Author Topic: Unable to open archive file  (Read 1343 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fgalan27

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Unable to open archive file
« on: February 24, 2020, 11:32:20 AM »
When trying to launch the latest version of Tweaking.com windows repair aio setup, a dialog box appears with Launch Error as the title and Unable to open archive file as the message. See attached image.  When I try to open Tweaking.com Windows Repair 2019 (v4.7.0) I receive the following:
MD4 Hash Doesn't Match: Files\registry_backup_tool\TweakingRegistryBackup.exe
    (Expected MD4:  21BECC2D1E84D496485DAC6A5A05F18E)
    (Returned MD4:  2D40E8775FECD51F49D8A52E4B1CBD18)

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9968
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to open archive file
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2020, 12:32:43 PM »
Try it with the latest version of the repair program which is 4.7.1 at www.tweaking.com

If you are using Win 10 with an older version of the repair program, problems have been known to arise because with each Windows Update, Microsoft change the Permissions so the older version of the repair program is not future compliant with the latest version of Win 10.
Tom.

Offline fgalan27

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to open archive file
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2020, 02:35:18 AM »
I've downloaded the latest version from three different servers and keep getting unable to open archive file error. See attached.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9968
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to open archive file
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2020, 04:41:25 AM »
Can you boot up into Safe Mode with Networking, uninstall the repair program - reinstall and then see if it will open in Safe Mode with Networking.

If the new install works in that mode, reboot to see if it still works in normal mode.

If it doesn't, you will need to perform a clean boot to see which of your start up items is causing the problem.
Tom.