Author Topic: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool  (Read 1118 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #50 on: November 17, 2019, 03:43:06 PM »
 :cheesy:
Tom 18/11/2019,

I am finally back and will attempt to install window repair on th Win7 desktop,
then jump into safe mode with f8 key when booting and try the repairs?

Ray
PS yesterday 19/11 I installed the W.R 4.6 on the desktop Win7, then I rebooted to safe mode via f8 key, and while in safe
mode done the check of the system and could not find a repair for No23 safe mode repair, so I then rebooted
to test out when in normal mode thru W.R 4.6 reboot to safe mode but did not do it, dont know why, but
still presume I go thru the O/S grub 1.99 to boot up?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2019, 04:20:23 PM by rayburke30 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #51 on: November 20, 2019, 12:33:37 AM »
Yes, it's looking like you still have to go through Grub and I'm still waiting for a reply from Shane on that.

I'm not sure what you mean when you say you couldn't find Repair 23 for Safe Mode.

BTW - The latest version is now 4.7.0
.
It was only by chance that I saw your edit to this post as I didn't get a notification.

When you need to add something to an older post, it would be best to make a new post.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 12:35:53 AM by Boggin »
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #52 on: November 20, 2019, 12:09:38 PM »
 :smiley:
Tom 21/11/2019,

I got details of Windows repair from APC mag July 2019 on page 79 (how to -experts solve your computing problems),
and it states within window repairs under repairs(All repairs (46) item 11-repair start menu icons removed by infections),
sorry I thought it was item 23 repair safe mode?

Ray
PS yes will start a new post?
PPS is the newer version 4.7 better and if so when can I get it and where

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #53 on: November 20, 2019, 01:22:25 PM »
Click on the Direct Download button and then on Run to get 4.7.0

https://www.tweaking.com/content/page/windows_repair_all_in_one.html

The repairs are the same but the program needed updating to stay current with the new Permissions that MS updates with any new Windows Update.
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #54 on: November 20, 2019, 01:52:18 PM »
 :cheesy:
Tom 21/11/2019,

Thanks for that, when I go to the library I will download version  4.7 and install, then let you know how it goes OK?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #55 on: November 20, 2019, 01:56:26 PM »
Okay.
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #56 on: November 22, 2019, 11:54:18 AM »
 :wink:
Tom 23/11/2019,

"sorry I thought it was item 23 repair safe mode?"

I installed 4.7 on my desktop Win7 Ult, and tried to jump to safe mode but to no avail,
so I hit the fg8 key and went into safe mode. I then done the repairs and noticed in under all repairs tab
is showed item 23 "repair safe mode", should I do this?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #57 on: November 22, 2019, 01:39:05 PM »
It sounds as if you have already done it if you have already run the repairs.

Did it change anything regarding the program booting into Safe Mode ?
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #58 on: November 22, 2019, 02:31:28 PM »
 :wink:
Tom 23/11/2019,

No I have not selected item 23 to repair, thats why I am asking you, should I try it?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #59 on: November 22, 2019, 02:35:19 PM »
Yes, but I always create a system image before test running any new version - I don't really trust restore points.

BTW - In the UK it's still Friday 22/11/2019 (10:30pm ish)
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #60 on: November 23, 2019, 04:29:17 PM »
 :tongue:
Tom 24/11/2019,

I went into safe mode with f8 key in Win7 Ult, and tried to do the repair 23, then rebooted and tried to do the jump to safe mode tab with-
in windows repair 4.7 to no avail, so does look for sure it is the cause of the grub 1.99 that I have to go thru to boot up?
Also I done the fix of repairs Friday and now in Win7 Ult all my description of tabs and windows and within any raised windows
is small in font size, so how do I fix this?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #61 on: November 24, 2019, 01:02:29 AM »
I don't think it could have made things smaller than default so perhaps yours wasn't originally set at Default.

I don't have access to my Win 7 laptop at this time, so use these articles to check/change the settings -

https://mcmw.abilitynet.org.uk/windows-7-and-8-making-text-larger

https://mcmw.abilitynet.org.uk/windows-7-changing-fonts

You may also be able to revert any settings by opening the repair program and under Backup Tools click on Restore in the Registry Backup box.

Click on Restore Registry then use the dropdown to select the back up and hit Restore Now.

This is one of the reasons why I create a system image before running the program.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2019, 01:06:21 AM by Boggin »
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #62 on: November 24, 2019, 06:12:42 PM »
 :undecided:
Tom 25/11/2019,

You mean by system image as a backup of registry or clone of the whole HDD I have Win7 Ult on?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #63 on: November 25, 2019, 12:46:07 AM »
I suppose it's sort of a clone of the system while there is a difference between imaging and cloning -

https://blog.storagecraft.com/disk-imaging-vs-disk-cloning/

Win 7 has its own Create a system image which you can find through Control Panel/Back up your computer under System and Security.

I use Macrium Reflect Free to create images of my Win 10 laptops and Windows own Create a system image of my Win 7 laptop.

The disadvantage of using Windows system image though is that it overwrites the previous image.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2019, 05:02:55 AM by Boggin »
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #64 on: November 25, 2019, 11:45:39 AM »
 :wink:
Tom 26/11/2019,

I would always like to keep a image of my HDD offline, not associated with the main HDD, that's why I use hdclone as
a image I presume takes up space on the main HDD?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #65 on: November 25, 2019, 02:20:20 PM »
System images are saved onto external media, usually on an external HDD.

In my earlier days I used DVDs for my Win 7 machine.

However, to restore from external media, you need to boot up with either an install disk/USB or a System repair disk when using Windows own Create a system image, but for Macrium Reflect you need to create either a Macrium WPE disk or USB to boot up with.

When using Windows Create a system image and you boot up with the relevant media, you would navigate to the Windows Recovery Environment to select restoring from a system image.

All images are kept on external media and not on the machine the images are taken from.

Did you read that article I'd linked ?
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #66 on: November 25, 2019, 07:48:43 PM »
 :tongue:
Tom 26/11/2019,

I thought they were saved on to the main HDD, but looks like I am wrong, but my cloning does a complete copying of the main HDD, so
if any errors I just boot from the Bkup drive I created, and no I did not get a chance to read the link?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #67 on: November 26, 2019, 01:12:26 AM »
A system image is probably more practical for a laptop as it may not be as straight forward on some models to swap out the HDD, but a system image can work equally as well on a desktop machine.
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #68 on: November 26, 2019, 11:28:23 PM »
 :thinking:
Tom 27/11/2019,

I have been using HdClone for many years now and so use to it, as I use it on
both desktop and laptop, so will continue to do so?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #69 on: November 27, 2019, 01:34:47 AM »
Have you tried the program's registry restore yet to see  if it does anything with the font size ?
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #70 on: November 27, 2019, 05:40:55 PM »
 :tongue:
Tom 28/11/2019,

No I haven't tried reg restore, as just afraid of fouling the system?

Ray

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 8800
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #71 on: November 28, 2019, 12:53:07 AM »
There haven't been any reports of it making things worse - the last time I suggested it to someone, it had a good outcome.

You could always create a Manual restore point before trying the program's registry restore as a belt and braces.
Tom.

Offline rayburke30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Safe mode to run the Windows repair tool
« Reply #72 on: November 28, 2019, 01:12:36 PM »
 :smiley:
Tom 29/11/2019,

OK will do a create manual restore point  and try the programs registry restore and see what happens?

Thanks Ray