Author Topic: Solved Stuck on repair job 7  (Read 5663 times)

Offline Esawyer

• View Profile
Solved Stuck on repair job 7
« on: February 25, 2018, 09:25:59 pm »
Im new to this program but my parents gave me there old computer and I'm working on cleaning it/repairing it.  When it first checked everything it said 10,000/400,000 are messed up and need repairs.  So I expected this scan to take awhile, number 1 took almost two hours... But I've been on number 7 now for 7 hours! Is this normal?
My CPU is fluctuating between 0 and 50%, disk 0 (C:) is fluctuating between 0 and 99%, the white bars for the scan are still moving. Drive read is 0 bytes but will spyke a few KBS then go down. Drive write is around 300 KB at the moment and the CPU on the scan says 9-11%. 
Is it still running.. Should I stop the scan and skip number 7? Its repair internet explorer.

The last prompt in the grey box says parameter format not correct-the filename or extension is to long.

No not in safe mode right now
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 01:07:39 am by Esawyer »

Offline Esawyer

• View Profile
Re: Stuck on repair job 7
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 09:38:24 pm »
Update.  It just said the repair failed and it started again under system account with alot more activity in my administrator box. Fingers crossed.

Offline Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 12:49:29 am »
As it's an old computer I would have started with a chkdsk /r to check the status of the HDD and then performed a sfc /scannow to check the file system if the chkdsk /r didn't report any KBs in bad sectors - have you done these pre-steps.

However, I'm not sure where you got the report that 10,000/400,000 items are messed up.

If they relate to the Package/Cat and Mum files then perhaps you would be better off factory resetting it so you're starting from scratch.