Author Topic: Windows 7 ACPY.SYS error  (Read 385 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hgeo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Windows 7 ACPY.SYS error
« on: January 04, 2019, 05:54:01 AM »
Hi!
I've been using older editions to repair windows 7 without any problem.
With the last one,Windows stops booting because of a missing \windows\system32\drivers\acpi.sys file.
Trying to repair with the original DVD gives no error,but displays "root cause found"
Trying to run sfc /scannow tells there is another repair process running and ask for a restart.
This doesn't change anything and "another repair process is running" reappears.

So,what did tweakingrepair do?
How can I recover the installed Windows?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8905
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 ACPY.SYS error
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2019, 07:03:36 AM »
You could try your restore points but if you boot into the advanced boot options by tapping F8 (usually) as you switch on and select Repair your computer, navigate to the Recovery Environment to select Command Prompt and enter -

dism.exe /image:c:\ /cleanup-image /revertpendingactions

exit

Then reboot to normal mode to see if that has resolved that.

I don't know what the repair program has done to cause this, but I'll pass it on to Shane.

I have a Win 7 laptop which I'll run 4.4.1 on to see what it does for me.

If you are unable to access your restore points normally then you can do so from the Recovery Environment.

In the advanced boot options there is also the option for Last Known Good Configuration which can sometimes work.
Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8905
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 ACPY.SYS error
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2019, 07:45:28 AM »
I've ran 4.4.1 on my Win 7 and it rebooted fine, although a couple of things were slow to open.

I'm now running a sfc /scannow on it but it looks okay.

I'll email Shane with your report and a link to your thread.
Tom.