Author Topic: WR doesn't support new method of setting default apps?  (Read 110 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jprny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
WR doesn't support new method of setting default apps?
« on: October 18, 2019, 08:58:11 AM »
Got the product to try to fix a bunch of default app association problems.  WR reset them (presumably in the registry), but then upon reboot, Windows gives "An App Default was reset" message for all of them and overrides them.
My understanding is that Windows no longer allows apps to make these changes by editing the registry.
My original problems are unresolved.
Any ideas?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8803
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: WR doesn't support new method of setting default apps?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2019, 01:51:51 PM »
It does  that with my Apps as well when I test run the program.

I always create a system image before running it though.

Do you have a restore point prior to running the program you could use ?

You can reset all apps to default from within Windows.

Go Start - Settings cog - Apps - Default apps then scroll down to the bottom of the page and use the Reset button, but create a restore point first should that not do what you want.

This will reset all file type and protocol associations to the Microsoft recommended defaults.
Tom.

Offline jprny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WR doesn't support new method of setting default apps?
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2019, 02:28:16 PM »
Thanks.  Unfortunately, my app associations have been broken since the Anniversary update so restoring to before the issue happened isn't an option.
WR didn't cause any problem, it just didn't fix anything.  I guess none of the default program fixes work on newer builds of W10.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8803
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: WR doesn't support new method of setting default apps?
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2019, 02:36:27 PM »
Not sure if this will fix anything but you can give it a try.

Open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter these cmds - each will take a little while to run.

dism /online /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup

That one will get rid of any obsolete updates.

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

sfc /scannow

Note the space before each /

Let me know  if the sfc /scannow reports it is unable to fix some files.

If that comes back clean then try resetting the Apps again.
Tom.