder. And that file could be found in each folder if the user has stored such a picture file in that folder and had opened that folder once in Windows Explorer.

- Starting with Win 7 (or started it with Vista ??) MS used a different system to store these thumbnail copies. Then all those thumbnails were stored in one file called e.g. "thumbcache*.db". But I noticed that on my Win 7 MS seems to have forgotten to extend this system to the folder called "c:\users\<--Username-->\Pictures". There MS still uses the "thumbs.db" system.

- But I don't know if this bug is also present in Win 8 & Win 10. Boggin ???
« Last Edit: October 25, 2016, 07:56:10 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8803
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #18 on: October 26, 2016, 12:32:58 AM »
I'm not into the finer points of WR but if you have any concerns then I'll pass them onto Shane.

One of the improvements added to 3.9.14 is this repair now checks and removes all thumbs.db files as well.


Tom.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #19 on: October 26, 2016, 12:46:33 AM »
- Do you have a Win 10 system ? If so, then open "My pictures" and close it. and then search (e.g. with Voidtool's EVERYTHING) for "thumbs.db". Perhaps MS forgot to strip that code (that generates the file called "thumbs.db") from Win 10 as well.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #20 on: October 27, 2016, 10:32:34 AM »
- Suggestion: Move repair #10 up the list of repairs and make it repair #05 or repair #04. I think #10 is actually too important to have a such a low ranking.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2016, 10:44:15 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #21 on: October 27, 2016, 10:43:08 AM »
- (Small !!) Bug in repair "Repair Icons" ???  In the part where "thumbs.db" are deleted, I saw this

     ">>"

shouldn't that be

      "1>>" ??

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #22 on: October 27, 2016, 11:45:17 PM »
- Shouldn't the "Pre-Repair Commands" be run first as well when the user runs the repair called "Repair System Restore Beta" ?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2016, 07:29:10 AM by Willy2 »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2016, 12:55:14 PM »
- Topic:  "Register Adobe's Flash player".

WR is able to register Adobe's Flash Player related file/files on a Win 8 (and a Win 10 ??) system. But WR isn't able to register the player on a Win 7and a Vista OS. The reason is that on a Win 8 (& Win 10 ?) system with a new update, the name of that Flash Player file always is the same ("flash.ocx"). Whereas on a Win 7 & Vista system that name always changes with every new update. The name includes a reference to the version.

(Does Adobe still support Flash on XP systems ?)

- But in spite of that there's a way to get these Flash files (re-)registered. MSDOS has a command that will do the trick.

   FOR /R "%%systemroot%%\system32\macromed\flash\" %%G in (*.ocx) DO ("%%systemroot%%\system32\regsvr32.exe" /s "%%G")

And a similar command must be used for the "Syswow64" folder.

With this command it doesn't matter what the new name is of the Flash Player file. This command simply registers all *.ocx files in that one folder.

To be added in repair #4 !!!

- But then the program code for this repair #4 must be changed as well. Currently this repair has its own peculiar way of registering files. Then registering files in repair #4 must be changed to how e.g. repairs #7, 8, 27 executes a bunch of commands. Changing the program code for this repair also would allow WR to register system files in the %commonprogramfiles% folders.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2016, 04:52:11 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 912
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: WR v3.xx issues
« Reply #24 on: October 30, 2016, 03:18:05 PM »
(Does Adobe still support Flash on XP systems ?)

Yes, still supported, currently using 23.0.0.205 on FF and Pale Moon.