Author Topic: I moved to a different ISP and can not get my browser (even IE) to connect  (Read 390 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FreeCat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Howdy,

I have a vanilla W7 that has worked on my LAN and INTERNET at a NY location.  I have moved to a FL location and the machine connects to my LAN (via my new NetGear INTERNET HUB) but I can not get a browser going.  Yet I have another machine that I moved that does connect to the INTERNET.

What should I look for to determine the problem?  Thanks in advance.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2205
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Hi, Freecat,
What the troubleshooter error denotes. You start from there
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7505
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
Run a cmd prompt as an admin by going Start - type cmd - right click on cmd when it comes up and select Run as administrator - accept the UAC and enter these cmds -

netsh winsock reset catalog

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /renew

ipconfig /flushdns

ipconfig /registerdns

shutdown /r /t 00

and then see what it is like after the reboot.

Offline FreeCat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Howdy Boggin,

I did what you said and rebooted.
Here is CMD window text.

Problem persists (below)

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
Reseting Global, OK!
Reseting Interface, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.


C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection 2 while it has its media
disconnected.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6871:14eb:524f:705%12
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection 2 while it has its media
disconnected.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6871:14eb:524f:705%12
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.17
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /flushdna

Error: unrecognized or incomplete command line.

USAGE:
    ipconfig [/allcompartments] [/? | /all |
                                 /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
                                 /renew6 [adapter] | /release6 [adapter] |
                                 /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
                                 /showclassid adapter |
                                 /setclassid adapter [classid] |
                                 /showclassid6 adapter |
                                 /setclassid6 adapter [classid] ]

where
    adapter             Connection name
                       (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
       /?               Display this help message
       /all             Display full configuration information.
       /release         Release the IPv4 address for the specified adapter.
       /release6        Release the IPv6 address for the specified adapter.
       /renew           Renew the IPv4 address for the specified adapter.
       /renew6          Renew the IPv6 address for the specified adapter.
       /flushdns        Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
       /registerdns     Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
       /displaydns      Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
       /showclassid     Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
       /setclassid      Modifies the dhcp class id.
       /showclassid6    Displays all the IPv6 DHCP class IDs allowed for adapter
.
       /setclassid6     Modifies the IPv6 DHCP class id.


The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

For Setclassid and Setclassid6, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is
removed.

Examples:
    > ipconfig                       ... Show information
    > ipconfig /all                  ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew                ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL*            ... renew any connection that has its
                                         name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con*        ... release all matching connections,
                                         eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
                                             "Local Area Connection 2"
    > ipconfig /allcompartments      ... Show information about all
                                         compartments
    > ipconfig /allcompartments /all ... Show detailed information about all
                                         compartments

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /registerdns

Windows IP Configuration

Registration of the DNS resource records for all adapters of this computer has b
een initiated. Any errors will be reported in the Event Viewer in 15 minutes.

C:\Windows\system32>

THEN I SHUTDOWN THE COMPUTER AND REBOOTED, but the problem perisists:


Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7505
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
Sorry - my error.

The cmds are ipconfig /flushdns and ipconfig /registerdns

You normally get that error on the /renew cmd when you aren't wired up - nothing to worry about.

Go Start - type inetcpl.cpl and press enter then change your home page to either www.google.com (USA) or www.google.co.uk (UK) - Apply - OK - then try to open IE.

EDIT - going back to what I posted - it wasn't my error but your typo but I see you corrected it for one of the cmds.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2018, 02:38:09 PM by Boggin »

Offline FreeCat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Howdy Boggin,

Well, I do not see any error as:

ipconfig /flushdns
     and
ipconfig /registerdns

were the commands you had in the script.

anyway, I performed them again and then at START I did

inetcpl.cpl    ENTER

AND THEN CHANGED PAGE TO WWW.GOOGLE.COM and APPLY and OK

I still get DNS may be unavailable message


Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7505
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
It's in your Reply #3 as ipconfig /flushdna

Do you have 5 bars on your wifi icon in the taskbar ?

Let's see if changing the DNS servers will do anything.

Go Start - type ncpa.cpl and press enter.

Right click on your wireless adapter and select Properties.

Uncheck the box for (TCP/IPv6) then click on (TCP/IPv4) then on Properties.

Check the bottom button for Use the following DNS servers and in the top row of boxes type 209.244.0.3

Tab down to the lower row and type 209.244.0.4

Check the box to validate settings upon exit - OK - Close where the trouble shooter will pop up and should say it couldn't find any problems.

These are Level3's DNS severs and are the ones I use.

Do you have the same problem when you Ethernet connect ?

You can change those DNS servers the same way for the Ethernet adapter as for the wireless adapter and uncheck the box for (TCP/IPv6) in there as well.

Offline FreeCat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi Boggin,

My fault for not make it clear that I have a wired broadband CAT 6 connection.

I thought I could find the properties of that and follow your instruction re PROPERTIES.

bUT, i COULD NOT FIND THAT.
wHAT SHOULD i DO SINCE i HAVE A WIRED CONNECTION.

iT CONNECT TO lan AND OTHER MACHINE IN THE lan FINE.

sorry caps.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2205
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Hi, Freecat, what the troubleshoot error . Please post that to enable Boggin to give fixed solution.
The exact error when you troubleshoot your connection
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7505
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
It doesn't matter if you just have an Ethernet connection, the procedure is the same.

Right click on that connection and select Properties from the dropdown and then you will see something like my first pic where you would uncheck the box for (TCP/IPv6) as that has been known to cause connectivity problems.

You would then click on (TCP/IPv4) which would activate the Properties button - second pic and the third pic shows it as set up with those DNS servers.


Offline FreeCat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
ok. Boggin.

I had trouble finding the etierhnet icon but finally fount it and did all your said adding the DNS addresses.

So, now the ethernet icon is a blue ball so that seems like progress.  Thanks.

But, now it says conneted to type 3 network which is public and must connect to type 2 loccqal or business.

How it that done?

Thanks again for your help.

Offline FreeCat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
OK, Boggin.  Never mind.  I figured it out.

Thanks to you and jraju for your help.

Happy Weekend to you today.  (Memorial day over here.)

Hey wait, you prolly have memorial day there also with Beaches of Normandy and all that.

So, Happy Memorial day!

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7505
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 108
    • View Profile
Glad you were able to get it sorted.

We commemorate the end of the war each 11th November at 11.00am as Armistice Day - nothing in between.

 

anything