Author Topic: Remote log in  (Read 13167 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Remote log in
« on: October 25, 2012, 11:33:02 AM »
Hey Shane

   I would like to be able to log into my desktop from my laptop while away on business. What is the best software for this? Also I have remote assistance unchecked in system properties and have disable the remote services. Do these need to be enabled to log in and would I have to set up my router to allow me to log in from a hotel connection?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2012, 11:35:44 AM »
Keep it simple, just like I do :-)

Use the free version of teamviewer.com

Install it on your home computer, have it start with Windows and set a password. Right down the ID it gives you (It never changes) and keep the ID in your wallet. Then when traveling load up teamviewer on your laptop , put in the ID and password and your set.

No port forwarding, no nothing needed :-)

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2012, 03:38:53 PM »
Awesome, works perfectly. Have you ever tried the video function for communication (I guess the equivalent would be skype)?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2012, 03:39:46 PM »
Never tired it. I just use it to control my office computer when I am in the house lol

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2012, 03:44:33 PM »
lol :cheesy: Okay maybe I'll buy some cheap cameras and give it a go. Thanks man.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2012, 04:15:23 PM »
No problem :wink:

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2012, 10:59:17 PM »
Hey Shane
 

    After I'm done with remote log in and I close out. How do I keep Teamviewer from showing menu box with "OK, Buy License, and Like" on remote machine and the one I'm using to remote log into? It's a little annoying. Is this something I may have to deal with since it's free (the license for this sucker is expensive  :omg: lol). Great program though.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline neroilo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2012, 01:27:55 AM »
Hey Shane
 

    After I'm done with remote log in and I close out. How do I keep Teamviewer from showing menu box with "OK, Buy License, and Like" on remote machine and the one I'm using to remote log into? It's a little annoying. Is this something I may have to deal with since it's free (the license for this sucker is expensive  :omg: lol). Great program though.


Chris

In this topic there are multiple solutions to hide Teamviewer's sponsored popup:
http://teamviewerforums.com/index.php?topic=1255.0

Three possible solutions:
1) Compile the most recent AutoIT script provided by turkeybaster42 (September 2012)
It is easy to compile an executable file when you have a source code to paste in AutoIT (free programming tool). izogfif posted a note about how it works.

A second suggestion about how it works:

Quote
AutoIt is a very small and standalone application with no reliance on massive runtimes like .NET or VB. All you need to run AutoIt scripts are the main AutoIt executable (AutoIt3.exe) and the script. Scripts can also be encoded into standalone executables with the built-in script compiler Aut2Exe.

Compiling Scripts with Aut2Exe
http://www.autoitscript.com/autoit3/docs/intro/compiler.htm
Download page:
http://www.autoitscript.com/site/autoit/downloads/

Then, you can run it when needed or put it at Windows startup.

If you had troubles with exe compilation, I'll send you my compiled executable. I think it's always important to read and try all things before to download them without a single effort.

2) Install clickoff as explained by tarpanet (he says it works on 64-bit OSes).

However, remember this official note written by the clickoff creator (make a registry backup before):
Quote
Q: Does ClickOff work with Windows Vista/Windows 7?
A: I've had reports stating both, it does or doesn't work. I don't know, the latest version of windows I use is Windows XP on a netbook. All other machines run Linux. Just try it, it won't break anything.

3) Buy a program like this. But I think it should be your last resort, especially in case you have more programs with sponsored popups.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 02:56:50 AM by neroilo »

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2012, 06:31:30 AM »
Neroilo

   Thanks for the reply. I have never compiled a script before (don't know how really, I have never taken the time to learn, I know I should. I'm not a tech but not a novice either lol).


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline neroilo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2012, 08:01:27 AM »
Neroilo

   Thanks for the reply. I have never compiled a script before (don't know how really, I have never taken the time to learn, I know I should. I'm not a tech but not a novice either lol).


Chris

I uploaded it here:
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=096aaca909b00dfbc6af2d0e563c5443

Wait 25 seconds, and a download button will appear at bottom.

To test it soon, I suggest you to run the executable when the annoying popup appears ... of course it's not my code, but at maximum it won't do nothing on your system.
If your antivirus recognizes it as a virus, add it in your exclusion list or disable it temporarily.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 08:09:16 AM by neroilo »

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2012, 08:08:59 AM »
Will this run automatically even after I reboot?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline neroilo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2012, 08:11:17 AM »
Will this run automatically even after I reboot?


Chris

No, you can do it creating a new task in Task Scheduler.
I left a Windows startup link two posts ago.

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2012, 08:12:41 AM »
Cool  :tongue: Thanks a lot

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline neroilo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2012, 08:16:40 AM »
Cool  :tongue: Thanks a lot

Chris

I don't have Teamviewer (currently) so I'd like to know if it's working, after your test.   :smiley:

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2012, 08:21:17 AM »
okay
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2012, 09:40:28 AM »
Works great even with auto start in task scheduler. Need to have it running on all machines though. If you have avast with sandbox you need to add the .exe file to exclusions in the sandbox exclusions. Barely uses any system resources.



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remote log in
« Reply #16 on: October 28, 2012, 10:44:52 AM »
I always turn off Avast auto sandbox lol

Shane